User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. D.P.
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    Awesome!
  2. SPYBREAK
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    GTA meets war. A powerful game featuring: large landscapes, plenty action and awesome explosions. The graphics are incredible scoring a 10 out of 10. However, you may find some of the gameplay a bit repetitive from time to time. Buy this one if you haven
  3. RyanF.
    Feb 9, 2006
    8
    When I first got this game I got pretty bored since I was like,"Why are there only 4 missions for each faction?" Then I took out one of the Aces, and a whole new world of missions. And searching for those little trinkets is so much fun. They also have pretty funny sayings. For example, picking up a crate that's weapons of mass destruction says "Wall Hack." Sweet! And getting an When I first got this game I got pretty bored since I was like,"Why are there only 4 missions for each faction?" Then I took out one of the Aces, and a whole new world of missions. And searching for those little trinkets is so much fun. They also have pretty funny sayings. For example, picking up a crate that's weapons of mass destruction says "Wall Hack." Sweet! And getting an Hummer H3 in a game before you could in real life? Pure genius. And the game appeals to all tastes: some normal missions are easy, but the harder ones are where the pure fun is present. I had a hard time getting used to the controls, but I learned to love it over time. It's also worth noting that the people that made the heli game Desert Strike also made this game. Mercenaries totally pays homage to that when you hijack a heli: they got the trucks going on preset paths, the super limited ammo and the winches. Great time consumer. Great game. Expand
  4. SteveP.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    Finally a GTA clone that isn
  5. MathewR.
    Jan 14, 2005
    7
    This is a pretty decent game, but misses in a few key, basic areas. Firstly, the controls are messed up compared with other shooters. Second, the gunnery operation is lacking if you're into high precision aiming like Ghost Recon2. There are bugs which land vehicles in positions they cannot get out of (like a tank stuck on a fence it would realistically crush), among other things. The This is a pretty decent game, but misses in a few key, basic areas. Firstly, the controls are messed up compared with other shooters. Second, the gunnery operation is lacking if you're into high precision aiming like Ghost Recon2. There are bugs which land vehicles in positions they cannot get out of (like a tank stuck on a fence it would realistically crush), among other things. The open-ended side of the game is the big upside, and it's great to have a non-linear game to play. The effects are really well done, the graphics look excellent. I don't know, I just wanted to give some opposition to the pure 10/10 ratings. It's good, but it's not 10/10 material. Expand
  6. JamesC.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    I love this game. It's just like Grand Theft Auto, only in Korea during a war. Graphics a good, controls are simple (but not too simple) and the gameplay is action packed. There is always something going on!!
  7. ToddK.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    One of the best games I have played. I finished in just over 42 hours (most gameplay of any Xbox game I own) and I will probably play through it again to just blow up everything. The experimental weapons are so cool!! Dont miss this one.
  8. SunnyD.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    May be a bit repetitive after a while, but hey, most games are after you have found the trick to beat it. The opportunity to clean up a "Deck of 52" of most wanted don't come along very often in real life, so enjoy it while you can in the virtual world. Truly a game inspired by real world events, and that's the best part!
  9. Dude
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    Mercenaries is a very good gameand there is no other game like it. I like the fact that you can do almost anything, blowup a tank, destroy cities, you name it you can do it. Also you can drive any vehicle, Land or Air. Bottem line, Get This Game!
