Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. You can't really play this game without thinking of the dark, sweat-filled arcades that're now long gone, or of those plastic-sheathed sitdown machines you still sometimes see in bars. Midway Arcade Treasures is like a time capsule, buried back when games were simple, and no less fun because of that.
  2. One of the really cool features of the Xbox version of this game is that you can go online through Xbox Live to check out the high scores for any of the games or upload your own for bragging rights. It really makes the games that much more fun to play.
  3. At a mere $20 it represents impossible value and is probably a must-have for crusty old gamers. [Dec 2003, p.92]
  4. Why not pick up a copy and see how you stack up to other gamers using the Xbox Live Scoreboards.
  5. A well-rounded collection and as I said earlier I can't think of any big titles not included here.
  6. This incredible compilation is a dream team of sorts for anyone old enough to remember having to out to play the best videogames. [Jan 2004, p.128]
  7. The emulation is solid, delivering sound and gameplay that's up to par. [Jan 2004, p.86]
  8. For many, most of the titles on show will be obscure, but if you want to dip your toes into the bewildering waters of the '80s arcade, this is probably the best introduction released to date.
  9. I urge every Xboxer to at least rent this one in order to not only relive the past, but to experience the proper design and content for a videogame mix CD.
  10. While not every game included plays as smooth as others, the wide collection and the added features makes this one a must own for any fan of the classic games.
  11. It’s a must for old schoolers and also a must for the younger generation so they can see what we had to play and how far videogaming has come in the last 20 years.
  12. 75
    My disappointment in this disc's shortcomings is tempered by the sheer amount of great, classic gaming on offer.
  13. Most, however, are legitimately entertaining even today. [Mar 2004, p.86]
  14. 70
    Midway Arcade Treasure's "bang for your buck" comes from the sheer amount of games on the disk, and how perfect they're represented on the console. Apart from the difference in controls, these games are essentially what gamers played in arcade when the games were released in the 80s.
  15. Now, if I could only get REAL reproductions of "Tron," "Kangaroo," "Reactor," "Vanguard" and "Gorf" -- I'd be a happy gamer!!
  16. 70
    While the presentation is poor, the extras suck beyond measure and some of the games are lackluster additions to the collection, the overall value is quite high.
  17. 70
    Just as you can't fully appreciate heavy metal without experiencing Black Sabbath, any gamer with any interest in truly understanding the video-game medium's roots should at least rent this compilation of classic arcade games.
  18. Well, while the majority of games included are great, some – like Toobin’, SPLAT!, and Vindicators – still suck, just like before. Also, each of the games keeps their controls and multiplayer options.
  19. The games themselves let you tinker with the amount of credits you can use, so that means you can progress regardless of your skill level.
  20. Some of the games featured just don't play the way they should, marring an otherwise stellar compilation. If you have any interest in classic gaming, this collection is worth a look, provided you can get used to its quirks.
  21. What's the deal with Moon Patrol? Here was a classic game that was included on previous Midway releases but not here? This is a substantially good game and really should have been included.
  22. Not only is the interface clumsy and hard to view, but the bonus content is poorly edited and sloppily thrown together. [Dec 2003, p.83]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. BobR.
    Apr 15, 2004
    8
    I really enjoy this collection of games. My favorites are the mutliplayer games, Smash TV, Gauntlet and Rampage. I was an excellent Spy Hunter player back in the day, but the game is difficult to control with the gamepad. A great selection of games that you would still play in an arcade if arcades still existed. Hoping that newer arcade classics "cough NARC cough" come to the Xbox. Full Review »
  2. Uter
    Jan 2, 2004
    4
    This game has the worst interface I've ever seen in any game. It's tough to see what game you're selecting. A simple list would have been nice (how hard is that?). Some of the games don't control quite right. Both Rampart and Toobin control horribly. But in the end there is some fun to be had here. But I wouldn't trust the person who made this game with the task of taking out my trash. Full Review »
  3. SteveB.
    Dec 14, 2003
    8
    This game is worth it for Klax alone! Paperboy, Roadblasters and Spyhunter are other all time favorites of mine. Gauntlet and Rampage are great multiplayer too with friends. Full Review »