User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonA.
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    This game is da truth plain n simple its too real.
  2. DanwiseG.
    Dec 5, 2004
    9
    Hmmmm well this is a franchise that has existed since many of you out there started playing video games. I am very impressed how this game keeps evolving over the years and seems to get better and better, while needing more and more time to learn the gameplay. The graphics look great. I am amazed at the character models and facial features of the players. It's amazing how real this Hmmmm well this is a franchise that has existed since many of you out there started playing video games. I am very impressed how this game keeps evolving over the years and seems to get better and better, while needing more and more time to learn the gameplay. The graphics look great. I am amazed at the character models and facial features of the players. It's amazing how real this game looks if you just glance at the screen. That said I would love to see the crowd look a little better. The new interactive fans are neat but when you see them and then 2d non interactive fans behind them the illusion of realism is lost. I would also like to see more animations in this game after big wins or big plays. The sound is pretty good. The soundtrack I think though takes a step back from last years big name artists but is still pretty good, especially since you can add your own tunes on the xbox, "please developers use this feature more in games". I really like the new radio commentary mode, but would like it to be less repetative in the future. The on field sounds contain every hit and grunt you could want while madden and michaels give pretty good commentary. The gameplay is where this game shines. The training mode is back but is the same as last years without any new additions. This eddition includes a deeper franchise mode and finnally your backups will not decay overtime if you don't use them. Players now have traits that change over time which gives a sense of realism to the game. Also a pregame gameplan has been added which helps you figure out your opponent. The in gameplay is fantastic execpt for one small flaw. The game sometimes seems to cheat and can become either too easy ot too hard at times. ALso the kicking meter HAS TO CHANGE. It is now very easy to get a 10 yard kick out of bounds on your kick off and get a penalty on the play, while getting a bad punt or field goal has now become so easy that it is just plain stupid. Next we come to the area of replayability. Here's where this game shines. This is one game that I would say is worth buying at the store. You can literally spend months in the franchise mode with all the options you can do. The addition of online play also can keep the game fresh. One final thought before I wrap this review up. I want to make a comment on how the NCCA football series has seemed to stay the same game while this game has excelled. SHAME ON YOU EA SPORTS for putting this gem of a game out while you put a college football game out that hasn't really changed in 4 years and contains tons of unrealistic jumped balls and interceptions. SHAME SHAME SHAME! But congrats on keeping madden one of the best games on the market. For the amazing graphics, average sound, awsome gameplay and frahchise mode, and unlimited replayability I give this edition of madden a 9 out of 10. Expand
  3. RickP.
    Aug 13, 2004
    9
    I'd really give it about a 9.5 if it was an option. This takes an already great game from 2004 and, while it isn't revolutionary by any means, the EA team did plug up most of the holes and glitches from last years offering and made this a must have for die hard pro football gamers.
  4. Uter
    Aug 15, 2004
    8
    I agree with rick. This is a good game and would be a 9 if espn didn't exist. Things it doesn't do quite as well as ESPN: 1.player animation 2.presentation 3.commentary 4.rewards 5.gameplay
  5. NeilV.
    Sep 5, 2004
    7
    This year's graphics are slightly better and the presentation is a bit slicker. For some reason though, it just doesn't feel like enough this year. The 2K series definitely surpassed Madden this year and for less than half the price. Madden's minicamp games are much more fun than 2K's extras, including the fairly cool Crib mode, but Madden overall feels old and is not This year's graphics are slightly better and the presentation is a bit slicker. For some reason though, it just doesn't feel like enough this year. The 2K series definitely surpassed Madden this year and for less than half the price. Madden's minicamp games are much more fun than 2K's extras, including the fairly cool Crib mode, but Madden overall feels old and is not as enjoyable as ESPN NFL2K5. Expand
  6. JimA.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    Awesome game! Very realistic. Lots of fun! Very addicting! Good graphics. Kicking game can be a bit tough though. People complain that Madden is mostly unchanged from year to year. Hey, I don't want Heather Locklear to change much either. When you're nearly perfect, don't do anything radically different. EA, please just keep making tweaks, don't do anything to ruin Awesome game! Very realistic. Lots of fun! Very addicting! Good graphics. Kicking game can be a bit tough though. People complain that Madden is mostly unchanged from year to year. Hey, I don't want Heather Locklear to change much either. When you're nearly perfect, don't do anything radically different. EA, please just keep making tweaks, don't do anything to ruin this great game! Collapse
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jul 28, 2004
    7
    ESPN is better and at a better value. Hope they do better next year.
  8. JaredR.
    Aug 12, 2004
    4
    Xbox Graphics are awful. Like ported PS2 Graphics. Gameplay is too stiff. QB can make perfect throws on the retreat. Not realistic. Running game is very stiff. Feels exactly like last year's game and the year before that. Not worth the $50 asking price at all. NFK2K5 is a far more enjoyable and realistic game. Not to mention $30 cheaper.
  9. RickN.
    Aug 13, 2004
    7
    Good game, just not as good as ESPN at any price. Would be a 9 if not for ESPN being out. The AI is smart because it cheats, the DB's glide to make up for being in the wrong position, and LB's 'rocket pack' meaning they can do 6 foot vertical leaps to grab picks. On the plus side, better franchise than ESPN.