  10. MercenaryForHire
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    It looks like this game delivered what it promised. It's like what GTA would have always been if it let you demolish EVERYTHING in a military atmoshere. Open-ended, fun and plenty of action for explosion freaks is a start . Graphics look like Full Spectrum Warrior and Battlefront, but with better soft, bloom lighting and a long draw distance, something GTA has never had. Sounds, It looks like this game delivered what it promised. It's like what GTA would have always been if it let you demolish EVERYTHING in a military atmoshere. Open-ended, fun and plenty of action for explosion freaks is a start . Graphics look like Full Spectrum Warrior and Battlefront, but with better soft, bloom lighting and a long draw distance, something GTA has never had. Sounds, control, and animation are spot on. I always thought it was fun to run around, do what I want and shoot people at my leisure in an open game like GTA, but now I can do all that while at the same time playing a military game, getting help from my CPU allies with surgical airstikes and watching things go boom like in Mechassault 2. Having 6 or 8 other CPU characters jump in your cargo truck and help you out at any time you want is just too good to explain in words. Tons of vehicles to jack and drive, many weapons, hidden items, bonus objectives and extra challenge missions round out the package. Airstrikes never get old, neither does jacking a helicopter, jeep or tank. If you can't find somethig to do here, then you must have leveled all of Asia and completed 100% of this gargantuas game. I think this will sell well, since the commercials have worked, and all I can think is that most should or will probably say goodbye to GTA once they try this new style of military/free-roaming game. This game takes what the GTA series established, adds in military environments and atmoshere, a BUNCH of Mechassault 2 building and vehicle leveling and completely re-invents the genre. I have already said goodbye to GTA and I've only played this for 1 day. Yes, it's just that fun, plain and simple. If it only had MP or online, I would say "blow you up later", but since it doesn't, I'll just say have fun with your new free-roaming king. Who said a game has to be online to be at the top of the pile? Certainly not this one. Playing by yourself couldn't be more fun, even it had Rockstars logo at the bottom of the game case. Expand
  11. MarkC.
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    This is without a doubt, the most fun I have ever had with a video game! Period! I have a few words for Lucas Arts and Pandemic Studios. Thank you so much for finally hitting one out of the ballpark! This game is just AWESOME!!!
  12. LeifR.
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    BAM!!! gta on crack...good crack two words bunker buster someone upsets you do you steal a car pick up a prostitute shoot random people ? No you annihilate the entire area with a bunker buster bomb the missions in this game are insane played for 8 hours now and just about 15-20% throughdon't know if i can sleep anymore, or work for that matter i dont even know why I'm still on BAM!!! gta on crack...good crack two words bunker buster someone upsets you do you steal a car pick up a prostitute shoot random people ? No you annihilate the entire area with a bunker buster bomb the missions in this game are insane played for 8 hours now and just about 15-20% throughdon't know if i can sleep anymore, or work for that matter i dont even know why I'm still on my computer Expand
  13. AlanS.
    Jan 16, 2005
    9
    This is the most fun I had playing a video game in a long, long time. The graphics may not be the best, but the gameplay is outstanding. Congrats to the developers of Mercenaries! If you already haven't done so, go get this game.
  14. Mike
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    Very fun and very addicting. Highly recommended. Would never thought it was this great.
  15. JamesS.
    Jan 21, 2005
    7
    Fun for a little while, but most missions lack substance. They ussually consist of a guy standing next to a building thats impossible to find, and depending on how late in the game you are, the more advanced protection he has. The airstrikes and other options are definatly fun for a little bit. The enemy is cheap at times, seeing the only way to really die is to get hit by the mindless Fun for a little while, but most missions lack substance. They ussually consist of a guy standing next to a building thats impossible to find, and depending on how late in the game you are, the more advanced protection he has. The airstrikes and other options are definatly fun for a little bit. The enemy is cheap at times, seeing the only way to really die is to get hit by the mindless number of RPGs in the air. Expand
  16. DaveJ.
    Feb 17, 2005
    9
    Amazing. I love this game. I've played literally hundreds of games in my day and this one is right near the tippy top of the heap. So much fun. Graphics, violence, and intensity are all off the charts. Sure there are a few issues with the game. Some of the AI is a little stupid. Some of the AI is way too eager to kill you, but it doesn't matter much. It's just great fun. My Amazing. I love this game. I've played literally hundreds of games in my day and this one is right near the tippy top of the heap. So much fun. Graphics, violence, and intensity are all off the charts. Sure there are a few issues with the game. Some of the AI is a little stupid. Some of the AI is way too eager to kill you, but it doesn't matter much. It's just great fun. My only wish is that I had a bigger TV set to enjoy the beautiful spinning firery death being played out on the screen. Niiiiiiice. Expand
  17. RonaldM.
    Mar 15, 2005
    9
    This game is video crack. It will own you pretty fast, and I hope that other game developers start realizing the value of being able to blow stuff up. There is nothing more satisfying than flying your helicopter down to the woods, getting a anti-aircraft truck to shoot down a helicopter, then ordering a bunker buster bomb to take out a sky scraper, and finally driving your indestructible This game is video crack. It will own you pretty fast, and I hope that other game developers start realizing the value of being able to blow stuff up. There is nothing more satisfying than flying your helicopter down to the woods, getting a anti-aircraft truck to shoot down a helicopter, then ordering a bunker buster bomb to take out a sky scraper, and finally driving your indestructible tank to complete your final objective. This game is every little boy who played army guys greatest dream! This game will own you! Expand
  18. MorongaP.
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Mercenaries is awsome.the basic thaught of jacking a helicopter is one that does'nt come very often.The controls are great and there is so many ways to play it makes it even funner.
