User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 9 out of 40

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OreceG.
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    This is the best Madden ever it is better than Madden 05 who ever rate this game low must be smoking crack. I like the graphic even my little brother T.V. like this game my favorite is the ATL Falcons they are going to make it to the championship oh yea did yall check out how u can create your player it i tight The defense is better than Madden 05 well adios.
  2. BrocK.
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome the tremendous improvment in the offensive is just the topping on the cake for this monstrous franchise called madden nfl football.
  3. Brian
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Best madden ever.
  4. Ron
    Aug 9, 2005
    7
    Gameplay is average, but I think the graphics suck!
  5. nickl.
    Sep 5, 2005
    6
    This game isnt that great.....Quarterback vision is horrible if you have the on and pass it to someone else its an interception, i really don't like that part of the game it just makes it no fun at all. Also wheres the roster?! K.J Harris from WVU went pro well at least i thought and Brock Berlin from Miami neither one are even on the game thats pretty pathetic. Finally nfl superstar This game isnt that great.....Quarterback vision is horrible if you have the on and pass it to someone else its an interception, i really don't like that part of the game it just makes it no fun at all. Also wheres the roster?! K.J Harris from WVU went pro well at least i thought and Brock Berlin from Miami neither one are even on the game thats pretty pathetic. Finally nfl superstar thats not even fun its so boring theres nothing to do on it except play boring games which everyone always wins.... So overall they could do alot better! NCAA Football 06 is way better then madden. Expand
  6. DParrott
    Mar 9, 2006
    5
    Some amusing comments indeed. I was a dedicated Madden player for many years. But once EA decided to keep enabling online for PS and not the xbox despite the far superior XBL network I quit buying. Then I finally begrudgingly bought 2K5. What an eyeopener. There was not one thing that wasn't better than anything Madden ever had. I am certain that EA made all these exclusive rights Some amusing comments indeed. I was a dedicated Madden player for many years. But once EA decided to keep enabling online for PS and not the xbox despite the far superior XBL network I quit buying. Then I finally begrudgingly bought 2K5. What an eyeopener. There was not one thing that wasn't better than anything Madden ever had. I am certain that EA made all these exclusive rights deals so they can continue with mediocrity with no competition. There model has been for many years now make a pretty good game that catches the eye and plays nicely. Then EVERY year update a couple things add some fluff and resell it as the next years version. Even when I did play Madden I would only buy when there was actually innovation or something added that would actually justify buying the same game. EA made there name with Madden and has done nothing but crap on all its loyal fans since. EA in there present form and business practice are bad for gaming period. There is a reason why monopolies are often illegal. EA at the present time has monopolized the NFL with the exclusive rights deals so avid NFL fans/gamers will buy there product as there is no option. If they had competition EA would obviously have to try harder something there work ethic seems not to allow. Expand
  7. BryanM.
    Oct 30, 2007
    1
    Not a big fan of this game. I rather play it on the 360 even though the 360 version seems sucky it is a lot better then this version and I must admite I was surprized when they relized 07 for this system too. but that is only because 06 on the 360 stunk and they wanted money from people. just get 07 madden if you must have a xbox football madden.
  8. Faigenistic
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    Great Game. Wish you could use the the R Trigger + Receiver button to pick your vision pre-snap while using the 2005 Madden controls though.
  9. BrandonM.
    Aug 18, 2005
    9
    Yeah I think EA could have done a better job at creating a better all around game, but overall Madden 06 tops anything ever made. ESPN 2K5 by far beat out madden as far as presentation goes and thats pretty much it...PRESENTATION Madden's gameplay is much smoother and realistic. And to the the guy that hasn't scored under 56 points yet, try taking it off the madden for toddlers Yeah I think EA could have done a better job at creating a better all around game, but overall Madden 06 tops anything ever made. ESPN 2K5 by far beat out madden as far as presentation goes and thats pretty much it...PRESENTATION Madden's gameplay is much smoother and realistic. And to the the guy that hasn't scored under 56 points yet, try taking it off the madden for toddlers level... Thank You. Expand
