Indigo Prophecy Xbox

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2011
    9
    Ludicrous story aside, Indigo Prophecy is a stunning adventure game. Filled with great characters and memorable scenes, French developer Quantic Dream put itself on my list of developers to watch with this one.
  2. JoshB.
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Intensely engrossing game that will keep you on the edge of your seat like a great movie. This is a definite step in the right direction for action gaming. I hope it creates a whole new sub-genre of interactive movies. In the near future, I'm sure our choices will have even more of an impact than they do on this wonderful game.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    Fantastic game. It's a lot of fun to replay scenes and handle things a little differently. Note: The US version, 'Indigo Prophecy' is censored. The Euro/UK/Australia version, 'Fahrenheit' has not been modified.
  4. Randy
    Jul 4, 2006
    9
    IndigoProphecy is one of the most cinematic experiences ever put forth into a videogame. It's a very engrossing game that puts you into the shoes of both the killer AND the detectives hunting you down. If this game isn't a unique play, I don't know what is.
  5. NickW.
    Oct 11, 2005
    5
    I don't know what all the fuss is about with this game, it has a poor story, and the controls are silly! Repeatively hitting the L and R triggers to do 10 lots of push ups five times in a row is not my idea of fun, but I perserved thinking the story may redeem the control issue, but alas it didn't. Also sometimes the camera changes when you are walking making you walk back in I don't know what all the fuss is about with this game, it has a poor story, and the controls are silly! Repeatively hitting the L and R triggers to do 10 lots of push ups five times in a row is not my idea of fun, but I perserved thinking the story may redeem the control issue, but alas it didn't. Also sometimes the camera changes when you are walking making you walk back in the direction you came from! Overall a big disappointment. Expand
  6. RedRose
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    Absolutely phenominal Arguably the best (and most intelligent) game on the Xbox.
  7. Matthew
    Sep 24, 2005
    5
    Ok it started off being original and cool, I really loved the murder mystery, but I just played through it and it gets worse and worse and worse. It turns into your basic Matrix/DarkCity/DragonBallZ rip off full of a lot of lame cliched stuff and totally departing from what it started as. I can except a little fantasy at the start but where this goes is just in the wrong direction. It was Ok it started off being original and cool, I really loved the murder mystery, but I just played through it and it gets worse and worse and worse. It turns into your basic Matrix/DarkCity/DragonBallZ rip off full of a lot of lame cliched stuff and totally departing from what it started as. I can except a little fantasy at the start but where this goes is just in the wrong direction. It was pretty fun, but those who rate the game in the 80's obviously didn't play it to start to finish. Expand
  8. Shay-Z
    Sep 28, 2005
    9
    The beginning of interactive movie-making .... consequential direction at it's best .... i believe david Cage has taken a bold step towards a unique genre of gaming. However, missing out on the animation while concentrating on the button sequence was a turn off .... hoping that after i finish i'll get to see the entire movie in the sequence i played it in .... but to no avail.The beginning of interactive movie-making .... consequential direction at it's best .... i believe david Cage has taken a bold step towards a unique genre of gaming. However, missing out on the animation while concentrating on the button sequence was a turn off .... hoping that after i finish i'll get to see the entire movie in the sequence i played it in .... but to no avail. Maybe Cage will address the issue in his next installment of the game. I stand by my rating of the game strictly due to the fact that this is a risky genre to play with .... hats off to Cage to experiment. (Shenmue was too oriental for my taste) Expand
  9. JobA.
    May 4, 2007
    9
    From how the game begins to the end,this game is really something else.I haven't played anything on the x box like this game.More games really should play like this.It draws you in and you dont ever want it to end.I give it a 9.5
