Magic: The Gathering - Battlegrounds Xbox

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RayM.
    Nov 15, 2003
    7
    Played the demo....it is just as it sounds: live action MTG. You gather mana crystals to cast spells. The demo only had red and green, but I was impressed with the number of spells available. You cast creatures to run over and either challenge other creatures or attack your opponent. What is nice is that when you are going through your spell book, it has a 'rising level'Played the demo....it is just as it sounds: live action MTG. You gather mana crystals to cast spells. The demo only had red and green, but I was impressed with the number of spells available. You cast creatures to run over and either challenge other creatures or attack your opponent. What is nice is that when you are going through your spell book, it has a 'rising level' indicator ON the spell itself to show you how close you are to being able to cast that spell. I didn't see much about being able to combine the different schools of magic as the demo only had red and green with a tutorial. If you like MTG, try it and then come back to it. My initial reaction wasn't favorable, but once I played again, much of the strategy of MTG is there, all in real time. I think 2 player mode is where it will really shine and if it is Xbox live (which I am unsure if it has that) Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    Oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god.
  3. JonC.
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    A very original game. A real time full 3D fast paced strategy based on the Magic: the Gathering card game.
  4. Engee
    Dec 11, 2003
    5
    Half you guys are full of it. some of you haven't even played the full game and you're raving about this! and Magic P - if you played for 36 hours in a weekend, it means you slept 6 hours a day and played all day apart from that. In other words, You're Full of Crap. In regards to the game - 14 spells per colour seems pretty few to me. I wonder how good online extensionsHalf you guys are full of it. some of you haven't even played the full game and you're raving about this! and Magic P - if you played for 36 hours in a weekend, it means you slept 6 hours a day and played all day apart from that. In other words, You're Full of Crap. In regards to the game - 14 spells per colour seems pretty few to me. I wonder how good online extensions would be? and how much they'd cost....(!) Expand
  5. Russ
    Nov 25, 2003
    10
    The demo is great. The full version must be even better!
  6. Substryk
    Nov 29, 2003
    9
    Awesome! The creaters have managed to capture the card game and translate it to a competitive action packed arcade game for the masses. Excellent.
  7. MagicP.
    Nov 25, 2003
    10
    Best game to come out in a long time. I played for about 36 hours this weekend. WOW

Awards & Rankings

#87 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    65
    7 / 6 / 6 / 7 - 26 [Vol 815; 30 July 2004]
  2. What could've been crap on a DVD turns out to be a game that's easy to pick up and damn fun to play.
  3. Xbox Nation Magazine
    40
    A horrid single-player quest mode offers frustrating, ill-designed scenarios. [Mar 2004, p.91]