  10. BillW.
    Aug 22, 2005
    7
    I've never been a fan of the Madden series, preferring what seemed to me a more realistic game in the ESPN series, but since the NFL sold their rights to the highest bidder, I had to try my football through Madden this year. Many of my gripes with past editions are still here. First of all, the graphics are not as strong as the 2K series and neither is the rest of the presentation. I I've never been a fan of the Madden series, preferring what seemed to me a more realistic game in the ESPN series, but since the NFL sold their rights to the highest bidder, I had to try my football through Madden this year. Many of my gripes with past editions are still here. First of all, the graphics are not as strong as the 2K series and neither is the rest of the presentation. I can overlook that, but the biggest problems remain in the gameplay and its lack of realism. Examples: 90% of the time a receiver has a step on the db, and the pass is lobbed in there, the db jumps up and knocks it away from abover the receiver's head. Ok, this can happen occasionally but honestly, most of the time in the NFL, all a receiver is going to get is a step on the corner, and a well thrown pass will get in there. How does a db make up that step by jumping in the air and swinging his arm? Another example: the way to complete passes is to throw the ball high and underneath to the receiver who 90% of the time will outjump the db for it. This makes tight ends and tall receivers nearly indefensable by db's. Again, this happens in the NFL occassionally but not at this rate. Another example: speed is not represented on the d-line. I play the Colts and Dwight Freeney, the best edge rusher in the league, gets pancaked half of the plays and can't beat the tackle to the corner. On the other hand, I can use power with the interior tackles to drive back and get sacks at a much higher rate than the ends, so Freeney is not my first option as a pass-rusher because he isn't powerful and his speed isn't well represented. Another example: it seems the o-line will either give you 30 seconds to throw the ball or none. There isn't much in-between. Because of this, the effectiveness of blitzing is highly over-represented. Many times, if you don't bring multiple extra defenders on blitzes, you will never get to the qb, while calling all out blitzes is way too effective and you don't get burned nearly as often as you should. Another example: it often seems easier to complete a long throw by just throwing high and underneath rather than shorter routes which the db's react to better than the receivers. Why throw short passes when there's a much higher chance of being intercepted and you complete a lower percentage than your plays that are deep throws. This is the complete opposite to the short, precision passing that rules the NFL these days. I also tire of having my receivers chased down from behind by safeties. At a higher difficulty, I have never outrun a defender in any of the games. The difficulty settings are way out of line as well. At Pro-level, I scored 50 points against the Ravens, and their great defense. Bumping up one level to all-pro difficulty, I scored 3. So, I either win with ease, or get bored out of my mind. I very much wanted to enjoy Madden this year because it was my only choice, and I have to have my football game, but at this point, I'm considering taking the time to try and update rosters myself on the old 2K game. Madden is just too unrealistic and has too many little bugs in it that grate on your nerves. I'm not mad at EA, they made a wise business decision; I'm mad at the NFL for putting it to the fans and forcing me to play an inferior game. Madden is fine if you like arcade-style football, but it's horrible as a football-sim and is just the same, recycled gameplay and graphical experience regardless of the little tweaks and new features they add each year. Expand
  11. joshm
    Sep 2, 2005
    9
    Excellent game, stop crying cuz madden is better and espn sucked newayz, and then they go and buy out mvp baseball which was about 600 times better just when mvp added things so unbelievable espn would take till 2100 to come up with them alone and now they can develop those ideas and baseball gmaes will nrv be the same w/o ea's great ideas.
  12. MattW.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing and the graphics are sweet it blows any other football game out of the water.
  13. Andy
    Aug 11, 2005
    5
    I am so disappointed with this game. The thing I was looking forward to the most, Superstar Mode, is to glitchy to have much fun with. The passing cone effectively forces you to play with Manning or a created player with awesome attributes, or you take about 8 sacks a game. Even with all that, it is far to easy to score. I haven't scored under 56 yet. Very disappointing game.