  10. JohnL.
    Nov 1, 2005
    2
    When I heard about this game it reminded me of the choose your own adventure books I used to read when I was younger ... imagine.. a game where there are consequences for your every action. The idea was fascinating to say the least , the game was hardly that!!! The graphics were sub par and I kept waiting for them to get better but it stayed the same throughout, I liked the gameplay butWhen I heard about this game it reminded me of the choose your own adventure books I used to read when I was younger ... imagine.. a game where there are consequences for your every action. The idea was fascinating to say the least , the game was hardly that!!! The graphics were sub par and I kept waiting for them to get better but it stayed the same throughout, I liked the gameplay but after a while the tasks get so boring you stop caring about the storyline...The controls were ok but the camera is where it gets frustrating and everytime you have to think twice about the mechanics of a game you get farther and farther removed from immersing yourself into it...I can see why a lot of people might like it but it just wasnt my cup of tea....Rent it then decide for yourself. Collapse
  11. Bagman
    Oct 21, 2005
    7
    Rather innovative game, gets a little repetitive towards the end and the story really falls apart in the final third. All in all not a bad way to blow 7 hours on a game. Some replay value. Need to ratchet up the graphics though for the next installment.
  12. StephanP.
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    Like the other recent action title, Still Life, Indigo Prophecy's ending is a bit muddled. Some new elements are added that seem out of nowhere. However, the rest of the 90% of the game is brilliant. It is atmospheric and stylish. Great use of music, amazing directions. It draws you in and keeps you on the edge of your seat. There is a real sense of tension in this game whether it Like the other recent action title, Still Life, Indigo Prophecy's ending is a bit muddled. Some new elements are added that seem out of nowhere. However, the rest of the 90% of the game is brilliant. It is atmospheric and stylish. Great use of music, amazing directions. It draws you in and keeps you on the edge of your seat. There is a real sense of tension in this game whether it comes from knowing you only have a few seconds to decide with question to ask someone, or the control system that can leave your fingers and your nerves dead tired from all the exertion (in a good way). This game is superior to Still life is voice acting and graphics. It could use some improvments (the end plot and a simon says system that makes you miss some of the cool cut scenes)--but for people who want an immersive, cinematic, tense game experience--something really different...I highly recommend it. Expand
  13. SamS.
    Oct 5, 2005
    7
    Probably one of the most innovative games ever to hit the Xbox. It starts with an interesting murder, then a scary moment, a perfect score and good gameplay. I was actually quite happy with the game until the really wierd fight scene that was almost laughable. It was a great game right until the ending.
  14. Balor
    Sep 17, 2005
    8
    A great Adventure game, and a great new way to play Adventure games. It will keep you gripped with suspense and test your emotional responses in impulsive decision making. An interesting narrative carries the game along well until about 2/3rds into the game where it deteriorates to a very loose and messy conclusion. On the whole though, the expereince is still a satisfying one, and the A great Adventure game, and a great new way to play Adventure games. It will keep you gripped with suspense and test your emotional responses in impulsive decision making. An interesting narrative carries the game along well until about 2/3rds into the game where it deteriorates to a very loose and messy conclusion. On the whole though, the expereince is still a satisfying one, and the urge to play the game again to discover the 'what if's'? will mean that you'll get plenty of hours of enjoyment out of it. Expand
