Madden NFL 06 Xbox

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 9 out of 40
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ron
    Aug 9, 2005
    7
    Gameplay is average, but I think the graphics suck!
  2. nickl.
    Sep 5, 2005
    6
    This game isnt that great.....Quarterback vision is horrible if you have the on and pass it to someone else its an interception, i really don't like that part of the game it just makes it no fun at all. Also wheres the roster?! K.J Harris from WVU went pro well at least i thought and Brock Berlin from Miami neither one are even on the game thats pretty pathetic. Finally nfl superstar This game isnt that great.....Quarterback vision is horrible if you have the on and pass it to someone else its an interception, i really don't like that part of the game it just makes it no fun at all. Also wheres the roster?! K.J Harris from WVU went pro well at least i thought and Brock Berlin from Miami neither one are even on the game thats pretty pathetic. Finally nfl superstar thats not even fun its so boring theres nothing to do on it except play boring games which everyone always wins.... So overall they could do alot better! NCAA Football 06 is way better then madden. Expand
  3. DParrott
    Mar 9, 2006
    5
    Some amusing comments indeed. I was a dedicated Madden player for many years. But once EA decided to keep enabling online for PS and not the xbox despite the far superior XBL network I quit buying. Then I finally begrudgingly bought 2K5. What an eyeopener. There was not one thing that wasn't better than anything Madden ever had. I am certain that EA made all these exclusive rights Some amusing comments indeed. I was a dedicated Madden player for many years. But once EA decided to keep enabling online for PS and not the xbox despite the far superior XBL network I quit buying. Then I finally begrudgingly bought 2K5. What an eyeopener. There was not one thing that wasn't better than anything Madden ever had. I am certain that EA made all these exclusive rights deals so they can continue with mediocrity with no competition. There model has been for many years now make a pretty good game that catches the eye and plays nicely. Then EVERY year update a couple things add some fluff and resell it as the next years version. Even when I did play Madden I would only buy when there was actually innovation or something added that would actually justify buying the same game. EA made there name with Madden and has done nothing but crap on all its loyal fans since. EA in there present form and business practice are bad for gaming period. There is a reason why monopolies are often illegal. EA at the present time has monopolized the NFL with the exclusive rights deals so avid NFL fans/gamers will buy there product as there is no option. If they had competition EA would obviously have to try harder something there work ethic seems not to allow. Expand
  4. BillW.
    Aug 22, 2005
    7
    I've never been a fan of the Madden series, preferring what seemed to me a more realistic game in the ESPN series, but since the NFL sold their rights to the highest bidder, I had to try my football through Madden this year. Many of my gripes with past editions are still here. First of all, the graphics are not as strong as the 2K series and neither is the rest of the presentation. I I've never been a fan of the Madden series, preferring what seemed to me a more realistic game in the ESPN series, but since the NFL sold their rights to the highest bidder, I had to try my football through Madden this year. Many of my gripes with past editions are still here. First of all, the graphics are not as strong as the 2K series and neither is the rest of the presentation. I can overlook that, but the biggest problems remain in the gameplay and its lack of realism. Examples: 90% of the time a receiver has a step on the db, and the pass is lobbed in there, the db jumps up and knocks it away from abover the receiver's head. Ok, this can happen occasionally but honestly, most of the time in the NFL, all a receiver is going to get is a step on the corner, and a well thrown pass will get in there. How does a db make up that step by jumping in the air and swinging his arm? Another example: the way to complete passes is to throw the ball high and underneath to the receiver who 90% of the time will outjump the db for it. This makes tight ends and tall receivers nearly indefensable by db's. Again, this happens in the NFL occassionally but not at this rate. Another example: speed is not represented on the d-line. I play the Colts and Dwight Freeney, the best edge rusher in the league, gets pancaked half of the plays and can't beat the tackle to the corner. On the other hand, I can use power with the interior tackles to drive back and get sacks at a much higher rate than the ends, so Freeney is not my first option as a pass-rusher because he isn't powerful and his speed isn't well represented. Another example: it seems the o-line will either give you 30 seconds to throw the ball or none. There isn't much in-between. Because of this, the effectiveness of blitzing is highly over-represented. Many times, if you don't bring multiple extra defenders on blitzes, you will never get to the qb, while calling all out blitzes is way too effective and you don't get burned nearly as often as you should. Another example: it often seems easier to complete a long throw by just throwing high and underneath rather than shorter routes which the db's react to better than the receivers. Why throw short passes when there's a much higher chance of being intercepted and you complete a lower percentage than your plays that are deep throws. This is the complete opposite to the short, precision passing that rules the NFL these days. I also tire of having my receivers chased down from behind by safeties. At a higher difficulty, I have never outrun a defender in any of the games. The difficulty settings are way out of line as well. At Pro-level, I scored 50 points against the Ravens, and their great defense. Bumping up one level to all-pro difficulty, I scored 3. So, I either win with ease, or get bored out of my mind. I very much wanted to enjoy Madden this year because it was my only choice, and I have to have my football game, but at this point, I'm considering taking the time to try and update rosters myself on the old 2K game. Madden is just too unrealistic and has too many little bugs in it that grate on your nerves. I'm not mad at EA, they made a wise business decision; I'm mad at the NFL for putting it to the fans and forcing me to play an inferior game. Madden is fine if you like arcade-style football, but it's horrible as a football-sim and is just the same, recycled gameplay and graphical experience regardless of the little tweaks and new features they add each year. Expand
  5. Andy
    Aug 11, 2005
    5
