Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    To my shock, Nightfire is every bit as good as "Goldeneye." [Dec 2002, p.56]
  2. While not the best first person shooter on the Xbox, Nightfire does an admirable job of capturing the essence of a Bond film and should please the majority of 007 fans.
  3. It's not the nice visuals that make NightFire worth playing - the amazing gameplay is the main draw. [Jan 2003, p.196]
  4. With a truly Bond like storyline and atmosphere, excellent graphics, solid sound, and fun multiplayer, EA has a winner on their hands.
  5. Incredibly short. [Jan 2003, p.63]
  6. 82
    My only real complaint is with the vehicle missions, which seems to serve as nothing more than an interruption from what Eurocom has done so well -- creating a solid FPS.
  7. The graphics are damn fine, with richly detailed environments, a speedy framerate, and accurately modeled polygonal ladies providing splendid eye candy. [Winter 2002, p.89]
  8. Does an admirable job of re-creating the feel of the films. [Feb 2003, p.95]
  9. Without the 'Bond atmosphere', it'd feel somewhat empty.
  10. Probably the best Bond game since, but not better than, "Goldeneye 007."
  11. It's not GoldenEye, let's get that clear; but there is plenty in the game for it to stand up and be counted as a genuinely class title.
  12. The best way to sum up the graphics of James Bond 007: Nightfire is to say that this is a game that is developed cross-platform, but looks as though it could be an Xbox exclusive.
  13. 80
    A good solid Bond game -- but there should have been more of it.
  14. 80
    The A.I. is much brighter, and the difficulty levels are scaled more smoothly. The controls could use a crisper auto-aim and more efficient item management, but otherwise handle great.
  15. Stealing the best gadgets and characters from the movies, NightFire lets you decide how to topple the requisite megalomanical villain: Use stealth and gizmos (like Eurobabe-revealing x-ray specs-thanks, Q!) or go in guns blazing.
  16. 80
    It's true that it won't make you forget "GoldenEye 007", but it's the closest a Bond game has come to that level of quality in years.
  17. The game has a razor-sharp edge that creates space and mood with the slickness of the big-budget films from which its ideas were borrowed. [Jan 2003, p.72]
  18. From the opening theme song to the realistic gun pops, you will not be disappointed with the sound.
  19. While NightFire is hurt by its relatively short length, the game's single-player mode is well constructed, and its multiplayer mode is good too.
  20. Not a bad game, but it's nothing more than what you're expecting. [Jan 2003, p.108]
  21. 78
    Much like the many potshots you'll take throughout play, it's a very hit or miss endeavor.
  22. A little more challenge, depth, and length with the trimming of the lame on-rails levels would have made this one a near classic. As it is, though, it's an above-average shooter with just enough variety and charm to make the familiar trip worth your time.
  23. 70
    If you are fan of the James Bond games, then check it out. If you are looking for the next Halo you will not find it here.
  24. Just don't be surprised when you find the game length to be dangerously close to the running time of an average Bond flick.
  25. The arcade-style atmosphere goes a long way in creating an immediately playable game, but in light of titles like "Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell," there's a strong desire for more involved missions (NightFire's attempt at stealth is almost silly in comparison).
  26. The weak link of the game is the single player mode.
  27. For those unexcited by the prospect of actually being Bond, some problems, the most predominant of which is the games failure to engage or innovate on any other level than being an above average jaunt through an enormously exciting fictional world, may be too much.
  28. The short life span of the single-player campaign and the lack of any outstanding features make this offering falter when compared to other first-person shooters like "Halo" and "Timesplitters 2."
  29. Blatant lack of innovation and anything particularly new.
  30. It's bad enough that you have to sit there and watch as Bond does his thing, but what's really frustrating is that these [cinematic] sequences (parachuting off a skyscraper, somersaulting to avoid gunfire) illustrate precisely the kind of actions that you should be able to control. [22 Nov 2002, p.84]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    What a great game. The multiplayer to this day is tough to beat. Shooter games are one genre that I find grows less fun as it gets moreWhat a great game. The multiplayer to this day is tough to beat. Shooter games are one genre that I find grows less fun as it gets more realistic, and this one has just the right blend of realism and, in certain spots, a fun lack thereof. Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    This game was amazing! I loved it and I still think it's amazing, I remember sitting down and playing this game with friends and I wouldThis game was amazing! I loved it and I still think it's amazing, I remember sitting down and playing this game with friends and I would always choose odd job because of his hat! This game was awesome! Full Review »
  3. Uter
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    Better than Goldeneye? In my opinion, it's a lot better. I know that might sound extreme, but the gameplay is about on par, while the Better than Goldeneye? In my opinion, it's a lot better. I know that might sound extreme, but the gameplay is about on par, while the graphics are among the xboxes best. Graphics make the bond experience so much better. It's got great weapons, beautiful women, believable environments, useful gadgets, and all kinds of crazy bond scenarios. To top it all off there's 4 player split screen that runs super smooth and is exceptionally fun. Better than Goldeneye? Very much so. Full Review »