  14. JohnK.
    Aug 11, 2005
    8
    I wanted to hate this game because I am a big fan of NFL 2K5, but it is honestly pretty good and fun. Not greatly different than prior years of Madden, but good anyway. Graphics are basically the same as last year's version (which are vastly inferior to 2K5's graphics). Gameplay is better than last year's version because they have taken the DB's superpowers away. (In I wanted to hate this game because I am a big fan of NFL 2K5, but it is honestly pretty good and fun. Not greatly different than prior years of Madden, but good anyway. Graphics are basically the same as last year's version (which are vastly inferior to 2K5's graphics). Gameplay is better than last year's version because they have taken the DB's superpowers away. (In last year's version the DB's seemed to be all over the field, and receivers almost never got open). I'm not sure that I like the QB vision addition, which is the big change this year. It is very hard to press all the necessary buttons to set up a play before the time clock runs out, and manually moving a QB's vision is a bit awkward (you only can press so many buttons at a time). The good thing about it is that it makes it much more difficult to make ridiculous passes that are directly on target. (Such as throwing a deep pass directly to a reveiver while simultaneously running backwards towards your own end zone). However, I think the game would have been better if they just figured QB vision into the game statistics (making passes thrown in a direction far away from where the QB could actually be looking more difficult or impossible to make-- such as the running one direction while magically passing backwards over your left shoulder impossible to make). Some QB's could have been allowed greater ability to throw on the run or to the opposite side of the field than others, especially if they have not stopped to set their feet. That would have been much better for the gameplay in my opinion rather than manually moving a stick around and then having to move your finger to press the receiver button (which just takes too much time to do in the face of a blitz). If you love football and need to have the latest updated rosters to play with, then definitely buy this game. If you are willing to play with last year's roster, NFL 2K5 is still the better football game. I am definitely going to still play 2K5 even though I have this year's Madden. Madden is good, but not good enough to allow me to let 2K5 go into its sadly premature retirement. Expand
  15. SexyBoy
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    Honestly, i've always liked the NFL2K games more than the Maddens. Last year's Madden was garbage, but this year's Madden really actually feels like football. Well done EA. =o)
  16. DaneL.
    Aug 11, 2005
    3
    I gave this such a low rating because frankly (and from what I've read I'm not alone in this) I'm tired of the minimum effort Madden has put into their games year after year. I'm even more furious that EA screwed over the ESPN 2k5 which still proves a superior football experience (despite their touted new cumbersome precision passing crapola). 2K5 really made you feel I gave this such a low rating because frankly (and from what I've read I'm not alone in this) I'm tired of the minimum effort Madden has put into their games year after year. I'm even more furious that EA screwed over the ESPN 2k5 which still proves a superior football experience (despite their touted new cumbersome precision passing crapola). 2K5 really made you feel like you were playing a broadcast game with great cutaways (unlike M-06's almost comical running and tackling animations) and the half time recaps never gets boring when you've executed some nice plays during the game. You'd think the guys at EA would take a long hard look at why this upstart sent their lawyers scrambling to use their monopolistic (is that a word?) muscle to squeeze out the competition by buying the NFL exclusive license. I guess it's just a further sign of their inferiority ( Collapse
  17. FPSMaster
    Aug 10, 2005
    6
    Seriously, this is the same game we played on PS1 in 1996. The graphics are slightly cleaner and the animations are a little smoother, but that's it. If all the retards would stop sucking up to this franchise for being the way it is, maybe sometime in the next 10 console gens EA might decide to improve the franchise to at least be as good as last year's ESPN game and look as Seriously, this is the same game we played on PS1 in 1996. The graphics are slightly cleaner and the animations are a little smoother, but that's it. If all the retards would stop sucking up to this franchise for being the way it is, maybe sometime in the next 10 console gens EA might decide to improve the franchise to at least be as good as last year's ESPN game and look as good as maybe Backyard Football. The way it stands, everytime another dumb, casual gamer buys these games they are just telling EA to keep giving them the same game every single year while only adding more gimmicks that have absolutely nothing to do with ANY sports game and letting everything else go. I just can't believe human beings can be so dumb. You piss and moan for something better, then you pay another $50 for something you owned 10 years ago. It was called Gmaeday '96. I think a box of dog**** is smarter than the people that keep giving EA $50 a year just for another roster update and first-gen PS2 graphics. I won't buy the game, but it hurts me as much as the next guy when people keep giving this monopoly more money to buy out more developers and make even more games as bad as this washed-up franchise. I can't imagine how bad this series will keep getting next gen since EA knows most that buy this franchise are idiots anyway and won't know the difference. You'd have to be an idiot to play this series to begin with. Not to mention it's the only one now, but that's just because EA didn't want to have to pony up and beat the better competition. And I can't imagine how much dumber the "supposed" most intelligent species on Earth will get next-gen when this series finally looks like an Xbox 1 game and everyone raves about how good it looks. I've got new for you. ESPN looked better last year than the new Madden does on Xbox 360. I don't really think people could be any dumber though. Giving EA more money is about as dumb as selling your brain for Advil. Why not give EA your blood and organs while you're at it. It's no dumber than buying another $50 roster update and making the rest of us have to pay for it in the long run. Get it for PS2 for God's sake and stop making the entire Xbox audience look as casual and uninformed as the entire PS2 crowd. We're supposed to be the ones that made the smart choice to get away from these Sony-like developers, then you guys basilally go out on a limb to make Xbox have as bad of a library of games as the fony PS2. You idiots that buy this will understand what I'm talking about when in 2 years every single game has the EA logo on it. EVERYTHING will play as bad as these Madden games then. And it'll be your fault, not the ones of us that were smart enough to see through EA's brainwashing. But we'll be the ones that pay for it since you guys that play this series aren't serious gamers begin with. You can't be if you play this garbage year after year. Expand
