Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. The game’s simple batting and fielding controls make it easy on novices, while the in-depth pitching options give purists something to chew on as they cycle through a loaded arsenal of head-spinning tosses.
  2. The physical dynamics are very good, the ballparks look terrific, the play-by-play is superb and the game plays very well.
  3. I must admit that if I were rating this game based on its online play and fun factor alone it would receive a higher score. The lack of any sort of franchise mode, choppy animations and some minor control issues bring it down.
  4. 80
    The beautifully lit ballparks look great, and the solid audio nicely re-creates the ballpark feel.
  5. Instant replays - There aren't any! There's absolutely no excuse for that... especially on the Xbox. [June 2003, p.82]
  6. As impressive as the stadiums and surrounding aura visuals are, the player and on-field graphical presentation is a huge disappointment.
  7. I liken Inside Pitch 2003 to a prospect whose been rushed to the big leagues. Sure, the potential for a star player is there, but the kid still needs to work on a few fundamentals before he can really make an impact on the rest of the league.
  8. 62
    The Live play is fun, but when the core of the game is lacking in so many areas, it turns into a battle to see who becomes more frustrated with the poor control and spaced-out ball physics first.
  9. There is nothing this game does better than any of the other games. I say pass and wait until next year.
  10. Too simple and shallow for baseball fans, too many gameplay issues for arcade sports fans - Inside Pitch 2003 is destined to be a benchwarmer.
  11. Reliving Barry Bonds' 600th career home run is just too cool for words. [June 2003, p.70]
  12. The game's options are what keep this game from a B rating. Yes, there is online play and it's fun as hell, but what about building your franchise for solo game play? Oops, looks like Microsoft forgot that part.
  13. The requisite Franchise mode and instant replays are foolishly MIA - what gives? The graphics also fail to impress, and trying to control more than one runner at a time gave me headaches. [June 2003, p.131]
  14. I can honestly say that the CPU AI knows nothing about the sport. [June 2003, p.113]
  15. I was frustrated that the designers chose to use the black button for power swings while the B and X buttons are left totally open and useless. Last time I checked the black button was far from convenient, even on the new S-Controller.
  16. Only casual players with an undeniable urge to play online should be interested in the game as it is now.
  17. The pitcher/batter interface is shallower than Bank One Ballpark's swimming pool... Overall, Inside Pitch lacks just about any sense of baseball spirit. [June 2003, p.68]
  18. 50
    Yes, it features downloadable content, custom soundtracks, and online head-to-head play, but what good are these things if the game itself isn't good?
  19. The gameplay, graphics and audio all cast the stench of unfinished, rushed junk. It is sad that this was the only Xbox baseball game to get online play as I would really love to play quality baseball online.
  20. This is basic no-frills baseball. The presentation is filled with mediocrity and the lack of a franchise mode and decent AI just kills the game's entertainment value. It's the NFL Fever of baseball titles - a shallow baseball game.
  21. Clearly the weakest baseball offering of the year. However, it's the only one that's online, and playing online can be fun.
  22. With no franchise mode, the game lacks. Yes, you can create your own team but what is the point for one season.
  23. In all sports games, but especially baseball, long-term engagement involves such fundamentals as tracking statistics, drafting players, and building successful teams. ISP2k3 fails to provide this.
  24. IP 2003 is not the worst Xbox game ever developed, but it is certainly the worst Xbox baseball game. [June-July 2003, p.93]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. MattZ.
    May 28, 2003
    9
    2nd best baseball game next to world series. best baseball game when playing head to head against another person. the online play is the 2nd best baseball game next to world series. best baseball game when playing head to head against another person. the online play is the greatest ever made. the ballparks are excellent and the pitcher batter interphase is the best i've seen when playing head to head. game is hard to play at first but once it is learned it is nothing but pure fun for online gamers. Full Review »
  2. Dave
    May 22, 2003
    9
    This is one of my favorite games. I consider it to be the best baseball game for the XBOX. The stadiums and player animations are top notch. This is one of my favorite games. I consider it to be the best baseball game for the XBOX. The stadiums and player animations are top notch. In addition, the pitcher/batter interface is extremely addictive. Unfortunately, it seems to be missing replays and players in the dugout. Though this doesn't take away from the gaming experience. The game is a true simulation with a bit of flare. I highly recommend purchasing Inside Pitch 2003. Full Review »
  3. MarioJ.
    May 21, 2003
    7
    This is a different game than those out today but it is still a nice change up. I like the graphics and interface. And I like the good mix of This is a different game than those out today but it is still a nice change up. I like the graphics and interface. And I like the good mix of strikeouts to hit %. Bottom line ,it's not the best but it still holds it own in some key areas of the game. Full Review »