User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 5 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 19, 2013
    10
    8 years later and this game draws me in like no other. If you're reading this and want to try out a game it has aged well. Visually, it was pretty good. The draw distance was the only downside visually for it's time. It is a very nice game to look at with up-scaled visuals and a component cable. The music is fantastic if you're into thrash metal with lots of chugging guitars. In terms of8 years later and this game draws me in like no other. If you're reading this and want to try out a game it has aged well. Visually, it was pretty good. The draw distance was the only downside visually for it's time. It is a very nice game to look at with up-scaled visuals and a component cable. The music is fantastic if you're into thrash metal with lots of chugging guitars. In terms of it as a sequel, it is basically 1:1 with Crusaders gameplay wise, which is a good thing. Don't fix what isn't broken. Surprising to say the least was the harshness of the reviews at release. It seems as though this game was plagued by very bad players quickly rushing to judge the game over things they simply do not understand just look at the person who said they did a mission 43 times over. The only missions that truly stand out as genuinely mindbogglingly hard involve Urukkubhar and Morene. They are intended to be nightmarishly difficult, so don't expect anything less. The control scheme was solid, the only thing I wish was changed would be how often you were using the mini map overlay to guide troops. The online play was incredibly fun, though sadly there were not many players staying around for it. The matchmaking rules were a bit iffy, and I'd be surprised if the servers were offline by now. The sheer amount of time you can spend playing and replaying the game is higher than almost anything you will ever play. Most stories take 6-10 hours depending on skill level, with the game being incredibly hard to speed run. With 7 characters, there is so much to do. All in all, if you're reading this today and want what I consider the best action-RTS if not one of the best RTS of all time you need to check this out. If it's a challenge you want with a great learning curve and entry, this is it. Expand
  2. LyanH.
    Jun 30, 2006
    8
    Its a good game but isn't really different from the first.
  3. Paul
    May 1, 2006
    4
    Too difficult & specialist for anyone other than a fanatical gaming geek who loves replaying the same mission 30 times before finally managing to complete it. You need an intricate understanding of the ins and outs of all the rules along with a big dose of luck to get through this one without multiple retrys of every other scenario. I found it got boring after the 48th retry of one Too difficult & specialist for anyone other than a fanatical gaming geek who loves replaying the same mission 30 times before finally managing to complete it. You need an intricate understanding of the ins and outs of all the rules along with a big dose of luck to get through this one without multiple retrys of every other scenario. I found it got boring after the 48th retry of one particular part of it. Consequently its now gathering dust on my shelf. Expand
  4. BrentonD.
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    Great Game. The entire game from start to finish is a blast. And any one who is looking for a Dynasty Warriors Hack-and-Slash look else where because of its nightmarish difficulty will make you micromanage every aspect of your army and keep you on your toes.
  5. D.Forrester
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    it is the best game i played in war type setting it knocked lord of ring off my list it will be the best game of the year.
  6. Cyn
    Nov 20, 2005
    9
    Everything but the voice-casting is better than KOF:Crusades. The single player campaigns are longer and better, and the addition of custom games as well as X-Box Live Hero vs Hero battles makes the multiplayer very attractive to any hard core Strategy or Hack Em Up games. Second strategy game to truly stand out on the consoles. (First one was KOF:Crusades)
  7. Alex
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    I love this game! It's a perfect blend of strategy and 3rd person fighting. Plus, any game where you have a huge army and you have to destroy another army is usually a great game!
  8. Laurence
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    Gameplay is highly addictive, strategy is mixed in well with action, and the game moves a lot smoother than Crusaders. I highly recommend this to any Xbox owner.
  9. JodyM.
    Sep 30, 2005
    9
    Heroes rocks!!!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. High difficulty, poor construction, and annoying audio make this game a rental, at best, for all but the most hardcore of real-time strategy gamers.
  2. The meltdown that results when too many characters join the fray and the camera freaks out often renders the game unplayable. [Nov 2005, p.150]
  3. There are certainly the trappings of an epic fantasy game here, but lack of attention to latecomers to the series and horrid pacing and voice acting drag this game down to something that's fun to play if you can get the story out of the way and can get a solid grasp on the control scheme.