User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinW.
    Feb 21, 2005
    9
    It's a good game, but the graphics is lagging behind the rest.
  2. MatthewH.
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    THIS GAME ROCKS!!!!
  3. JayZ.
    Jul 19, 2004
    8
    Madden. The Big Daddy of football video games. Pretty good game in general, just lacking perfection. EA needs to work on these Goddamn bugs. Examples: While attempting to deflect a pass, my corne's hands often passes RIGHT THROUGH the ball. Also, while attempting field goals, the long snapper's ass like...gets thinner, then bigger. It's quite annoying. This games strong Madden. The Big Daddy of football video games. Pretty good game in general, just lacking perfection. EA needs to work on these Goddamn bugs. Examples: While attempting to deflect a pass, my corne's hands often passes RIGHT THROUGH the ball. Also, while attempting field goals, the long snapper's ass like...gets thinner, then bigger. It's quite annoying. This games strong point has got to be Franchise Mode. Especially since you can actually improve your players in Training Camp. I think the Hot Route thing is overrated just a tad. I don't use it that often. Great game, EA just has some work to do for '05. Collapse
  4. AndreB.
    May 14, 2004
    10
    This is the best football game ever.
  5. Paul
    May 14, 2004
    9
    A very fun game that is quite addictive.
  6. HenryS.
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    This game is AWESOME... the graphics are the man (as my friend would say) and the franchise mode is incredible... my favorite feature is the owner mode... this game totally crunches espn football cause that game sux..pce out home slice.
  7. CraigW.
    Apr 28, 2004
    10
    A great football game......10X's better than NFL Fever or ESPN Football....it has an amazing franchise mode including training camp and great states and news.
  8. MatthewG.
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    I wish there were a halftime show and areal record book, with all the record holders. But this game overall is a very good game.
  9. C.Jason
    Feb 3, 2004
    8
    Ok, don't get me wrong, Madden is a great game and incredibly addictive, but the computer's AI is almost unbelievably good at times. They almost always seem to know exactly who you're going to pass to and when you'll pass (the computer pretty much intercepts the ball about 70% of the time). Also, all of the computers players constantly break tackles and outrun even my Ok, don't get me wrong, Madden is a great game and incredibly addictive, but the computer's AI is almost unbelievably good at times. They almost always seem to know exactly who you're going to pass to and when you'll pass (the computer pretty much intercepts the ball about 70% of the time). Also, all of the computers players constantly break tackles and outrun even my fastest players. I've broken two X-Box controllers due to the frustration of playing this game at times. Expand
  10. JonG.
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    There's absolutely no way you can buy another game. Madden is it. It is the only game to stand the test of time. It is the only game that lets you control things on and off the feild. Simply put, It's the only football game there is.
  11. VictorP.
    Dec 9, 2003
    9
    This is by far the best football game ever made. It is like the years before it but with new features such as owner mode and playmaker control. The only reason this game did not receive a 10 is because it has no XBOX LIVE.
  12. EthanM.
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Best sports game ever.
  13. BrianK.
    Nov 13, 2003
    8
    Great game but no Xbox Live!!!!???!!!!
  14. OliverM.
    Nov 13, 2003
    1
    A big lesson learned here - don't just pick up a game because it gets good scores or because a meathead friend recommends it (John - thanks mate). If you like American football, no doubt you will flip over this. For me, playing this game is like trying to steer a herd of cattle around a field. Nothing but sides of beef with arms, legs and body armour hitting each other and finding A big lesson learned here - don't just pick up a game because it gets good scores or because a meathead friend recommends it (John - thanks mate). If you like American football, no doubt you will flip over this. For me, playing this game is like trying to steer a herd of cattle around a field. Nothing but sides of beef with arms, legs and body armour hitting each other and finding feeble reasons to put hands on their team-mates in inexcuseable ways. It's a typically American past-time though isn't it - all out violence and whoever is bigger wins the day. What happened to talking things through, eh? I'm sure if the Dallas Cowboys and Chicago Bears got their heads together they could come to some satisfactory solution which would avoid putting on helmets and smashing each other about. Or maybe (as my buddy John) they just like doing things that way. And what's all that nonsensical jargon about then? Pre-snaps, wrap tackles? Oh well. I'm off to pre-snap John's neck and wrap tackle the game disc around his head. Expand
  15. MaddenRules
    Nov 7, 2003
    10
    Madden 2004 is the best football game i have ever played the graphics are awsome they make me think i am part of the game. I can't wait for madden 2005 comes out!
