MechAssault 2: Lone Wolf Xbox

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Daz
    Jan 8, 2005
    9
    A good game, and better than i expected. I have enjoyed playing this much more than the first one and the graphics are loads better. Recommended.
  2. ChristopherT.
    May 2, 2005
    10
    This was better than the first one. I mean i dont mean to brag but i can beat anyone in a...oh a cougar or a star adder. and i agree with the one guy not many pepole have Xbox live and sorta gay if you beat it. Plus i can give any one hits if they havent beaten the game my email address is Sgt Hawk26@aol.com Im on the computer thur and mon. they need to make a 3rd one were the two guys This was better than the first one. I mean i dont mean to brag but i can beat anyone in a...oh a cougar or a star adder. and i agree with the one guy not many pepole have Xbox live and sorta gay if you beat it. Plus i can give any one hits if they havent beaten the game my email address is Sgt Hawk26@aol.com Im on the computer thur and mon. they need to make a 3rd one were the two guys never got got killed and came back and you get to fight along side someone else or the whole wolf dragoons. Expand
  3. W.E.
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    Awesome!
  4. SergeiG.
    Jan 23, 2005
    6
    Very poor single player campaign, getting out of your mech is very gimmicky you need a battle armor to steal other mechs and when you have the mech you stole , you need the battle armor again if you want to steal another mech. the onfoot mission while trying to destroy a generator sneaking and hiding on buildings to sneak by is unsatisfying, they should have a sneaking mission similar toVery poor single player campaign, getting out of your mech is very gimmicky you need a battle armor to steal other mechs and when you have the mech you stole , you need the battle armor again if you want to steal another mech. the onfoot mission while trying to destroy a generator sneaking and hiding on buildings to sneak by is unsatisfying, they should have a sneaking mission similar to splinter cell or mgs men vs. men instead of men vs mech or tanks you have no chance of survival that way. putting the boosters on L3 was a stupid idea, how the hell you want the player to properly control the battle armor if left analog stick is for moving the mech while L3 button is for boost is very difficult you cant learn it, no matter hard you try its not workable. Very promising Preview but not actually good when you play it. its definitely one of those games that was rushed out on the market before extensive play testing. Expand
  5. MichaelB.
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    The graphics have been beefed up, and the variety of new vehicles offers a much-needed dynamic. The campaign is painfully short, but the outstanding multiplayer is worth picking this one up.
  6. Alex
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Hands down THE best game in the entire battletech series. its only major flaw is the lack of weapon customization for mechs, and the single player is a little lacking. but, Xbox Live, sweet graphics, big explosions, and a furious pace more than compensate for that.
  7. S.J.
    Apr 8, 2005
    0
    Don't bother with it.
  8. iliyun
    Jul 16, 2005
    9
    Great game. The action was non-stop accompanied with solid visuals and a music score which brought out the flavor of the mayhem was plain sweeeet. Only gripe, voice acting sucked. Actually the acting was so poor it became hella annoying after awhile. But that's just nit picking.
  9. WhiteWarrior777
    Dec 30, 2004
    5
    Honestly, the first game was better. It offered the opportunity for you to choose which mech you wanted for each mission. Weapons were more powerful, gameplay was more balanced wheras with this game, certain weapons were useless, single player mode was way too short (I beat it in 24 hours). Even in multiplayer you do not have the option to choose your mech before play or even look at Honestly, the first game was better. It offered the opportunity for you to choose which mech you wanted for each mission. Weapons were more powerful, gameplay was more balanced wheras with this game, certain weapons were useless, single player mode was way too short (I beat it in 24 hours). Even in multiplayer you do not have the option to choose your mech before play or even look at it's stats anywhere in the game. In my opinion, the developers of this game took out some of the very best parts that made the game as good as it was to begin with. They obviously didn't play the first one before they made this one. The developers should put some serious thought into the third installment in this series which will more than likely come out for the xbox 2. I just hope they put more thought into it and make the game what it was. (FUN). Expand
  10. ReaperS.
    Jan 22, 2005
    7
    Its good at first but when u beat u have nothing too do. people obviously think every body has xbox live well not me.
  11. StephenD.
    Feb 16, 2005
    4
    This game sucks. I loved MA 1. Don't spend your cash buying it, rent it if your curious.
  12. RCCR
    Apr 16, 2005
    1
    It was all right until the final battle scene. It's nearly impossible to win with mortars that don't track or aim. I play Mechwarrior to fight in a Mech... Not some stupid battle armor. Shoot the mortar into his cracked skull... Yeah Right... Whatever. Maybe this game is good for online, but the single player mode really sucks.
  13. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    Although the control scheme might first seem a little confusing, the game forces you to master them by throwing you to the wolves (pun) right at the beginning of play. Once you get these controls down, the relentless action quickly draws you into conflict with your opponents for each mission. Challenging without being too frustrating-MA2:LW is a lot of fun.

Awards & Rankings

#35 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 66
  2. Negative: 1 out of 66
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    73
    7 / 8 / 7 / 7 [Vol 841]
  2. AceGamez
    90
    In an online world surrounded by countless traditional shooter games, MechAssault 2: Lone Wolf stands out as not just a great mech game, but a great shooting game. Everything here is done well and the new features are implemented brilliantly.
  3. MechAssault 2 struggles with its single player mode and strives with its multiplayer support to still bring you another great Mech experience.