Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. This game sparkles because of the Offensive Cover System and animations, otherwise it is a straightforward shooter that sets up with some pretty simple and standard missions.
  2. A good shooter, perched on the boundary between realistic and cinematic. It's got a great story, too.
  3. My only complaint is that I have beaten it, and now I'm done. It was a bit short for me.
  4. Even though the gameplay is a bit lacking in length and diversity you can’t help but admit the game is just plain fun to play, and the level of difficulty will provide a challenge for jaded veterans of the genre.
  5. Other games have tried to slow the pace down a bit, forcing you to strategize with a more real-world instinct, but none have ever been able to do so with this level of intensity and keen sense of design. [Nov 2003, p.64]
  6. A little better than your average shooter and worth checking out for the unique Offensive Cover System.
  7. Serves up round after round of smart, strategic firefights, challening both mind and reflex. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.99]
  8. These battles, they feel real. More important, they seem dangerous.
  9. 80
    Easy to pick-up, difficult in all the right places, and oozes Hollywood atmosphere without sacrificing too many gameplay convictions. While we can't say that we approve of its particularly short-sided length and occasional camera problems, it's still one hell of a fun ride while it lasts.
  10. 80
    This game can be nail-bitingly suspenseful as you have no radar or warning system of any sort, and never know when or from where enemies pop out and peg you in the head.
  11. Possesses one of most engaging stories to grace an action title since "Metal Gear Solid."
  12. What you end up with is a solid but average action game with only truly great concept. Sure, it's a one-trick pony, but at least the pony's cute and doesn't smell. [Dec 2003, p.156]
  13. As innovative as it may be, Namco didn't back this gameplay up with any substance. [Dec 2003, p.174]
  14. 75
    Finally, a shooter for cowards! Kill.Switch is the first game to let you hide behind objects and blindly fire around corners. [Oct 2003, p.37]
  15. 75
    There's no multiplayer, no online play, and only a couple of difficulty modes. But it does its work extremely well, and it's safe to say you won't play a similar game this year.
  16. If you're looking for some pretty intense fire-fights, give kill.switch a try - I'm pretty sure you'll be pleased with what you find. This title proves to be a diamond in the rough.
  17. An intense and fun shooter that will sadly be overlooked by most gamers. The main negative aspect of kill.switch is the longevity; basically there is none. The game can be completed in 5 hours or less even in the hard difficulty level and there are no real extras or multiplayer elements to give it legs.
  18. A nice little game with some well deserved kudos for the whole “Cover Tactics” mode. I would think it could use a graphical upgrade and a tweak in the camera department, but again a very solid release from Renderware and Namco.
  19. The only thing this game doesn't offer is replay value. There is only the single-player mode which a good gamer could complete in a weekend making this an excellent rental choice.
  20. 70
    A perfect length for a game of this quality.
  21. It’s just difficult to wholeheartedly recommend a title that has a mere five or six hours of game time, and no real incentive to play through again.
  22. While seemingly similar to previously released action titles at first glance, Kill.switch quickly proves to impart its own unique types of spin on the strat-shooter genre, not merely in mechanics and "hooks," but also in the game's very dramatic approach.
  23. This otherwise ordinary-to-a-fault action game is given a shot in the arm by its relatively cool gameplay techniques, which--at least--make the game's short ride interesting.
  24. It's hardly original (not to mention short and sometimes ugly), but Namco's got both the control and the difficulty level just right. [Dec 2003, p.184]
  25. 65
    The sad truth is that after playing the first level, you’ve already seen everything that the game has to offer. The game’s unique take on the typical shooter is interesting and well executed, but it isn’t enough to justify Kill.Switch’s decidedly one-dimensional gameplay.
  26. In a perfect world all budget games would be of kill.switch's quality - that's where it would soar, that's where it would be ideal. As it is, it's almost exactly six hours of gung-ho entertainment from the moment you switch on your machine. But that's still just six hours. [Feb 2004, p.104]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Uter
    May 21, 2004
    4
    Bad graphics and ill-conceived level design combine in a mediocre game. With the shooter genera so crowded on xbox, kill switch isn't Bad graphics and ill-conceived level design combine in a mediocre game. With the shooter genera so crowded on xbox, kill switch isn't really worth playing. At least 10 other shooters are better options. Full Review »
  2. MichaelC.
    Jan 13, 2004
    6
    I had high hopes for this game, but unfortunately, it falls way short of expectation. The cover system is probably the coolest I've seen I had high hopes for this game, but unfortunately, it falls way short of expectation. The cover system is probably the coolest I've seen in a shooter, but is the only unique feature you'll find here. Swarms of enemies, difficult NPC AI, and lack of any interesting gameplay besides ducking and shooting makes playing Kill Switch get repetitive fast. If you love third-person shooters, you might find some enjoyment here, but I'd wait for a price drop. Full Review »
  3. RyanH.
    Nov 16, 2003
    9
    A fun and intense game with a unique story(think Memento).A straight foward, frantic, gun-blazing adventure that jerks you around like a fly A fun and intense game with a unique story(think Memento).A straight foward, frantic, gun-blazing adventure that jerks you around like a fly tied to thread. If you're tired of stealth buy this! Full Review »