Madden NFL 06 Xbox

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 9 out of 40
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OreceG.
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    This is the best Madden ever it is better than Madden 05 who ever rate this game low must be smoking crack. I like the graphic even my little brother T.V. like this game my favorite is the ATL Falcons they are going to make it to the championship oh yea did yall check out how u can create your player it i tight The defense is better than Madden 05 well adios.
  2. BrocK.
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome the tremendous improvment in the offensive is just the topping on the cake for this monstrous franchise called madden nfl football.
  3. Brian
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Best madden ever.
  4. Faigenistic
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    Great Game. Wish you could use the the R Trigger + Receiver button to pick your vision pre-snap while using the 2005 Madden controls though.
  5. MattW.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing and the graphics are sweet it blows any other football game out of the water.
  6. SexyBoy
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    Honestly, i've always liked the NFL2K games more than the Maddens. Last year's Madden was garbage, but this year's Madden really actually feels like football. Well done EA. =o)
  7. IanC.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    To Anonymous, why are you even posting? You don't like sports, you think Madden is like Blitz.....enough said. Post on a Piccachu game Nerd and leave sports games to the peple that know them. And in closing about the game: The game has been enhanced in many levels, whether it be the new passing (precision control), the new animations (which look great), the Much improved running game To Anonymous, why are you even posting? You don't like sports, you think Madden is like Blitz.....enough said. Post on a Piccachu game Nerd and leave sports games to the peple that know them. And in closing about the game: The game has been enhanced in many levels, whether it be the new passing (precision control), the new animations (which look great), the Much improved running game (being able to run inside the tackles and break long runs) and the ability to spawn a franchise and franchise games and take them online (VERY surprised that this has not yet been mentioned). It appears to me that most people who are disgruntled with this game are mad that EA has gotten the license. Although I can understand that people are upset about this, the game should be graded on its merits and not because people are disgruntled. Get over it move on and play the BEST Madden game yet. Expand
  8. Zach
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    Best game ever.
  9. DerekB.
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    Great game slants dont work.
  10. BrandonM.
    Aug 18, 2005
    9
    Yeah I think EA could have done a better job at creating a better all around game, but overall Madden 06 tops anything ever made. ESPN 2K5 by far beat out madden as far as presentation goes and thats pretty much it...PRESENTATION Madden's gameplay is much smoother and realistic. And to the the guy that hasn't scored under 56 points yet, try taking it off the madden for toddlers Yeah I think EA could have done a better job at creating a better all around game, but overall Madden 06 tops anything ever made. ESPN 2K5 by far beat out madden as far as presentation goes and thats pretty much it...PRESENTATION Madden's gameplay is much smoother and realistic. And to the the guy that hasn't scored under 56 points yet, try taking it off the madden for toddlers level... Thank You. Expand
  11. joshm
    Sep 2, 2005
    9
    Excellent game, stop crying cuz madden is better and espn sucked newayz, and then they go and buy out mvp baseball which was about 600 times better just when mvp added things so unbelievable espn would take till 2100 to come up with them alone and now they can develop those ideas and baseball gmaes will nrv be the same w/o ea's great ideas.
  12. Chris
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    BLAH BLAH BLAH you have to give the passing some time once u can get it down u will like it ten times more then 05 i can finally pass the ball over or under thrown depending on the safeties and backs or Lb's its great... do you all remember 2005 every play was 50 yd gain thats not football.... scoring 4 td's a game and 400 yds is not football... this game depicts the qb's BLAH BLAH BLAH you have to give the passing some time once u can get it down u will like it ten times more then 05 i can finally pass the ball over or under thrown depending on the safeties and backs or Lb's its great... do you all remember 2005 every play was 50 yd gain thats not football.... scoring 4 td's a game and 400 yds is not football... this game depicts the qb's awareness makes you appreciate usuing a better qb... and forthe rookies that you are all arguing that are not in the game ... well the game was released before they even made the final roster hello wake up... every1 hqas something to argue about why not clap for the makers for once this game is the best yet out of the madden series hats off to you guys.... Expand