  18. JamesD.
    Aug 15, 2005
    0
    Man. EA has screwed us over this time. Not only did they produce their same old mediocre game, but theve prevented the release of a FAR SUPERIOR game (ESPN NFL 2K6). The new passing system is cumbersome at best. EA didn't even bother to make the menu systems move smoothly. The graphics are a joke. The halftime stat screen that comes up should demonstrate to you how much time went Man. EA has screwed us over this time. Not only did they produce their same old mediocre game, but theve prevented the release of a FAR SUPERIOR game (ESPN NFL 2K6). The new passing system is cumbersome at best. EA didn't even bother to make the menu systems move smoothly. The graphics are a joke. The halftime stat screen that comes up should demonstrate to you how much time went into this horrible game. Football games are supposed to get better every year, Madden seems to have learned nothing in their over a decade of making football games. Perhaps the most pathetic thing is, the ESPN football game from last year is infinitely better than the Madden game from this year. I give EA a big fat 0 for effort and and big fat 0 for screwing all of us over by unscrupulously eliminating the competition. I think I am done buying EA games because they obviously feel they have nothing left to prove. They are interested in gimmicks and the bottom line. Im selling mine back before I throw it out the window. If you liked ESPN NFL from last year, SAVE YOUR MONEY....buy this game and you will regret it. The best football game on the market was released last year...if you don't own it...but it, you will see what all of us ESPN(ers) love so much about it. Expand
  19. SeymourButts
    Aug 26, 2005
    5
    BORING! This game just isn
  20. EddieG.
    Aug 5, 2005
    6
    Once again EA does nothing but , stick it to the gaming community. It is the same game as 04, 03, 02, with just alittle tweak here and there, to keep the fanboy, coming back for more. And you know you can count on the ass-kissing media reviewers, to gush all over this dated, franchise.---Can't upset your biggest advertiser. Hell, Madden is just like a pig, no matter how your dress it Once again EA does nothing but , stick it to the gaming community. It is the same game as 04, 03, 02, with just alittle tweak here and there, to keep the fanboy, coming back for more. And you know you can count on the ass-kissing media reviewers, to gush all over this dated, franchise.---Can't upset your biggest advertiser. Hell, Madden is just like a pig, no matter how your dress it up, it is still a pig!!!---Go Away EA!!!!!! Expand
  21. [Anonymous]
    Aug 8, 2005
    0
    As someone who isn't particulourly into sports, I still decided to try this game out because it was highly reccomended by friends. Keep in mind that I am judging this based on gameplay, not the accuracy of the rosters and such. This is the same game as one of the NFL Blitz games I played on the N64 years back, which leads me to beleive that the other football games since then have As someone who isn't particulourly into sports, I still decided to try this game out because it was highly reccomended by friends. Keep in mind that I am judging this based on gameplay, not the accuracy of the rosters and such. This is the same game as one of the NFL Blitz games I played on the N64 years back, which leads me to beleive that the other football games since then have been as well. Yeah, maybe the teams are updated and there are a few small improvements, but is that really worth 50 more dollars, not to mention hours of your time? Only if your a huge football fan who can't stand the stats and rosters being different. I don't understand why anyone else would waste their money on this. If people had any common sense, they'd ask for one game that allowed you to download updated teams and stats every year for maybe five dollars, because that's the only thing that really changes. It is also unfair to developers who put effort into creating new and original games, that the reviews and sales favor these repetetive sports games. Maybe Madden 2006 doesn't deserve a zero for quality, but it sure as hell does for being almost the same game as the previous installments in the franchise. And yes, I know this review has tons of bad spelling. Expand
