Madden NFL 06 Xbox

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 41
  2. Negative: 9 out of 41
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BryanM.
    Oct 30, 2007
    1
    Not a big fan of this game. I rather play it on the 360 even though the 360 version seems sucky it is a lot better then this version and I must admite I was surprized when they relized 07 for this system too. but that is only because 06 on the 360 stunk and they wanted money from people. just get 07 madden if you must have a xbox football madden.
  2. DaneL.
    Aug 11, 2005
    3
    I gave this such a low rating because frankly (and from what I've read I'm not alone in this) I'm tired of the minimum effort Madden has put into their games year after year. I'm even more furious that EA screwed over the ESPN 2k5 which still proves a superior football experience (despite their touted new cumbersome precision passing crapola). 2K5 really made you feel I gave this such a low rating because frankly (and from what I've read I'm not alone in this) I'm tired of the minimum effort Madden has put into their games year after year. I'm even more furious that EA screwed over the ESPN 2k5 which still proves a superior football experience (despite their touted new cumbersome precision passing crapola). 2K5 really made you feel like you were playing a broadcast game with great cutaways (unlike M-06's almost comical running and tackling animations) and the half time recaps never gets boring when you've executed some nice plays during the game. You'd think the guys at EA would take a long hard look at why this upstart sent their lawyers scrambling to use their monopolistic (is that a word?) muscle to squeeze out the competition by buying the NFL exclusive license. I guess it's just a further sign of their inferiority ( Expand
  3. JamesD.
    Aug 15, 2005
    0
    Man. EA has screwed us over this time. Not only did they produce their same old mediocre game, but theve prevented the release of a FAR SUPERIOR game (ESPN NFL 2K6). The new passing system is cumbersome at best. EA didn't even bother to make the menu systems move smoothly. The graphics are a joke. The halftime stat screen that comes up should demonstrate to you how much time went Man. EA has screwed us over this time. Not only did they produce their same old mediocre game, but theve prevented the release of a FAR SUPERIOR game (ESPN NFL 2K6). The new passing system is cumbersome at best. EA didn't even bother to make the menu systems move smoothly. The graphics are a joke. The halftime stat screen that comes up should demonstrate to you how much time went into this horrible game. Football games are supposed to get better every year, Madden seems to have learned nothing in their over a decade of making football games. Perhaps the most pathetic thing is, the ESPN football game from last year is infinitely better than the Madden game from this year. I give EA a big fat 0 for effort and and big fat 0 for screwing all of us over by unscrupulously eliminating the competition. I think I am done buying EA games because they obviously feel they have nothing left to prove. They are interested in gimmicks and the bottom line. Im selling mine back before I throw it out the window. If you liked ESPN NFL from last year, SAVE YOUR MONEY....buy this game and you will regret it. The best football game on the market was released last year...if you don't own it...but it, you will see what all of us ESPN(ers) love so much about it. Collapse
  4. [Anonymous]
    Aug 8, 2005
    0
    As someone who isn't particulourly into sports, I still decided to try this game out because it was highly reccomended by friends. Keep in mind that I am judging this based on gameplay, not the accuracy of the rosters and such. This is the same game as one of the NFL Blitz games I played on the N64 years back, which leads me to beleive that the other football games since then have As someone who isn't particulourly into sports, I still decided to try this game out because it was highly reccomended by friends. Keep in mind that I am judging this based on gameplay, not the accuracy of the rosters and such. This is the same game as one of the NFL Blitz games I played on the N64 years back, which leads me to beleive that the other football games since then have been as well. Yeah, maybe the teams are updated and there are a few small improvements, but is that really worth 50 more dollars, not to mention hours of your time? Only if your a huge football fan who can't stand the stats and rosters being different. I don't understand why anyone else would waste their money on this. If people had any common sense, they'd ask for one game that allowed you to download updated teams and stats every year for maybe five dollars, because that's the only thing that really changes. It is also unfair to developers who put effort into creating new and original games, that the reviews and sales favor these repetetive sports games. Maybe Madden 2006 doesn't deserve a zero for quality, but it sure as hell does for being almost the same game as the previous installments in the franchise. And yes, I know this review has tons of bad spelling. Expand
  5. Roger
    Aug 11, 2005
    0
    Glad I only rented this game. If EA didn't have a monopoly on NFL football games there might be a need for improvement. But they do have a monopoly, so there you go.
  6. R.Shaff68
    Aug 12, 2005
    2
    Crappy graphics...no challenges...no replays...no control over 90% of your forth down plays...this game was a forced buy since the monopoly took over....trading mine in and will stick with 2K5.
  7. JohnH.
    Aug 23, 2005
    3
    The new passing game just makes the game less fun. Yeah, it might be more realistic, but it detracts from the overall gameplay.
  8. TheSpoiler
    Sep 19, 2005
    2
    Madden is bad because of these simple reasons... 1. Strafe catching still money in the game... all you have to do is send your guy on a comeback route.. gun the ball high and guess what.. he'll catch it about 90% of the time. 2. EA was stupid and didn't figure that when a team is in a 2RB formation (besides weak I and near) that the RB will have the R1 over his head on all Madden is bad because of these simple reasons... 1. Strafe catching still money in the game... all you have to do is send your guy on a comeback route.. gun the ball high and guess what.. he'll catch it about 90% of the time. 2. EA was stupid and didn't figure that when a team is in a 2RB formation (besides weak I and near) that the RB will have the R1 over his head on all running plays.. and the L1 over his head on all passing plays! Obviously people online have found this very helpful as all you see now is people audible-ing the second a team goes to line up. 3. Post corner routes are too money.. even if you have coverage designated strictly for the spot you know where the ball is going... they still catch it! 4. Outside counters seem to work a little too well. 5. QB causes nothing but inadvertant pump fakes and sacks... its no good.. I honestly dont think Peyton Manning's eyes see 270 degrees and his little brothers eyes only see a 15 degree window.. what was Eli puff puff passin' before the game or something? There about 10 more things I could list here but its not worth the effort... if you have bought this game.. SELL IT for whatever amount of money you can get... if you havent purchased it.. pat yourself on the back... and go spend your 50 dollars on something else. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 90
    Recent releases have seen plenty of tweaks, but they merely nudged the gameplay. This year's implementation of a quarterback's cone of vision really changes things by rethinking the foundations of passing the ball.
  2. 95
    Once again, EA and Madden manage to do the impossible: They made us fall head-over-cleats in love with this frigging game all over again.
  3. Instead of resting on its laurels, the Madden franchise takes a big step forward with Madden 06.