  15. JonK.
    Sep 24, 2005
    7
    This game starts off brilliantly - I mean, *brilliantly*. You have committed a murder and you have to decide what to do. You start out in control... but you soon lose that. It starts to over-rely on the two minigames it employs; button-hammering for "effort" activities and Dance mat style precision for "skill" activities. Fail in those games, and you have to try again; succeed, and all This game starts off brilliantly - I mean, *brilliantly*. You have committed a murder and you have to decide what to do. You start out in control... but you soon lose that. It starts to over-rely on the two minigames it employs; button-hammering for "effort" activities and Dance mat style precision for "skill" activities. Fail in those games, and you have to try again; succeed, and all you really get is an extended cutscene. This game starts out as an exciting new experience, and ends up as an enjoyable movie. My disappointment was such that I am tempted to rate it lower, but in truth it doesn't deserve that. The real breath of fresh air in this game is that it doesn't give you time to explore all opportunities: it is an adventure game with a sense of pace, where you never feel you have tried everything because there are questions you could have asked but didn't. Expand
  16. Rick
    Feb 28, 2006
    6
    Yeah yeah...the whole game is well done, as in it does what it sets out to do. Atmospheric and at first interesting but gets very boring very quickly. I am maybe half way through and doubt I will re-hire this to finish it. Its not worthy of purchase. Its just so slow, then heats up with some action but the action doesnt really feel like action. The action sequences that it does have Yeah yeah...the whole game is well done, as in it does what it sets out to do. Atmospheric and at first interesting but gets very boring very quickly. I am maybe half way through and doubt I will re-hire this to finish it. Its not worthy of purchase. Its just so slow, then heats up with some action but the action doesnt really feel like action. The action sequences that it does have consist of move this direction, push that button which it flashes on screen just prior to you commencing the action. If you like this sort of thing just save GTA San Andreas before you dance on the beach mission or get into your low top and car bounce and then replay them missions over and over and over and...you get the message. Hire it, dont buy it. Expand
  17. IamNlCK
    Jun 25, 2006
    9
    Intriguing game with gripping story. Unlike a lot of adventure games that steer you throughout the entire experience, you get to make a lot of key decision that lead the story down various paths. Very interesting split screen camera sequences. I only wish I could play for longer. There is replayability in it though, if you start again and make different choices. I wish videogame companies Intriguing game with gripping story. Unlike a lot of adventure games that steer you throughout the entire experience, you get to make a lot of key decision that lead the story down various paths. Very interesting split screen camera sequences. I only wish I could play for longer. There is replayability in it though, if you start again and make different choices. I wish videogame companies took more chances and made more games like this. Expand
  18. KelR.
    Oct 25, 2005
    5
    At first I thought this game was the cats meow, the story line (in the beginning) was incredible and inovative. It was all about suspense and intrigue. However, the last quater of the game I found to be rediculous. I won't spoil it for you, it'll spoil itself.
  19. BlueFalcon
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    This is one of the most engrossing and original games I've ever played. It feels like a big budget movie where you control most everything that happens. The controls can be awkward at times, but that's my only real complaint. This is the most exciting game for me, in recent memory.
  20. M3Rocket
    Sep 19, 2005
    9
    As close to the feel of an interactive movie as you'll get today. Forget the messy ending and the short length for a moment, and what you have is a unique and sublime execution of a sci-fi thriller in an adventure game. The action sequences are very Matrix-like. The bonus movies are cool since you'll miss much of the details in these sequences because you're too busy trying As close to the feel of an interactive movie as you'll get today. Forget the messy ending and the short length for a moment, and what you have is a unique and sublime execution of a sci-fi thriller in an adventure game. The action sequences are very Matrix-like. The bonus movies are cool since you'll miss much of the details in these sequences because you're too busy trying to get past them. The voice acting is very, very good, while the music is excellent. There is a sense of "cutting edge" that I haven't felt playing an adventure game since, well, King's Quest on the IBM PCjr! This is a must rent at the least even if adventure games are not your cup of tea. Expand
  21. MrGameplayer
    Sep 25, 2005
    6
    looks beautiful, but i just couldnt get into the game due to it not making sense. Your this guy, then suddenly you get this vision and kill a person for no good reason, then you have to run away and hide and cover it up. It felt sick and twisted.

Awards & Rankings

#27 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Probably the most enjoyable, forward-looking and thoughtful piece of videogaming we've played in this or in any year. We never thought we'd say this, but it's a real step forward for the adventure game genre.
  2. AceGamez
    90
    One of the most fresh, exiting and original games to come out for a long time; it's well presented, sounds great and offers something completely new. There are even a few sex scenes!
  3. As adventure games are becoming a rarity these days, out comes Quantic Dream's effort that totally hooks you in with its spellbinding story.