Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. If you’re offended or annoyed by Carl Douglas’ Kung Fu Fighting song, stay away. For others with a more open mind, this is worth a look, even if it’s a rental.
  2. An absolute blast to play through one time exactly and only. If you have to backtrack at all (which unfortunately you do) the fun rapidly diminishes, which adds up to zero replay value.
  3. Fun for a quick multiplayer spar, but it doesn't come close to what we were hoping for nor what the Xbox really needs. [Apr 2003, p.85]
  4. There are so many spoofs of classic martial arts characters and one-liners that I found myself laughing hysterically. Director Shao Ting seems to be filled with more stupid jokes then just about any character I've seen.
  5. A fun arena brawling game that has some interesting gameplay twists that provides a surprising amount of depth to the combat.
  6. Those expecting a highly addictive party game in the same vein as Nintendo’s "Super Smash Brothers" will find nothing but disappointment, but all is not entirely bad.
  7. Probably won't keep you occupied for long, especially if you're not playing it with a rowdy group of friends. But it can make for some good, silly fun in short spurts.
  8. Unfortunately, the combo system is designed for a button-mashing extravaganza - and combos of X-X-X just don't cut it today. [Mar 2003, p.88]
  9. 63
    I've yet to play with anyone who wasn't totally frustrated, annoyed, or bored by the game in a multiplayer match.
  10. Fun, and can be good for laughs, but just like the films it pokes fun at, the game is about as deep as a candy dish.
  11. Questionable in taste, weak in humor, and uneven in play, Chaos dampens its drawers with mediocrity. [Apr 2003, p.72]
  12. The first few moments will have you rolling about laughing and you'll no doubt have a blast; after that, however, the monkey magic will drain and you'll be back to your Dreamcast with Capcom's more refined multiplayer brawler ("Powerstone") in the slot.
  13. Due to the over simplistic controls they fall just a bit short to make a game that can capture a group of people for more than a couple of minutes at a time.
  14. While Kung Fu Chaos is marketed as a party game intended for four players, I keep finding the single-player mode more riveting and fun.
  15. KFC's humor is about as subtle as a punch to the groin, and not nearly as smart. [Apr 2003, p.128]
  16. The multiplayer mode offers less variety in gameplay, and the homogenous characters severely limit the game's depth.
  17. Taken as pure fighting game, it could use some power-ups, more fixed arenas, more characters, and distinct moves.
  18. 50
    A suitable distraction if you're bored. But then again, so is bird watching. [Apr 2003, p.54]
  19. It's not that it's inherently a racist game; rather, it simply wields its satire with such a lack of grace and humor that it's difficult to rally behind the attempt. [Apr/May 2003, p.86]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. AlexK.
    Nov 6, 2003
    8
    This is a great game. I think the critics have all missed the point. This is not something that should be compared to Dead or Alive 3 or Soul This is a great game. I think the critics have all missed the point. This is not something that should be compared to Dead or Alive 3 or Soul Calibur 2. It's not a serious beat 'em up for hardcore gamers - it's a party game. Get three friends round, have a few beers and this game is great fun! Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Kung Fu Chaos is one of my all-time favorite couch multiplayer games, along with Mashed, Halo and Fusion Frenzy. I still bust it out for videoKung Fu Chaos is one of my all-time favorite couch multiplayer games, along with Mashed, Halo and Fusion Frenzy. I still bust it out for video game nights in 2014! Full Review »
  3. Bacon
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Man is this ever a great game. It deserves a far better score from the critcs, they flatout missed the boat on this one. Great graphics, Man is this ever a great game. It deserves a far better score from the critcs, they flatout missed the boat on this one. Great graphics, great gameplay(unique), funniest game ive ever played, best played with a couple of friends. I highly reccomend this game just dont go into it thinking your getting a DOA, or a mortal kombat, contrary to what the critics say it's not that kind of a game. Full Review »