  19. ChrisB.
    Apr 17, 2005
    3
    Not Bad, Gets Boring Too Quick For My Liking.
  20. CallumP.
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Wow, this game is absolutely incredible. Some korean guy irritating you by driving round in his sleek, shiny tank? Why not hijack it by swinging up onto the barrel of his cannon, running down it, then throwing a grenade inside! I spent a good half hour just planting C4 under cars and seeing how high/far i could fire them, and the fact you can blow up ANY building is great-either by a Wow, this game is absolutely incredible. Some korean guy irritating you by driving round in his sleek, shiny tank? Why not hijack it by swinging up onto the barrel of his cannon, running down it, then throwing a grenade inside! I spent a good half hour just planting C4 under cars and seeing how high/far i could fire them, and the fact you can blow up ANY building is great-either by a surgical strike or a full on carpet bombing! Any vehicle is your for the taking, and if you get a helicopter you can winch cars, swing them round and hurl them off into the sunset! Trust me, you HAVE to own this game. Expand
  21. IliyasH.
    Jul 29, 2005
    6
    Just finished the game. Primary thought that comes to mind right now is how many glitches I had to deal with playing this game. Which made the game alot harder than it really was. As such, I had more frusteration than fun playing this Title.
  22. ChristianM.
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    this game is like GTA SA only military wise. i think lucas arts should make another game like this just make it more like star wars battlefront 2.
  23. JakeK.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I could play this game for the rest of my life. Its so awsome. I love just hitten those aces right in the head and then callin in for support to pcik him up. Hope there is a 3rd one.
  24. Mercenary
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    This is not a GTA clone. GTA is about making out with ladies and stealing cars. Mercenaries is about fighting against not just NK soldiers and blowing up cities, it also has a very good story and the characters all have their own personalities. The ONLY problem I had with this game was that if ou used a code (unlockable by collecting enough little trinkets and junk) to change your This is not a GTA clone. GTA is about making out with ladies and stealing cars. Mercenaries is about fighting against not just NK soldiers and blowing up cities, it also has a very good story and the characters all have their own personalities. The ONLY problem I had with this game was that if ou used a code (unlockable by collecting enough little trinkets and junk) to change your appearance, there wasnt a code to change it back. Besides, all sandbox games that let you steal cars are called "GTA Clones" now. Personally, I think if you play games about playing with ladies, there is something wrong with you. But Mercenaries isnt that kind of sandbox game, it is a story about a mercenary who wants to get paid, and you just so happen to be able to blow things to smithereens in the process. Expand
  25. GB
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Not without bug & niggles, this game is however a beautiful, fun, flowing cohesive whole. It gets a '10' (actually a nine-point-something) because it's one of the games I have enjoyed the most and come back to repeatedly.
  26. ConnerD
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    This game is one of my all time favorites, I preordered it on the PS2 in 2004 before its release in 2005 and could sense that it was going to be a great game. I have since replayed it multiple times and am even considering purchasing it for Xbox to replay on my 360. Great game. 10/10
  27. JimmY.
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    HOLY MOTHER OF GOD!!! This game blows all others away!!! Story, graphics, multiplayer, sound, voice acting, OMG OMG OMG, it makes Halo look like Shrek Party!!!!!!
  28. TheStroz
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    This is the kind of game that you actually want to call up the company and get all of the addresses for all of those responsible so you can add them to your xmas card list. One of the best video games I've ever played and I played a lot.
  29. TyroneB.
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Excellent f....ng game. I can't believe how bad ass this is. F.... gamepro for giving it an 80. They've always sucked ass.
