• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: May 21, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 100
    The benchmark that other Xbox titles should strive for: a solid combination of gameplay, graphics and variety.
  2. The controls are difficult to master at first - with the option of both front and rear brakes - but persistence is rewarded and within hours you will be hugging the fringe of a curve and finding the right racing line.
  3. The closest thing you can get to saddling up on a hundred thousand dollar racing machine and challenging the best of the best from all over the world - a definite must-have title for motorcycle freaks or fans of online racing.
  4. 91
    Upgraded visuals, spot-on handling, and Xbox Live support make MotoGP 2 a must have racer.
  5. 91
    This baby runs like a dream over the Xbox's cable modem. [July 2003, p.61]
  6. While there may not be many differences between this game and its predecessor, this still is the best motorcycle game on the Xbox.
  7. Without a doubt, a contender for racing game of the year. [June 2003, p.74]
  8. Hit top speed on a lengthy straight and the world slips into a stylised flat-out blur that offers an impression of unblinkable speed almost unparalleled since the original "WipEout" on PlayStation.
  9. If you enjoyed the first game but wished for online competition, then this game is certainly a worth adding to your collection. It keeps the things that made the first game great and adds to it.
  10. Don’t get me wrong, this is easily the best motorcycle sim ever… but why not add something new? Maybe you could add some crazy make-believe tracks or some different multiplayer modes. Either way, with a new release of this game it needed something new.
  11. Arcade-racing fans will enjoy the astonishing sense of speed and need for lightning-fast reflexes, while simulation fans will enjoy the true-to-life depiction of riding a two-wheeled racing machine.
  12. 88
    A game that will satisfy anyone's crotch rocket or simulation fantasies. The detail paid to both the physics engine and the graphics is remarkable and worth seeing if you crave realism.
  13. "Moto GP" was already nicely buffed - this one positively sparkles. Well worth a mention is the gorgeous rain effect - you just have to see it in action. [GamesMaster]
  14. 87
    Racing is pretty intense, and once making your way to the later tracks, the computer controlled racers get pretty damn start, and so you’ll either have to start re-thinking your racing plan, or go back and redo your bike's attributes.
  15. Damn you THQ for screwing up my free time once again and making another outstanding racing title that takes my current crown of being the top online racer on a console and one of the top racers overall.
  16. About the only thing in Moto GP 2 that hasn't changed is the spot-on handling. Everything else, from the graphics to the gameplay modes, has been overhauled, and it shows. [June 2003, p.80]
  17. The game just is not as deep as it could be... I personally think that it surpasses everything the original tried to accomplish.
  18. A high level of rider and bike customization and goodly amount of attribute points to be earned mean you'll be playing this one for quite a while. [July 2003, p.106]
  19. Realism aside, what puts MotoGP 2 over the top is its seamless Xbox Live integration, pitting 16 players together in an online free-for-all. [June-July 2003, p.89]
  20. It may not re-invent the wheel, but MotoGP2 is a shiny new alloy among racing games, and builds upon the series' excellent reputation. And that should be enough to stir up Xbox live all over again. [June 2003, p.100]
  21. This feels more like MotoGP Complete than MotoGP 2. That's not to say that you won't play this for yonks and yonks. The problem is more that you may already have done.
  22. From the analog gas and dual brakes to the smoother control, this title makes your adrenaline spike and pushes your bike to the redline. [June 2003, p.113]
  23. 60
    While the rev of the bike engines is dead on, the music is just awful. The same bad grunge rock song (or at least, all the songs seem to sound the same) plays over and over. Unless you can phase the noise out, turning the music off will be your only recourse.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. SishS.
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    I love this game. I enjoy everythingn about the moto gp and its great finally a game with the proper riders. creating your own rider wih a I love this game. I enjoy everythingn about the moto gp and its great finally a game with the proper riders. creating your own rider wih a bike its awsome attribute. I cant stop playing it. Although the game is old now I wish a 2005 version would of came out. LOve the game. Full Review »
  2. YuriB.
    Nov 26, 2003
    6
    First of all, the graphics on this game are incredible. Unfortunately the sound and control are way off. The controls are impossibly First of all, the graphics on this game are incredible. Unfortunately the sound and control are way off. The controls are impossibly sluggish, making it very hard to keep the bike from weaving all over the place. This makes the bikes handle like Gold Wings, not MotoGP bikes, or even Superbikes. A real bike of this caliber handles very, very sharply, and takes VERY little time to get from full lean one direction, to full lean the other direction. The engine sound is totally wacked, as getting louder is more tied to the speed you are travelling at than engine speed. On a real bike, you hear the engine less as you go faster because the volume of the engine stays the same, and the wind noise goes way up. The engine note should also be more distinct. Also, the bikes are not tuneable enough, and it should be way easier to highside or lowside too. After all, these damn things have the sickest brakes on the planet and over 240 horsepower. Hamfisted riding should be rewarded immediately with a trip to the ground. Overall I was very disapointed because I buy racing games for realism and playability, not graphics. This is a very good "arcade" racer, but I think it fails miserably as a sim. btw-I roadrace in real life, so I have some idea of what I am talking about when it comes to "realism". Full Review »
  3. Uter
    Sep 5, 2003
    9
    This is definitely the most fun biking game I've played. The graphics are mostly photo realistic - it reminds me of gran turismo except This is definitely the most fun biking game I've played. The graphics are mostly photo realistic - it reminds me of gran turismo except on bikes. It's not a big improvement over Moto GP1, but I didn't mind so much. Full Review »