  16. MaddenSucks
    Nov 3, 2003
    2
    This game is no comparison to ESPN football. ESPN football gets you into the game, madden makes you look like your 10 miles away from the action. The players look like ants compared to the rest of the field. They also randomly pull off superhuman interceptions and catches. The control shceme could also be much better. Madden gets good reviews because its been around, fopefully that willThis game is no comparison to ESPN football. ESPN football gets you into the game, madden makes you look like your 10 miles away from the action. The players look like ants compared to the rest of the field. They also randomly pull off superhuman interceptions and catches. The control shceme could also be much better. Madden gets good reviews because its been around, fopefully that will change next year. Expand
  17. WadeH.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    For anyone to say that these graphics suck, that this game is the same as the last.... I think they seriously need checked into a mental hospital... no one in their right mind would turn this game down, granted... ESPN NFL 2k4 is better in SOME areas, but over all.. Madden 2004 is the best avaliable football game on the market....
  18. NeilV.
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Sweet game! I'm more of an NFL2K person, though I haven't tried 2K4 yet, but this is my first Madden since 1998 and it hasn't disappointed.
  19. VicM.
    Sep 24, 2003
    2
    Madden i have no clue why anyone would get this game, this is one of the worst football games out this year. Madden just is full of flaws, from gameplay to the announcers. The game you should get your hands on is ESPN NFL 2K4,this game rocks and rules, game play is great the whole game is great. 5 of my friends and I are having a tournament, we tried ESPN NFL, Fever 2004 and Madden 2004, Madden i have no clue why anyone would get this game, this is one of the worst football games out this year. Madden just is full of flaws, from gameplay to the announcers. The game you should get your hands on is ESPN NFL 2K4,this game rocks and rules, game play is great the whole game is great. 5 of my friends and I are having a tournament, we tried ESPN NFL, Fever 2004 and Madden 2004, there is no question to which one we picked, ESPN NFL is the one. We came up with these scores between us 6. ESPN NFL - 96 Fever 2004 - 75 Madden 2004 - 55 Madden just looks and feels too not real, Fever is ok, but still a distant second. If you're going to buy a football game this season get ESPN NFL 2K4, you won't regret it. Madden rides on all the hype, but that i believe is coming to an end. Expand
  20. Wild
    Sep 7, 2003
    2
    EA sports, ITS IN THE GAME, needs to be changed to EA sports, ITS STILL THE SAME!!! Ok, we have ower mode and playmaker(which was done last year by other games, but not quite as involved). Where is the online play that we have all been wanting?? Where is a new graphics engine?? Why does the computer make comebacks almost every game that are most impossible. Why can't we import draft EA sports, ITS IN THE GAME, needs to be changed to EA sports, ITS STILL THE SAME!!! Ok, we have ower mode and playmaker(which was done last year by other games, but not quite as involved). Where is the online play that we have all been wanting?? Where is a new graphics engine?? Why does the computer make comebacks almost every game that are most impossible. Why can't we import draft classes from NCAA 2004? EA SPORTS SUCK!!! EA is trying to sell you a football game!! SEGA's ESPN is trying to make you part of one!! Expand
  21. EarlwinF.
    Sep 7, 2003
    8
    Madden 2004 is alright. I mean mini- camp is tight and the new owner mode is cool. But basically madden is still madden people just like the game because of the name. Graphics have improved since last year and the audience does not look so fake as usual. So overall Madden is a good game but no 10. so if you want to follow the trend go get madden but I recommend you try all the football Madden 2004 is alright. I mean mini- camp is tight and the new owner mode is cool. But basically madden is still madden people just like the game because of the name. Graphics have improved since last year and the audience does not look so fake as usual. So overall Madden is a good game but no 10. so if you want to follow the trend go get madden but I recommend you try all the football titles then make decide no the best. Expand
  22. JeffA.
    Sep 5, 2003
    3
    The graphics are weak. The menus are old. The commentary is the same as last year as well. The playcallingstat screen takes up 50% of the screen leaving a small area for most replays. Owner mode and Playmaker aren't enough to make this a good game.
  23. ChristopherL.
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    Awesome Game. I really like the Playmaker.
  24. JugsterJam
    Aug 22, 2003
    5
    When you look at the preview or demo reels, you can see the field or grass textures are brand new and look better. But when I got the game for xbox the only graphical improvement is that the player models are a bit shiny. When I look at the video on madden 101 I see the field textures for TB bucs are different than then the game for xbox (as I payed on TB stadium), it might be a ps2 When you look at the preview or demo reels, you can see the field or grass textures are brand new and look better. But when I got the game for xbox the only graphical improvement is that the player models are a bit shiny. When I look at the video on madden 101 I see the field textures for TB bucs are different than then the game for xbox (as I payed on TB stadium), it might be a ps2 version only. So the game looks basically exactly the same as last year. Expand
  25. BrandonnY.
    Aug 20, 2003
    9
    Madden 2003 game play was way better than 2004 but 2004 gives more control in franchise mode which gives 2004 the edge over all the other games out there. Go RAIDERS
  26. BobLegree
    Aug 18, 2003
    9
    Alot of improvements were made to an already great game. Downloadable roster updates would have been great. As usual madden football rules!!
  27. MatC.
    Aug 17, 2003
    9
    No *&#$)@ xbox live, and no 10's till it's there.