    I am so disappointed with this game. The thing I was looking forward to the most, Superstar Mode, is to glitchy to have much fun with. The passing cone effectively forces you to play with Manning or a created player with awesome attributes, or you take about 8 sacks a game. Even with all that, it is far to easy to score. I haven't scored under 56 yet. Very disappointing game.
  6. FPSMaster
    Aug 10, 2005
    6
    Seriously, this is the same game we played on PS1 in 1996. The graphics are slightly cleaner and the animations are a little smoother, but that's it. If all the retards would stop sucking up to this franchise for being the way it is, maybe sometime in the next 10 console gens EA might decide to improve the franchise to at least be as good as last year's ESPN game and look as Seriously, this is the same game we played on PS1 in 1996. The graphics are slightly cleaner and the animations are a little smoother, but that's it. If all the retards would stop sucking up to this franchise for being the way it is, maybe sometime in the next 10 console gens EA might decide to improve the franchise to at least be as good as last year's ESPN game and look as good as maybe Backyard Football. The way it stands, everytime another dumb, casual gamer buys these games they are just telling EA to keep giving them the same game every single year while only adding more gimmicks that have absolutely nothing to do with ANY sports game and letting everything else go. I just can't believe human beings can be so dumb. You piss and moan for something better, then you pay another $50 for something you owned 10 years ago. It was called Gmaeday '96. I think a box of dog**** is smarter than the people that keep giving EA $50 a year just for another roster update and first-gen PS2 graphics. I won't buy the game, but it hurts me as much as the next guy when people keep giving this monopoly more money to buy out more developers and make even more games as bad as this washed-up franchise. I can't imagine how bad this series will keep getting next gen since EA knows most that buy this franchise are idiots anyway and won't know the difference. You'd have to be an idiot to play this series to begin with. Not to mention it's the only one now, but that's just because EA didn't want to have to pony up and beat the better competition. And I can't imagine how much dumber the "supposed" most intelligent species on Earth will get next-gen when this series finally looks like an Xbox 1 game and everyone raves about how good it looks. I've got new for you. ESPN looked better last year than the new Madden does on Xbox 360. I don't really think people could be any dumber though. Giving EA more money is about as dumb as selling your brain for Advil. Why not give EA your blood and organs while you're at it. It's no dumber than buying another $50 roster update and making the rest of us have to pay for it in the long run. Get it for PS2 for God's sake and stop making the entire Xbox audience look as casual and uninformed as the entire PS2 crowd. We're supposed to be the ones that made the smart choice to get away from these Sony-like developers, then you guys basilally go out on a limb to make Xbox have as bad of a library of games as the fony PS2. You idiots that buy this will understand what I'm talking about when in 2 years every single game has the EA logo on it. EVERYTHING will play as bad as these Madden games then. And it'll be your fault, not the ones of us that were smart enough to see through EA's brainwashing. But we'll be the ones that pay for it since you guys that play this series aren't serious gamers begin with. You can't be if you play this garbage year after year. Expand
  7. SeymourButts
    Aug 26, 2005
    5
    BORING! This game just isn
  8. EddieG.
    Aug 5, 2005
    6
    Once again EA does nothing but , stick it to the gaming community. It is the same game as 04, 03, 02, with just alittle tweak here and there, to keep the fanboy, coming back for more. And you know you can count on the ass-kissing media reviewers, to gush all over this dated, franchise.---Can't upset your biggest advertiser. Hell, Madden is just like a pig, no matter how your dress it Once again EA does nothing but , stick it to the gaming community. It is the same game as 04, 03, 02, with just alittle tweak here and there, to keep the fanboy, coming back for more. And you know you can count on the ass-kissing media reviewers, to gush all over this dated, franchise.---Can't upset your biggest advertiser. Hell, Madden is just like a pig, no matter how your dress it up, it is still a pig!!!---Go Away EA!!!!!! Expand
  9. AaronF.
    Sep 1, 2005
    6
    I am considering not even buying a next genration consle because i went out bought a dreamcast after seeing 2k video games did not intrest me until i tried madden its not bad you dont get that same felling as 2k you just dont understand how mad i really am.feel meFELL ME!!!!!!!
  10. MikeK.
    Aug 27, 2005
    6
    Ugggg! The madden series is still about two or three years away from where the 2K series left off. This game just doesn't compare to the SEGA series in innovation. For example, Madden 06's "new" Percision Passing mode came out for the Sega series back in 1999 and was called Maximum passing. Sega wasn't even the first as it came out before that in 989's Gameday series Ugggg! The madden series is still about two or three years away from where the 2K series left off. This game just doesn't compare to the SEGA series in innovation. For example, Madden 06's "new" Percision Passing mode came out for the Sega series back in 1999 and was called Maximum passing. Sega wasn't even the first as it came out before that in 989's Gameday series and was called Total Control Passing. The graphics can't even be placed beside the 2K series latest. Possibly 2K3 maybe. One look at the intro by a 2K series fan will make him or her wince with maybe...amusement. The play selection screen is still the same old "3 plays" menu which lets your competion guess on your play 33% of the time. And as far as I know so far, Madden does not offer a bluffing feature like 2K did. The new QB vision....interesting.....could be fun...not sure yet. The controls are decent, not too hard to get used to. Better special team features than 2K had. But overall, at least 2 years out from being par with 2K5. If you are a true football fan like me, either buy it or buy some Starting Lineup action figures and act the plays out on your own. Good Luck! Expand

Awards & Rankings

#13 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Recent releases have seen plenty of tweaks, but they merely nudged the gameplay. This year's implementation of a quarterback's cone of vision really changes things by rethinking the foundations of passing the ball.
  2. 95
    Once again, EA and Madden manage to do the impossible: They made us fall head-over-cleats in love with this frigging game all over again.
  3. Instead of resting on its laurels, the Madden franchise takes a big step forward with Madden 06.