JSRF: Jet Set Radio Future Xbox

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 25, 2002
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
Buy On
  1. 100
    A breathtaking experience. From the inimitable graphics to the hypnotically addictive gameplay, it’s captivating on every level.
  2. Play Magazine
    100
    Smilebit's marriage of art, music, and gameplay is so profound, I may never stop playing it. [Mar 2002, p.24]
  3. A visually and aurally overpowering game with playability to back it up.
  4. JSRF isn't going to wow you with its realistic factor, but it will blow you away by showing off a colorful and very beautiful cell shaded world.
  5. JSRF is hipper and cooler than any game on the market. Other games are jealous, and rightfully so.
  6. Official Xbox Magazine
    92
    Where else can you grind up a neon-lit, dragon-shaped skyscraper while launching a graffiti assault on a bunch of red-headed punkettes in tube tops? Absolutely nowhere. [Apr 2002, p.66]
  7. It presents one of the most unique and fresh experiences I have ever had the pleasure to take part of. Words just escape me when trying to talk about this game, well besides the general feeling of 'awesome-tacular.'
  8. With anime quality graphics, music worthy for your CD player, and addicting "fight the man" gameplay, JSRF is an obvious winner.
  9. Graphically, Jet Set Radio Future is one of the most gorgeous games to grace a console.
  10. The design and layout are well conceived and pulled off convincingly with the highly stylized cel-shaded world. The levels are large, well-populated and fully active.
  11. Incredibly fast, but the Xbox shows no signs of slowdown during gameplay. And really, it's saying a lot, but Jet Set Radio Future is probably the best looking Xbox game on the market right now.
  12. 91
    One of the coolest titles around. It's unique...just not enough of a challenge.
  13. Excellent controls, easy on the eye graphics, killer soundtrack and a challenging adventure mark this as this year's best Xbox game (so far).
  14. netjak
    91
    The combination of great control, unique gameplay, killer graphics and a soundtrack to die for.
  15. From the clean lines of the characters to the neo-corporation look of the cities to the lightning-fast action and rail, wall, and banister grinding, Jet Set Radio is something you'll want in your future.
  16. 90
    As stunning an Xbox conversion as it was a Dreamcast original.
  17. A refreshing experience that reminds us what gaming is all about. Right from the start, the levels just beg to be explored and the vibrant graphics and quirky sense of humour make you smile.
  18. While the environments in "Jet Grind Radio" were dazzling, especially since it was one of the very first games to make use of the animation-style cel-shading technique, the levels in JSRF are nothing short of mind-boggling.
  19. After watching the characters dance and listening to the game's great music, I now find myself dancing around my house like an idiot.
  20. Jet Set Radio Future will be a game that future developers use as the epitome of a product that includes top notch planning and imagination all in one package.
  21. 90
    Drips with style in every possible way. It's a brilliant game, but at times it's more challenging than it is fun.
  22. Despite a few rough edges, Jet Set Radio Future manages to shine because of its addictive, original gameplay and its stunning graphics.
  23. JSFR looks better than any game around but, being a bit too easy and slow, it doesn't involve or engage you as it should. [GamesMaster Magazine]
  24. Stylish, original, and fun are a few adjectives I would use to describe it, but unfortunately it would seem that this franchise was destined to miss out on the commercial success that it so richly deserves.
  25. A solid, entertaining game that delivers a high sense of speed and adrenaline.
  26. It's not as groundbreaking as the original, but it's just about as fun.
  27. A game caught in confusion, in one aspect Smilebit have tried to speed up the gameplay and streamline it, yet in removing the time limit and cops that said immediacy is completely lost, what’s the point in whizzing around all of the levels if you have all the time in the world.
  28. While this Xbox sequel is even quirkier, it’s just as insanely addictive...[and] plays like one big ghetto-fabulous party. Word.
  29. 80
    The simplification of the gameplay also tends to make the game feel a bit repetitive, and it can be frustrating to repeatedly try to make the same jump to that last graffiti spot only to fall and be forced to climb all the way back up and try again...[yet] one of the best games on the Xbox.
  30. 80
    I personally believe all of these problems stem from the fact that there is no "save anywhere", because the single player campaign is more or less easy.
  31. A game offering finely tuned level design, crystal-clear graphics, and a wave of free-roaming fun.
  32. Xbox Nation Magazine
    80
    Battles with five-o, which take place inside a small, (electrically) fenced-in environment – are painfully clumsy, and underscore the game's unwieldy camera. [Spring 2002, p.80]
  33. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    77
    A beautiful game...The problem, though, is that Smilebit is guilty of design overkill, and it negatively affects the overall experience. [Apr 2002, p.142]
  34. Game Informer
    70
    A decent game, but its lack of depth makes it the poster child for an average game...On a side note, the music is some of the best I have heard in a game in a long time. [Mar 2002, p.83]
  35. It's the game's lack of originality that proves the real disappointment.
  36. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    A great looking game that isn't very deep. [19 Apr 2002, p.75]

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2002
#28 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2002
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 11 out of 49
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    It's quite telling when reviews are spread out so much- either extremely positive or extremely negative. Something to note though, is that theIt's quite telling when reviews are spread out so much- either extremely positive or extremely negative. Something to note though, is that the people who voted it low mostly didn't give the game more than a few minutes. Out of the critics, eg people who actually have (or at least, are expected to), there's not a single negative review.
    This game is one of the most outstanding and unique achievements of all time. It wont be for everybody, and is flawed in some aspects. Fortunately the outstanding parts overshadow the shortcomings parts in a big way- and for a game that took outrageous risks (the soundtrack brings together some of the weirdest and unappealing tracks ever and makes them into something absolutely incredible) pretty much all of it pays off.
    Sure, the level design can be detrimental to the fun factor, by trying to inject difficulty, and it gets a little lengthy if you don't take a decent break between sessions. But playing this through for the second time (third if you count the DC version) now, and it still holds up fantastically. Graphics, characters, style, gameplay... 10 years after release, and it still feels fresher than fresh.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2015
    9
    I originally played this game for the first time when i was 6. Every month, my dad used to buy a xbox game disc and then, one day i playedI originally played this game for the first time when i was 6. Every month, my dad used to buy a xbox game disc and then, one day i played JSRF demo. As a child i was fascinated by the gameplay, but i lost the disc and after my original xbox broke, i wasn't able to play it for a long time.
    Then i bought a X360 and two months ago, during a comicon, i found an original copy of this game in sale.
    I bought it immediately and i was astonished (for the second time, with the same game, that's rare) by the freshness and innovation brought by the gameplay. Even today, in 2015, i simply can't find a game similar to JSRF (except the original jet grind radio), it was a milestone for trick/platform games, and WHAT A MILESTONE! Graphics were extraordinary for the time and are quite good today, soundtrack is simply amazing and the levels are beautifully designed, with many shortcuts and secret areas.
    I know many of you couldn't give the game more than 5 minutes, and i'm really sorry for that.
    But i honestly think that skating in dogenzaka hill with "I love love you" playing in background is an amazing experience that you need to do at least once in your life.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2015
    10
    This game is so awesome. Many areas and not repetitive at all, you never get tired of it. Love the sound track too, it was away ahead of it'sThis game is so awesome. Many areas and not repetitive at all, you never get tired of it. Love the sound track too, it was away ahead of it's time. Wishing for a remake from SEGA. Full Review »