Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. The real fun is in the online game modes, and I must say that I had some of the most fun since signing on to Xbox LIVE while playing this game.
  2. It satisfies your need to do stuff - fun tasks like picking up passengers, tailing mob bosses, and running jalopies off the road - as well as your need for speed. [Aug 2003, p.119]
  3. Feels like a shiny new version of "Crazy Taxi," only this time, infinitely less deep. [Aug 2003, p.80]
  4. All traffic and pedestrians are removed from the game. Fortunately, the capture the flag and tag style modes are plenty entertaining, especially with a larger group. [Aug 2003, p.78]
  5. With cartoony controls, fast cars, and great multiplayer modes, Midtown Madness 3 is an excellent buy for any Xbox Live player. However, the game is not a shining beacon of single player goodness and racing game enthusiasts without Live support would be better off looking at other titles.
  6. Personally, except for the glitch in the soundtrack and a few minor details in the graphics, the game is fun and that is what is important.
  7. 70
    A game that has some bright spots tarnished by some dull areas of mediocrity.
  8. The single-player is slow and unforgiving next to the white-hot motoring antics of the online experience.
  9. 60
    The fast-paced weaving through the streets of two different cities holds a wealth of interesting gameplay. While there's nothing new or innovative here, MM3 offers easy playability with plenty to do.
  10. 58
    It doesn't have the polish or intensity of "Midnight Club II." [Aug 2003, p.31]
  11. The cool thing about the online mode is that you can join games already in progress.
  12. In all honesty, I enjoyed the main bulk of gameplay about as much as I do that throbbing sensation when a Q-tip is jammed just a little too far into my ear. [July 2003, p.115]
  13. The campaign doesn't last very long though, and isn't all that interesting to begin with.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Single Player is boring, but the Multiplayer is one of the best! But now there is no Xbox Live and we only can play in the Local Area Network.Single Player is boring, but the Multiplayer is one of the best! But now there is no Xbox Live and we only can play in the Local Area Network. I love it Full Review »
  2. NickW
    Feb 1, 2009
    3
    Infuriating trials, tedious repetition, and endlessly ramming yourself on the curb. Sound like fun? No, didn't think so. The checkpoint Infuriating trials, tedious repetition, and endlessly ramming yourself on the curb. Sound like fun? No, didn't think so. The checkpoint races are largely generic, and although finally completing them brings some satisfaction, its short lived. The racing really just isn't that fun. The work undercover mode adds a bit of variety, involving ferrying passengers about at crazy speeds, and working as a stunt driver, but again it just lack a certain something. It's like a compilation of imitations of other, better games. And there are points where you will get stuck over and over again. Its a nice idea to be able to explore Paris and Washington, but since the actual driving isn't much fun, and you can't run over civilians no matter how hard you try, you won't find much to occupy you, other than plunging into the river as you try to acquire all the hidden pain jobs in a desperate attempt to extend the meagre experience this game provides. Full Review »
  3. [TS2Rulz]
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    It is the best game it rulz when you are playing Xbox live, graphics arent bad and the cars/trucks are the best.