Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. It's not particularly challenging, nor is it epic in length, but for a few brief hours it will provide you with a lot of fun.
  2. But with more than 30 playable characters from the movies and loads of goodies to unlock, Lego Star Wars is more than just kids' fodder. It's a great Star Wars game.
  3. Achieves what regular Star Wars, in recent history, has been unable to do: deliver a children's experience that is fun and engaging for adults as well.
  4. A fun experience that should be loved by many.
  5. The game's short length, infinite continues, and co-op mode make it an excellent rental for older folks, while kids will be happy to replay the levels to death and track down every last secret. [May 2005, p.125]
  6. Kids are often underestimated, but that doesn't mean their games should be. Lego Star Wars has an appeal that goes beyond age, even if it's one that rarely goes beyond 20 minutes at a time. [May 2005, p.84]
  7. The sheer simplicity of the game is likely to affect the duration of the game, but while it lasts LEGO Star Wars is enjoyable and has an understanding of the Star Wars brand above many others.
  8. It's a cute toy without enough pieces to build anything truly great. [May 2005, p.84]
  9. It's simple, it's short, but it's still great fun.
  10. 60
    Extremely fun to pick up and play with now and then, but ultimately somewhat limited; its final destination gathering dust in a cupboard next to Hungry Hungry Hippos is all but assured.
  11. An annoying camera, repetitive structure and short replay value all add up to a slightly above average game that will only have lasting appeal for younger gamers (or indeed Star Wars fans).
  12. This game is also one of the easiest the galaxy has ever seen. [May 2005, p.52]
  13. The core gameplay is somewhat lacking. 'But it's for kids,' we hear you cry. Maybe so, but even kids - or those who are just young at heart - will no doubt want a challenge that lasts longer than it would take to watch the original trilogy. [May 2005, p.109]
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    This is a childhood favorite of mine and still a game that i'd happily revisit. I hated the movies but unlike others I don't judge the game based on them. Full Review »
  2. JohnL.
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    When I frist picked up this game I thought that it would fall short for a star wars game...BOy was I wrong this game is a blast to play and although it can be easy to get through it does have quite a bit of replay value if you try to get everything...Id recommend it to anybody young or old. Full Review »
  3. CoryK.
    Jun 16, 2005
    8
    This game is very fun especially for children and co-op. There is a lot to unlock and the game covers Episodes I, II, and III. However, the game is fairly easy but there is still a lot of fun to be had here. Full Review »