  22. IanC.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    To Anonymous, why are you even posting? You don't like sports, you think Madden is like Blitz.....enough said. Post on a Piccachu game Nerd and leave sports games to the peple that know them. And in closing about the game: The game has been enhanced in many levels, whether it be the new passing (precision control), the new animations (which look great), the Much improved running game To Anonymous, why are you even posting? You don't like sports, you think Madden is like Blitz.....enough said. Post on a Piccachu game Nerd and leave sports games to the peple that know them. And in closing about the game: The game has been enhanced in many levels, whether it be the new passing (precision control), the new animations (which look great), the Much improved running game (being able to run inside the tackles and break long runs) and the ability to spawn a franchise and franchise games and take them online (VERY surprised that this has not yet been mentioned). It appears to me that most people who are disgruntled with this game are mad that EA has gotten the license. Although I can understand that people are upset about this, the game should be graded on its merits and not because people are disgruntled. Get over it move on and play the BEST Madden game yet. Expand
  23. AaronF.
    Sep 1, 2005
    6
    I am considering not even buying a next genration consle because i went out bought a dreamcast after seeing 2k video games did not intrest me until i tried madden its not bad you dont get that same felling as 2k you just dont understand how mad i really am.feel meFELL ME!!!!!!!
  24. Chris
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    BLAH BLAH BLAH you have to give the passing some time once u can get it down u will like it ten times more then 05 i can finally pass the ball over or under thrown depending on the safeties and backs or Lb's its great... do you all remember 2005 every play was 50 yd gain thats not football.... scoring 4 td's a game and 400 yds is not football... this game depicts the qb's BLAH BLAH BLAH you have to give the passing some time once u can get it down u will like it ten times more then 05 i can finally pass the ball over or under thrown depending on the safeties and backs or Lb's its great... do you all remember 2005 every play was 50 yd gain thats not football.... scoring 4 td's a game and 400 yds is not football... this game depicts the qb's awareness makes you appreciate usuing a better qb... and forthe rookies that you are all arguing that are not in the game ... well the game was released before they even made the final roster hello wake up... every1 hqas something to argue about why not clap for the makers for once this game is the best yet out of the madden series hats off to you guys.... Expand
  25. Will
    Jul 1, 2006
    8
    Once i got used to the new passing feature i cant go back to the old one. The only problem i have with it is when friends come over, they dont have the time to get used to the new feature so they have to use the old one which gives them an advantage of seeing where my qb's eyes are. It makes quick games wiht friends hard to play bc i am too used to the new way but it is too complex Once i got used to the new passing feature i cant go back to the old one. The only problem i have with it is when friends come over, they dont have the time to get used to the new feature so they have to use the old one which gives them an advantage of seeing where my qb's eyes are. It makes quick games wiht friends hard to play bc i am too used to the new way but it is too complex for my friends to learn in a few minutes. Anyway i still love this game and have probably logged over 100 hours into it. I will definately get the 07 when it comes out. Expand
  26. Zach
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    Best game ever.
  27. Roger
    Aug 11, 2005
    0
    Glad I only rented this game. If EA didn't have a monopoly on NFL football games there might be a need for improvement. But they do have a monopoly, so there you go.
  28. R.Shaff68
    Aug 12, 2005
    2
    Crappy graphics...no challenges...no replays...no control over 90% of your forth down plays...this game was a forced buy since the monopoly took over....trading mine in and will stick with 2K5.
  29. Brent
    Aug 19, 2005
    8
    All the low ratings are from guys just pissed EA bought the rights to the NFL. Sure, it sucks, but rating a game low just because of it isn't going to change anything. Instead of whining all summer, I decided to actually play a football game so I bought Madden, and I must say it is better than 2k5. Yep, I said it, better than 2k5.
  30. DerekB.
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    Great game slants dont work.
  31. JohnH.
    Aug 23, 2005
    3
    The new passing game just makes the game less fun. Yeah, it might be more realistic, but it detracts from the overall gameplay.
