User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HarryA.
    Aug 14, 2003
    3
    Great game! But no Xbox live,so i leave it into a shop...
  2. JeffA.
    Sep 5, 2003
    3
    The graphics are weak. The menus are old. The commentary is the same as last year as well. The playcallingstat screen takes up 50% of the screen leaving a small area for most replays. Owner mode and Playmaker aren't enough to make this a good game.
  3. Wild
    Sep 7, 2003
    2
    EA sports, ITS IN THE GAME, needs to be changed to EA sports, ITS STILL THE SAME!!! Ok, we have ower mode and playmaker(which was done last year by other games, but not quite as involved). Where is the online play that we have all been wanting?? Where is a new graphics engine?? Why does the computer make comebacks almost every game that are most impossible. Why can't we import draft EA sports, ITS IN THE GAME, needs to be changed to EA sports, ITS STILL THE SAME!!! Ok, we have ower mode and playmaker(which was done last year by other games, but not quite as involved). Where is the online play that we have all been wanting?? Where is a new graphics engine?? Why does the computer make comebacks almost every game that are most impossible. Why can't we import draft classes from NCAA 2004? EA SPORTS SUCK!!! EA is trying to sell you a football game!! SEGA's ESPN is trying to make you part of one!! Expand
  4. OliverM.
    Nov 13, 2003
    1
    A big lesson learned here - don't just pick up a game because it gets good scores or because a meathead friend recommends it (John - thanks mate). If you like American football, no doubt you will flip over this. For me, playing this game is like trying to steer a herd of cattle around a field. Nothing but sides of beef with arms, legs and body armour hitting each other and finding A big lesson learned here - don't just pick up a game because it gets good scores or because a meathead friend recommends it (John - thanks mate). If you like American football, no doubt you will flip over this. For me, playing this game is like trying to steer a herd of cattle around a field. Nothing but sides of beef with arms, legs and body armour hitting each other and finding feeble reasons to put hands on their team-mates in inexcuseable ways. It's a typically American past-time though isn't it - all out violence and whoever is bigger wins the day. What happened to talking things through, eh? I'm sure if the Dallas Cowboys and Chicago Bears got their heads together they could come to some satisfactory solution which would avoid putting on helmets and smashing each other about. Or maybe (as my buddy John) they just like doing things that way. And what's all that nonsensical jargon about then? Pre-snaps, wrap tackles? Oh well. I'm off to pre-snap John's neck and wrap tackle the game disc around his head. Expand
  5. MaddenSucks
    Nov 3, 2003
    2
    This game is no comparison to ESPN football. ESPN football gets you into the game, madden makes you look like your 10 miles away from the action. The players look like ants compared to the rest of the field. They also randomly pull off superhuman interceptions and catches. The control shceme could also be much better. Madden gets good reviews because its been around, fopefully that willThis game is no comparison to ESPN football. ESPN football gets you into the game, madden makes you look like your 10 miles away from the action. The players look like ants compared to the rest of the field. They also randomly pull off superhuman interceptions and catches. The control shceme could also be much better. Madden gets good reviews because its been around, fopefully that will change next year. Expand
  6. VicM.
    Sep 24, 2003
    2
    Madden i have no clue why anyone would get this game, this is one of the worst football games out this year. Madden just is full of flaws, from gameplay to the announcers. The game you should get your hands on is ESPN NFL 2K4,this game rocks and rules, game play is great the whole game is great. 5 of my friends and I are having a tournament, we tried ESPN NFL, Fever 2004 and Madden 2004, Madden i have no clue why anyone would get this game, this is one of the worst football games out this year. Madden just is full of flaws, from gameplay to the announcers. The game you should get your hands on is ESPN NFL 2K4,this game rocks and rules, game play is great the whole game is great. 5 of my friends and I are having a tournament, we tried ESPN NFL, Fever 2004 and Madden 2004, there is no question to which one we picked, ESPN NFL is the one. We came up with these scores between us 6. ESPN NFL - 96 Fever 2004 - 75 Madden 2004 - 55 Madden just looks and feels too not real, Fever is ok, but still a distant second. If you're going to buy a football game this season get ESPN NFL 2K4, you won't regret it. Madden rides on all the hype, but that i believe is coming to an end. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Aurally and visually stunning, Madden 2004 is easily the best re-creation of digital football ever made. [Oct/Nov 2003, p.94]
  2. 100
    Looking for more depth? Take the owner's seat and relocate your team, set concession stand prices in your new stadium and hire your coaching staff. Ditka: Send us your resume. [Sept 2003, p.33]
  3. 95
    Nearly every facet of the game is flawless, truly capturing the feel of running and playing in the NFL.