  13. JohnK.
    Aug 11, 2005
    8
    I wanted to hate this game because I am a big fan of NFL 2K5, but it is honestly pretty good and fun. Not greatly different than prior years of Madden, but good anyway. Graphics are basically the same as last year's version (which are vastly inferior to 2K5's graphics). Gameplay is better than last year's version because they have taken the DB's superpowers away. (In I wanted to hate this game because I am a big fan of NFL 2K5, but it is honestly pretty good and fun. Not greatly different than prior years of Madden, but good anyway. Graphics are basically the same as last year's version (which are vastly inferior to 2K5's graphics). Gameplay is better than last year's version because they have taken the DB's superpowers away. (In last year's version the DB's seemed to be all over the field, and receivers almost never got open). I'm not sure that I like the QB vision addition, which is the big change this year. It is very hard to press all the necessary buttons to set up a play before the time clock runs out, and manually moving a QB's vision is a bit awkward (you only can press so many buttons at a time). The good thing about it is that it makes it much more difficult to make ridiculous passes that are directly on target. (Such as throwing a deep pass directly to a reveiver while simultaneously running backwards towards your own end zone). However, I think the game would have been better if they just figured QB vision into the game statistics (making passes thrown in a direction far away from where the QB could actually be looking more difficult or impossible to make-- such as the running one direction while magically passing backwards over your left shoulder impossible to make). Some QB's could have been allowed greater ability to throw on the run or to the opposite side of the field than others, especially if they have not stopped to set their feet. That would have been much better for the gameplay in my opinion rather than manually moving a stick around and then having to move your finger to press the receiver button (which just takes too much time to do in the face of a blitz). If you love football and need to have the latest updated rosters to play with, then definitely buy this game. If you are willing to play with last year's roster, NFL 2K5 is still the better football game. I am definitely going to still play 2K5 even though I have this year's Madden. Madden is good, but not good enough to allow me to let 2K5 go into its sadly premature retirement. Expand
  14. Will
    Jul 1, 2006
    8
    Once i got used to the new passing feature i cant go back to the old one. The only problem i have with it is when friends come over, they dont have the time to get used to the new feature so they have to use the old one which gives them an advantage of seeing where my qb's eyes are. It makes quick games wiht friends hard to play bc i am too used to the new way but it is too complex Once i got used to the new passing feature i cant go back to the old one. The only problem i have with it is when friends come over, they dont have the time to get used to the new feature so they have to use the old one which gives them an advantage of seeing where my qb's eyes are. It makes quick games wiht friends hard to play bc i am too used to the new way but it is too complex for my friends to learn in a few minutes. Anyway i still love this game and have probably logged over 100 hours into it. I will definately get the 07 when it comes out. Expand
  15. Brent
    Aug 19, 2005
    8
    All the low ratings are from guys just pissed EA bought the rights to the NFL. Sure, it sucks, but rating a game low just because of it isn't going to change anything. Instead of whining all summer, I decided to actually play a football game so I bought Madden, and I must say it is better than 2k5. Yep, I said it, better than 2k5.
  16. David
    Sep 13, 2005
    8
    Some of you people need to accept reality. EA didn't bully anyone. EA didn't buy anything out. The NFL decided to sell an exlcusive right this year. It went to the highest bidder. EA was the highest bidder. And think about this, EA is a pretty wealthy company right? What's ESPN, bankrupt? You telling me than a major network with how many freakin channels, broadcasting Some of you people need to accept reality. EA didn't bully anyone. EA didn't buy anything out. The NFL decided to sell an exlcusive right this year. It went to the highest bidder. EA was the highest bidder. And think about this, EA is a pretty wealthy company right? What's ESPN, bankrupt? You telling me than a major network with how many freakin channels, broadcasting rights, their own exclusive rights, and College Gameday couldn't compete cash-wise and with EA? Please. If ESPN had wanted it that badly, ESPN could have had it. As for the game. Pretty good overall, not perfect. Biggest complaint, lack of quality rosters and/or updates. You can go through and find 3rd and 4th round picks that aren't even on the roster. Its now Sept. 13th and there still isn't even an official update. Still stuck with the 8/8/05 roster. EA needs to get with it. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 90
    Recent releases have seen plenty of tweaks, but they merely nudged the gameplay. This year's implementation of a quarterback's cone of vision really changes things by rethinking the foundations of passing the ball.
  2. 95
    Once again, EA and Madden manage to do the impossible: They made us fall head-over-cleats in love with this frigging game all over again.
  3. Instead of resting on its laurels, the Madden franchise takes a big step forward with Madden 06.