  30. StefK.
    Jan 14, 2005
    9
    WOW!!! This is such an intense game! The graphics, the sound, the atomosphere and, most importantly, the gameplay are all in rendez-vous. This is a fantastic game and I found myself, for the very first time, addicted to the point of skipping dinner time. Words cannot describe the beauty of such game. I agree with "The Stroz": let's call up the company and congrats them! The tiny WOW!!! This is such an intense game! The graphics, the sound, the atomosphere and, most importantly, the gameplay are all in rendez-vous. This is a fantastic game and I found myself, for the very first time, addicted to the point of skipping dinner time. Words cannot describe the beauty of such game. I agree with "The Stroz": let's call up the company and congrats them! The tiny negative aspect is that I find it very tricky at times to know what to do (missions, contracts, alliances...)... Expand
  31. NeilV.
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    Awesome game, great focus on a variety of weapons, interesting missions and overall just a great deal of fun. Any problems with the game are minor (minor enough to realistically argue that there are problems with ANY game) and do not detract from it enough to make me feel that 10 is an unreasonable rating. The game is horribly addictive and I'm playing catch up on my accounting Awesome game, great focus on a variety of weapons, interesting missions and overall just a great deal of fun. Any problems with the game are minor (minor enough to realistically argue that there are problems with ANY game) and do not detract from it enough to make me feel that 10 is an unreasonable rating. The game is horribly addictive and I'm playing catch up on my accounting classes now as a result of poor time management due to this one. Rent it first if you have any doubts, but if you're a military geek, or you enjoy action/shooter type games or GTA in a military setting, this is for you! Expand
  32. L.F.
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    Mercenaries is a blast! I love the run gun controlls in it way more than those terrible GTA controlls. I've been playing for about 30 hours now and am still having fun which is good since normally my interest in a game lasts for about 10-15 hours tops. The missions are fairly simple in design but they really let me find my own way to approach it. I highly suggest you pick this one up.
  33. SteveM.
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    One of the only games that has been worthy of the phrase "took over my life." The other reviewers and voters have said it all already, but it simply can't be said enough: Mercenaries is fun, engrossing, and contains a seemingly endless supply of replay value. On the whole, an amazing game. Good call, Pandemic - keep it up.
  34. BlueFalcon
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    I would liken this game to freedom fighters more than grand theft auto. Either way, it's definately great fun. There's a lot of freedom to finish goals how you want, and in the order you feel like. It's great.
  35. Josh
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    now this is a great viedo game do any thing you freeking want and blow the crap out of buildings (any building) wow what a beautiful game very under raited.
  36. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    The game may be filled with glitches and a few bugs that you simply cannot overlook, but to me, this defines open-world destruction. It is very similar to the GTA series, except it takes out all the unwarranted drug and sexual references, and just replaces it with war in South Korea. The amount of vehicles lacks in comparison to its sequel (which is not as good gameplay wise) but the factThe game may be filled with glitches and a few bugs that you simply cannot overlook, but to me, this defines open-world destruction. It is very similar to the GTA series, except it takes out all the unwarranted drug and sexual references, and just replaces it with war in South Korea. The amount of vehicles lacks in comparison to its sequel (which is not as good gameplay wise) but the fact you can man anti-air and artillery units is amazing. The deck-of-cards system is pretty cool, with each suit representing a type of target and the higher the face value, the more important (and guarded) the target is to the North Koreans (NK). There are NK bunkers EVERYWHERE, so you can always pick a fight with them to test out a new gun or to just run them over. Tanks are pretty fun to drive, and blowing up an entire town couldn't be much more fun. The missions/contracts you accept range in difficulty and type, so there is a good variety there. If you read my review of the sequel, Mercenaries 2, you will see what makes this game an overall better fit between storyline and just doing whatever you want. The cheat codes are amazing, since this game was developed in part by Lucas Arts, you can get a Han Solo or Indiana Jones costume :) Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. 100
    The replay value of this game is huge, with hundreds of things to find, do and complete. Since all the contracts can be beaten in dozens of different ways, the fun factor in replaying the game just goes up and up, plus there are more than three different characters to do it with.
  2. The first game to truly capitalize on GTA's design paradigm, Mercenaries deserves its war-worn props. [Feb 2005, p.97]
  3. This is the perfect game for deep-thinking military strategists and an awesome ride for those who just like to blow stuff up.