User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 2 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Suhuhu
    Mar 6, 2003
    9
    Cool!!! fast!!! good and good and very good.
  2. SunW.
    Aug 9, 2003
    9
    A surprisingly underrated gem. wonder what some of the critics are thinking...
  3. Thanhbinh
    May 9, 2004
    10
    Wow! what an amaaaaaaaazzzzzziiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnngggggg game! I played Super Smash Bros. Melee and frankly I found it quite boring after 4 hours of play. I tried to like it but it's so shallow. However gamesites review would give that a 9+! In contrast, Kung Fu Chaos is better in game play, graphics, replay value, and features and they gave it a 6+! Graphics: Graphics are amazing! Look Wow! what an amaaaaaaaazzzzzziiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnngggggg game! I played Super Smash Bros. Melee and frankly I found it quite boring after 4 hours of play. I tried to like it but it's so shallow. However gamesites review would give that a 9+! In contrast, Kung Fu Chaos is better in game play, graphics, replay value, and features and they gave it a 6+! Graphics: Graphics are amazing! Look at the water! Just as in Smash Bros., the environment are well alive and much more interactive than Smash Bros. After a fight scene, watch it back in movie mode and the graphics are superb! The characters are greatly modeled. Some reviewer think it's ugly, but I think beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I like it better than Smash Bros. Smash Bros. are too cartoony for my taste. Characters KFC are very unique, and truly has characters! Sound: Just as good as Smash Bros. IMO. GamePlay: If you like Dynasty Warrior 4, then you will like this fighting better! Let's say u have like 5x more combo move. I think's that's plenty. And yes, you also have an equivalent super-combo similar to musou! It's great! So you have complete control of blocking, combo and super-combo. What's to complain? Fighting is more intuitive and much better than Smash Bros. You can pick up this game in 1/2 an hour to be competent. But to master when to use different combo is steep. Yes, you can pass a level with XXXY to finish all the level quick. But I am playing to enjoy making the Kung-Fu movies by doing limitless moves and not just beat the game. No wonder IGN don't like this game. He just try to finish it and not enjoy it! Features: Gameplay are different for different levels. Not all levels are just fighting which I think adds temendous value to the gameplay. Talking about levels, there's like 30+ so I think it's much more fun than any other fighting game on any platform. It's just amazing! I hope microsoft studios pays attention more to us readers than gamesite reviews. It is us that buy it in mass. We really like this and kudos to you! People complaining about 4 multiplayers and losing track, get a bigger TV! My nephews and I played all day and laugh all day! No complaints here, just blissful enjoyment! Expand
  4. Bacon
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Man is this ever a great game. It deserves a far better score from the critcs, they flatout missed the boat on this one. Great graphics, great gameplay(unique), funniest game ive ever played, best played with a couple of friends. I highly reccomend this game just dont go into it thinking your getting a DOA, or a mortal kombat, contrary to what the critics say it's not that kind of a game.
  5. Dude
    Feb 24, 2003
    10
    Great Game.
  6. MaccDaddy
    Feb 24, 2003
    10
    I own this game, And I have to be honest. I absolute ROCKS. I love it, it?s a great party game, and single player is also great. The Graphics are SWEAT The Music is SWEAT The Game play, is Fabulous The only one problem with it is the commentator who makes rubbish jokes (but I guess its to capture the 70's theme Martial Art theme) Anyway get this game its a must in my opinion I prefer I own this game, And I have to be honest. I absolute ROCKS. I love it, it?s a great party game, and single player is also great. The Graphics are SWEAT The Music is SWEAT The Game play, is Fabulous The only one problem with it is the commentator who makes rubbish jokes (but I guess its to capture the 70's theme Martial Art theme) Anyway get this game its a must in my opinion I prefer KUNG FU CHAOS to Nindedoes Super Mash Bros. btw I am a regular Karate man myself, and I love the game. I give it a mighty 10. Expand
  7. Macca
    Mar 24, 2003
    10
    This game is astonishing. It reminded me of watching some old Kung-Fu movies (that?s how good the graphics and sound are). The gameplay is great, I become totally addicted, and still am. It is sooo dam fun to play, single player or multiplayer. The Loser who voted this game a '0' is a GC fanatic, and hates it when Xbox games are better, like KFC is way better than SSBM. Another This game is astonishing. It reminded me of watching some old Kung-Fu movies (that?s how good the graphics and sound are). The gameplay is great, I become totally addicted, and still am. It is sooo dam fun to play, single player or multiplayer. The Loser who voted this game a '0' is a GC fanatic, and hates it when Xbox games are better, like KFC is way better than SSBM. Another big bonus in this game is that it is HUGE, and it even plays the song 'Everybody's Kung Fu Fightin''. Great Game. I know, I own it. Expand
  8. FRANKD.
    Apr 14, 2003
    10
    This game rocks. The graphics are cool, the characters are great, and the levels are fantastic. Difficulty level is abou tright with top scores pretty tough to get on each level. Can't complain about the soundtrack because it's only limited to my own CD collection (works well with Wu-Tang Clan.) One of the finest games on X-Box so far.
  9. AshleyD.
    Jul 11, 2003
    9
    Unbeatable as a multiplayer. One of the funnest games around.
  10. PhantomRecon
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    Reminds me of Powerstone 1 & 2 on the Dreamcast. I like all 3 very much.
  11. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Kung Fu Chaos is one of my all-time favorite couch multiplayer games, along with Mashed, Halo and Fusion Frenzy. I still bust it out for video game nights in 2014!
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. 75
    If you liked the "Power Stone" series, then you will love Kung Fu Chaos. For n00bs to the genre, it's hard not to like a game like KFC. It has all of the ingredients of a highly entertaining game, and once you add multiplayer into the mix it makes for a perfect party game.
  2. If you’re offended or annoyed by Carl Douglas’ Kung Fu Fighting song, stay away. For others with a more open mind, this is worth a look, even if it’s a rental.
  3. An absolute blast to play through one time exactly and only. If you have to backtrack at all (which unfortunately you do) the fun rapidly diminishes, which adds up to zero replay value.