  10. Ron
    Aug 13, 2004
    5
    This game is ok. I LOVE NCAA COLLEGE FOOTBALL 2005. That is as close to real football as I am going to get! Madden has so many flaws in it. Next Year, I will NOT buy Madden! I won't even go into all the flaws, but I WILL be trading this in for ANYTHING.....
  11. BobbyDigital
    Aug 17, 2004
    9
    My first football game since the NES (yeah it's been awhile) but I thoroughly enjoy it. Admittedly I did buy into the hype, but the play calling is very easy for novices, and I love franchise mode (especially for MVP Baseball 2004) Regardless, through in a deep game plus online and you have a must-have game.
  12. OgreLord
    Aug 20, 2004
    6
    Because of jagged graphics, I gave the game a 7. For $50, I give the game a 6. Get ESPN 2K5!
  13. JohnK.
    Aug 24, 2004
    8
    Very good game, but ESPN is better for less than half the price. Graphics and presentation are far superior in ESPN. Half time show and TV style presentation in ESPN far outshadow the "bare bones" and unchanged approach in Madden. I was a die-hard Madden fan before this year, but if you play both ESPN and Madden, you will see that ESPN is the superior game. Both games have some flaws, but Very good game, but ESPN is better for less than half the price. Graphics and presentation are far superior in ESPN. Half time show and TV style presentation in ESPN far outshadow the "bare bones" and unchanged approach in Madden. I was a die-hard Madden fan before this year, but if you play both ESPN and Madden, you will see that ESPN is the superior game. Both games have some flaws, but ESPN has less. Plus, this year's concentration on beefing up defenses doesn't do much for me. It forces much more conservative (read: boring, run-oriented, low scoring) game play, and often someone will win due to a defensive touchdown. It would be nice to say that you actually caused the INT, but 90% if INT's in the game just happen through the CPU, so the game just feels like you are winning through luck far too often. Expand
  14. WilliamP.
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    Awesome game much improved.
  15. VoodooDoll
    Aug 8, 2004
    5
    This is the same damn game we've been playing since they made the engine on PS2 in 2000/2001. The only reason this game is getting good reviews is because of the name and publisher. I don't see how rehashing the same dead-ass PS2 graphics engine and same old presentation keep getting this franchise rave reviews. ESPN is the better game this year hands down. I don't care if This is the same damn game we've been playing since they made the engine on PS2 in 2000/2001. The only reason this game is getting good reviews is because of the name and publisher. I don't see how rehashing the same dead-ass PS2 graphics engine and same old presentation keep getting this franchise rave reviews. ESPN is the better game this year hands down. I don't care if some people are hardcore Madden freaks or not, we need to stop spending money on the same turd year after year. It is the only way this series will ever be changed. At least Sega re-did this years game completely and didn't even worry about making much profit. Shame on you again EA. Expand
  16. OJSimpson
    Sep 2, 2004
    10
    Yo jc sickz u must b on crack. this game is in its 12 year and still better then ever. i have espn 2k5 and its great but not neary as smooth and great a madden 2005. i seriously suggest u buy this and espn but dont juss think becuase espn is 20 bucks its better cause at 50 bucks ur gettin ur moneys worth.
  17. AdamL.
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    Great game but ythey need to have more penalties and challenges in ranked games.
  18. AdamV.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    04' was better, but still great.
  19. Arthur
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    I've had this game since about when it came out, but I need to say something. This game is the best football you can play. Defensive playmaker makes this the only football game you can completely control your D. The offense is the most balanced it has ever been. All you EA haters out there, try this game and you will never go back to the 2k series.
  20. RandyY.
    Nov 11, 2004
    0
    Just the same as every other madden the game play sucks... if you want a real football game get espn nfl2k5... thats the best football game ever.
  21. Jcsickz
    Aug 23, 2004
    0
    This game is pretty bad. I bought both ESPN and Madden and ESPN wins in every department. The only thing I can say that really is good about madden is the online chat lobby. Other than that, its the same boring Madden that's been out for years with some new defensive quirks that really aren't that great. What's with the graphics? After playing ESPN, Madden feels about 6 This game is pretty bad. I bought both ESPN and Madden and ESPN wins in every department. The only thing I can say that really is good about madden is the online chat lobby. Other than that, its the same boring Madden that's been out for years with some new defensive quirks that really aren't that great. What's with the graphics? After playing ESPN, Madden feels about 6 years old. NEWS FLASH EA: It's high time for a new graphics engine. The tackles are bad too. RB's sometimes just bounce off a LB and fall on the ground. You call that a tackle? I don't. If you MUST own this game, I suggest buying ESPN as well, and see for yourself. It'll only cost you $70 and you can see the truth for yourself. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Once again, a maravel of gaming. [Sept 2004, p.84]
  2. Ultimately, Madden is a sensational game in the literal sense, delivering unparalleled replayability for those with open minds.
  3. 100
    The defense upgrades bring a lot of welcome strategy to the game, and the new AI is simply superb. Its amazingly deep, well thought out franchise mode is the best I've ever seen, while the basic gameplay still can't be beat.