  32. MikeK.
    Aug 27, 2005
    6
    Ugggg! The madden series is still about two or three years away from where the 2K series left off. This game just doesn't compare to the SEGA series in innovation. For example, Madden 06's "new" Percision Passing mode came out for the Sega series back in 1999 and was called Maximum passing. Sega wasn't even the first as it came out before that in 989's Gameday series Ugggg! The madden series is still about two or three years away from where the 2K series left off. This game just doesn't compare to the SEGA series in innovation. For example, Madden 06's "new" Percision Passing mode came out for the Sega series back in 1999 and was called Maximum passing. Sega wasn't even the first as it came out before that in 989's Gameday series and was called Total Control Passing. The graphics can't even be placed beside the 2K series latest. Possibly 2K3 maybe. One look at the intro by a 2K series fan will make him or her wince with maybe...amusement. The play selection screen is still the same old "3 plays" menu which lets your competion guess on your play 33% of the time. And as far as I know so far, Madden does not offer a bluffing feature like 2K did. The new QB vision....interesting.....could be fun...not sure yet. The controls are decent, not too hard to get used to. Better special team features than 2K had. But overall, at least 2 years out from being par with 2K5. If you are a true football fan like me, either buy it or buy some Starting Lineup action figures and act the plays out on your own. Good Luck! Expand
  33. David
    Sep 13, 2005
    8
    Some of you people need to accept reality. EA didn't bully anyone. EA didn't buy anything out. The NFL decided to sell an exlcusive right this year. It went to the highest bidder. EA was the highest bidder. And think about this, EA is a pretty wealthy company right? What's ESPN, bankrupt? You telling me than a major network with how many freakin channels, broadcasting Some of you people need to accept reality. EA didn't bully anyone. EA didn't buy anything out. The NFL decided to sell an exlcusive right this year. It went to the highest bidder. EA was the highest bidder. And think about this, EA is a pretty wealthy company right? What's ESPN, bankrupt? You telling me than a major network with how many freakin channels, broadcasting rights, their own exclusive rights, and College Gameday couldn't compete cash-wise and with EA? Please. If ESPN had wanted it that badly, ESPN could have had it. As for the game. Pretty good overall, not perfect. Biggest complaint, lack of quality rosters and/or updates. You can go through and find 3rd and 4th round picks that aren't even on the roster. Its now Sept. 13th and there still isn't even an official update. Still stuck with the 8/8/05 roster. EA needs to get with it. Expand
  34. TheSpoiler
    Sep 19, 2005
    2
    Madden is bad because of these simple reasons... 1. Strafe catching still money in the game... all you have to do is send your guy on a comeback route.. gun the ball high and guess what.. he'll catch it about 90% of the time. 2. EA was stupid and didn't figure that when a team is in a 2RB formation (besides weak I and near) that the RB will have the R1 over his head on all Madden is bad because of these simple reasons... 1. Strafe catching still money in the game... all you have to do is send your guy on a comeback route.. gun the ball high and guess what.. he'll catch it about 90% of the time. 2. EA was stupid and didn't figure that when a team is in a 2RB formation (besides weak I and near) that the RB will have the R1 over his head on all running plays.. and the L1 over his head on all passing plays! Obviously people online have found this very helpful as all you see now is people audible-ing the second a team goes to line up. 3. Post corner routes are too money.. even if you have coverage designated strictly for the spot you know where the ball is going... they still catch it! 4. Outside counters seem to work a little too well. 5. QB causes nothing but inadvertant pump fakes and sacks... its no good.. I honestly dont think Peyton Manning's eyes see 270 degrees and his little brothers eyes only see a 15 degree window.. what was Eli puff puff passin' before the game or something? There about 10 more things I could list here but its not worth the effort... if you have bought this game.. SELL IT for whatever amount of money you can get... if you havent purchased it.. pat yourself on the back... and go spend your 50 dollars on something else. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Recent releases have seen plenty of tweaks, but they merely nudged the gameplay. This year's implementation of a quarterback's cone of vision really changes things by rethinking the foundations of passing the ball.
  2. 95
    Once again, EA and Madden manage to do the impossible: They made us fall head-over-cleats in love with this frigging game all over again.
  3. Instead of resting on its laurels, the Madden franchise takes a big step forward with Madden 06.