Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 10 out of 16
  1. A drop-dead gorgous game. If eye candy had calories, this game would make you fat...And then I beat it in four hours. Cue the crickets. [May 2004, p.44]
  2. 58
    Malice is, from top to bottom, about as standard and, unfortunately, boring a platformer as you can find. None of it is bad, but sadly, nothing about Malice is fun, interesting, exciting, new, or worth your thirty bucks.
  3. It's crippled by an over-reliance on the worst game design cliche ever invented: too much collecting. [Aug 2004, p.102]
  4. The story isn’t gripping at all which has been replaced with repetitiveness.
  5. It provides absolutely nothing that hasn't been seen and done countless times before and done better at that. Unless you're absolutely rapt with morbid curiosity about how Malice ultimately turned out, your time and money are definitely best spent elsewhere.
  6. Unfortunately, while brevity is the soul of wit, even at $29.99, it's hard to recommend a purchase of a game that can be beaten in a rental, and offers nothing beyond that in the way of replay value.
  7. The very basic gameplay is further dumbed-down by the imbecilic computer AI to make for a game that even novices can breeze through in one night (and we don’t mean a long one either).
  8. The gameplay is the equivalent of chewing a piece of gum all afternoon - inoffensive, but you just want to spit it out after a while. [Sept 2004, p.99]
  9. 45
    Malice is so generic and mediocre that its release only serves to spoil what little status it had as the punchline of a joke.
  10. First off it's a 3D platformer but with less jumping about than you might be used to, which is actually a blessing because it is the worst double jump ever witnessed. It doesn't cover much distance or height and it's very, very slow. Pointless.
  11. The game suffers from a handful of setbacks, the least of which is its surprising brevity. [Aug 2004, p.82]
  12. No Doubt is MIA, the art is occasionally freakish and definitely not up to Xbox standards, and while "fun" is always a subjective call, the gameplay offers nothing new and contains a ton of repetition. Malice ends up being a small package that just doesn't offer enough.
  13. 40
    Malice has lost much of its gee-whiz sparkle. Now it’s an intentionally weird, unintentionally uninteresting platform adventure that might have been cool were it a launch title and the bar were still low. In 2004, it looks and feels more like a skippable relic.
  14. 40
    The visuals hold up fairly well, and the controls are solid, if simplistic. What's here is the underlying base of a game. They just forgot to include meaningful gameplay or a storyline.
  15. Death would have been better than lifeless mess. [Aug 2004, p.80]
  16. Malice has some of the campiest voice work I have heard to date. It's not horrible by any means, but the dialog between the characters is pretty lame.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. JohnT.
    Aug 20, 2004
    5
    Oh dear Aaron, this is disappointing. Uninspired level design, and outdated gameplay. A shame.
  2. Gamegriller
    Jul 29, 2004
    3
    C'mon. This junk shoulda' been canned after all. Looks, plays, camera all are from 2001, at best....
  3. AaronJ.
    May 12, 2004
    10
    This game has been long waited for by many people including myself. i cant wait til june 1st i will be in my nearest retailer to pick up myThis game has been long waited for by many people including myself. i cant wait til june 1st i will be in my nearest retailer to pick up my preordered copy. It is going to be the best. i give it a 10 out of 10 . i know that sounds stupid before it has been released but i love these types of games and malice is not going to be dissapointing. Grabbed by the ghoulies was even good . it was slow and stupid at first but you just have to give it a chance.I mean who can go wrong with RAREWARE... Anyway MALICE is going to ROCK!!!!!!!! Full Review »