  28. AdamN.
    Aug 14, 2003
    7
    Madden is the best off the feild on the feild it's a different story. Every single NFL 2K game has better on feild conrtols than this game. The 2k's are soooooooo much smoother and than any madden game. Whether ur catching, throwing, or running nfl 2k,1,2,or 3 has better gameplay.Dont get me wrong it madden 2004 is a terrific game but its not as good as the 2k series which are Madden is the best off the feild on the feild it's a different story. Every single NFL 2K game has better on feild conrtols than this game. The 2k's are soooooooo much smoother and than any madden game. Whether ur catching, throwing, or running nfl 2k,1,2,or 3 has better gameplay.Dont get me wrong it madden 2004 is a terrific game but its not as good as the 2k series which are now the espn series when u actually get down to playing football. Expand
  29. HarryA.
    Aug 14, 2003
    3
    Great game! But no Xbox live,so i leave it into a shop...
  30. J.Pholly
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    What can i say, this is bar none the best football game ever. I have been playing for 2 days and i can't put it down. It has more of everything you love about Madden.
  31. TraciS.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    This Game ROCKS!!!! I bought this for my Husband CS and his friend RJ, and it is like watching REAL FOOTBALL, but they are controlling the game play. Go get this game!!!!
  32. JonB.
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    Holy **** this game kills I just tested it. I mean damn, Barry Sanders is the Man, Go Viks.
  33. BillT
    Aug 11, 2003
    9
    While Madden will always be top dog with me I have to say there is never perfection and always room for improvement. I have loved all the Madden games though, so even when Nfl 2k-billion comes out madden billion will be better.
  34. GaryL.
    Aug 10, 2003
    10
    I can't see how anyone can even compare Madden 2004 with NFL Fever or ESPN. This game is in a league of its own. OWNER mode sounds awesome. Set your ticket prices, food prices, merchandise, and Ive heard you can have fan appreciation days and give away free merchandise like team photos etc. Off-season mini-camps where you can actually improve your players ratings is also a great I can't see how anyone can even compare Madden 2004 with NFL Fever or ESPN. This game is in a league of its own. OWNER mode sounds awesome. Set your ticket prices, food prices, merchandise, and Ive heard you can have fan appreciation days and give away free merchandise like team photos etc. Off-season mini-camps where you can actually improve your players ratings is also a great improvement. Relocating your team and building a stadium from scratch that you can renovate at any time. This game is a 10+, it goes off the scale. Expand
  35. Garrett
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    Madden 2004 is going rock i cant wait to play the owner mode i hoe it is multiplayer.
  36. Matt
    Aug 4, 2003
    9
    Madden 2004 is gunna b tha best football game this year w/ all new francise mode and every thing and u can get your players better w/ traning camp. and by tha way BEARS RULE!!!!!!
  37. GeoffreyS.
    Aug 3, 2003
    6
    No Xbox Live!!!
  38. TimA.
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    I think this game is goin to be greater than all of the football games out this year that is why i bought i VIKINGS RULE !!!!!!
  39. NickM.
    Jul 29, 2003
    10
    This game should be awsome. Especially with the new owner mode and the new animations are great. I have got to experience them on the Ncaa game and i cant wait until Agust 14th.
  40. Greg
    Jul 20, 2003
    10
    how more real can you get beside them coming in ur house??
  41. JoeyJoJoShabadoo
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    Holy Shizzle! This gizzle is off the hizzle!
  42. ChrisS.
    Jul 12, 2003
    8
    I give this game only an eight. Madden has always had a great engine for football playing (Its my fave NFL game). The controls are responsive, and the AI reacts as they should. The big thing that is wrong with Madden is that the presentation is lacking. NFL 2k whatever always has a better presentation that makes it feel youre watching a broadcast. This is what Madden needs. Hell, they I give this game only an eight. Madden has always had a great engine for football playing (Its my fave NFL game). The controls are responsive, and the AI reacts as they should. The big thing that is wrong with Madden is that the presentation is lacking. NFL 2k whatever always has a better presentation that makes it feel youre watching a broadcast. This is what Madden needs. Hell, they need to update their player models too. Madden will always be a great game, but until they look at those areas, it could still be better. Expand
  43. Sean
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    Each year this game continues to get better except with 2002 though. This year is no different with new Owner Mode and now you can change things like blocking downfield and receiver routes to help you like in an actual game. NFL2K series will never get this realistic.
  44. BobT.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    Madden 2004 might be the best game ever.
  45. NasS.
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    Best game ever made by man.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Aurally and visually stunning, Madden 2004 is easily the best re-creation of digital football ever made. [Oct/Nov 2003, p.94]
  2. 100
    Looking for more depth? Take the owner's seat and relocate your team, set concession stand prices in your new stadium and hire your coaching staff. Ditka: Send us your resume. [Sept 2003, p.33]
  3. 95
    Nearly every facet of the game is flawless, truly capturing the feel of running and playing in the NFL.