• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
MotoGP 2 Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MotoGP returns with challenging tracks, different gameplay modes, and online play. In MotoGP 2, you'll race against the top 20 riders in the world at speeds of 180mph around turns and corners with your knee inches from the ground. It's up to you to find the perfect combination of rider and bike to suit your style. Races take place on 16 tracks in all weather conditions. Challenge yourself to master these obstacles in all six single-player game modes and in online multiplayer matches for up to 16 players. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 100
    The benchmark that other Xbox titles should strive for: a solid combination of gameplay, graphics and variety.
  2. The closest thing you can get to saddling up on a hundred thousand dollar racing machine and challenging the best of the best from all over the world - a definite must-have title for motorcycle freaks or fans of online racing.
  3. 91
    This baby runs like a dream over the Xbox's cable modem. [July 2003, p.61]
  4. 88
    A game that will satisfy anyone's crotch rocket or simulation fantasies. The detail paid to both the physics engine and the graphics is remarkable and worth seeing if you crave realism.
  5. 87
    Racing is pretty intense, and once making your way to the later tracks, the computer controlled racers get pretty damn start, and so you’ll either have to start re-thinking your racing plan, or go back and redo your bike's attributes.
  6. About the only thing in Moto GP 2 that hasn't changed is the spot-on handling. Everything else, from the graphics to the gameplay modes, has been overhauled, and it shows. [June 2003, p.80]
  7. 60
    While the rev of the bike engines is dead on, the music is just awful. The same bad grunge rock song (or at least, all the songs seem to sound the same) plays over and over. Unless you can phase the noise out, turning the music off will be your only recourse.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. SishS.
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    I love this game. I enjoy everythingn about the moto gp and its great finally a game with the proper riders. creating your own rider wih a bike its awsome attribute. I cant stop playing it. Although the game is old now I wish a 2005 version would of came out. LOve the game. Expand
  2. Quintus
    May 22, 2003
    10
    The live integration of this game nears perfection. I don't think I have had a better online gaming experience, ever. the new tracks, the challenges, all the good stuff from mgp1 and tons of new features. this game is complete. get it now. ps. and i hate formula1 racing, too difficult. somehow, mgp makes the difficulty a real challenge, because you can be sure it's extremely hard.. and addictive. Expand
  3. AlB.
    Aug 2, 2003
    10
    Having had the original Moto GP for Xbox, I knew this would be a great game. I worried some that Moto GP 2 would not progress very much from the first version, and except for the addition of more tracks, it does not. So why did I give this a big ten? ONLINE PLAY! It's fantastic stuff, to be sure... Addictive even. The offline racing versus the AI-controlled riders is, as you might surmise, too predictable. They're too good, and too perfect. Racing live online against other human beings, however, lends itself to completely UNpredictable racing. 16 people, all accelerating towards that first sharp turn... Turn collisions on and you have a "luck of the draw" scenario - who will escape the turn unscathed? Turn them off and you can elminate any luck or deviousness - it's up to you how you want to play it. If you're a fan of racing games and you have Xbox Live but don't have this game - BUY IT NOW!! You're definitely missing out on one of the best online experiences out there... I assure you this game is worth every penny, and you will not be disappointed. Expand
  4. StaffanK.
    Jun 3, 2003
    9
    Great game. Great graphics. Great controls. Great online Live play. Just like Moto GP1, only more features and more detailed graphics. There is only one thing that keeps me from giving it a 10 - the sound of the motorcycles is worse than in MotoGP 1. The motor sound in MotoGP1 was perfect; why change it for the worse? Otherwise, highly recommended! Expand
  5. Uter
    Sep 5, 2003
    9
    This is definitely the most fun biking game I've played. The graphics are mostly photo realistic - it reminds me of gran turismo except on bikes. It's not a big improvement over Moto GP1, but I didn't mind so much. Expand
  6. Napole0nB0naparte
    Jun 4, 2003
    9
    Looks better, plays better and it seems even faster than it's predecessor. Absolutely recommended. Can't wait to get Live and try the online-stuff. Too bad I suck at this game and will probably be hugely humiliated... Expand
  7. YuriB.
    Nov 26, 2003
    6
    First of all, the graphics on this game are incredible. Unfortunately the sound and control are way off. The controls are impossibly sluggish, making it very hard to keep the bike from weaving all over the place. This makes the bikes handle like Gold Wings, not MotoGP bikes, or even Superbikes. A real bike of this caliber handles very, very sharply, and takes VERY little time to get from full lean one direction, to full lean the other direction. The engine sound is totally wacked, as getting louder is more tied to the speed you are travelling at than engine speed. On a real bike, you hear the engine less as you go faster because the volume of the engine stays the same, and the wind noise goes way up. The engine note should also be more distinct. Also, the bikes are not tuneable enough, and it should be way easier to highside or lowside too. After all, these damn things have the sickest brakes on the planet and over 240 horsepower. Hamfisted riding should be rewarded immediately with a trip to the ground. Overall I was very disapointed because I buy racing games for realism and playability, not graphics. This is a very good "arcade" racer, but I think it fails miserably as a sim. btw-I roadrace in real life, so I have some idea of what I am talking about when it comes to "realism". Collapse

See all 13 User Reviews