Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. The added mini games are used to spice up pitching and batting drills, making them as addictive as Bejeweled and Mine Sweep. Plus, the greatness of Xbox Live for online leagues, EA Sports Ticker and constant roster updates just makes things even sweeter for Xbox players.
  2. With great modes, gorgeous graphics and near perfect controls this one will no doubt be the franchise we turn to when we want a baseball game true to the sport itself.
  3. An incredibly well-put together baseball game. Its presentation is top-notch, it includes a number of modes that you can spend countless hours playing, and the sense of control is unmatched.
  4. The new additions of the Owner Mode and Hitter's Eye are substantial enough to warrant a purchase of MVP Baseball 2005.
  5. 92
    Dynasty Mode was already massive. With the addition of Owner mode, you may be playing this game until EA gets its third party license back.
  6. The graphics and audio capture the look and sound of baseball down to every last blade of grass out on the field and the faintest boo from that fan in the nosebleed section.
  7. The game is so loaded with modes and options the replay value is really unlimited.
  8. A pretty game that plays well. It has loads of features. Even though I don't like EA and I actually root for Sega, I can't deny the quality of this game.
  9. I must say that I am very impressed with how smooth the game runs, and how smooth the gameplay is.
  10. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    The closest digital equivalent to real baseball. [Apr 2005, p.84]
  11. Play Magazine
    90
    Together with a near flawless play-by-play announcer, excellent sound, music and solid online play, EA Sports has done it again with MVP. [Apr 2005, p.76]
  12. With an outrageous plethora of fantasy league-style features, nobody comes close to capturing the authenticity of fantasy leaguing better than EA.
  13. With an extremely realistic presentation, augmented control system, and additional attention paid to the overall gameplay, MVP 2005 could be one of those games baseball fans keep returning to in the upcoming years of exclusive sports games.
  14. What it boils down to is that they fixed the major flaws from last year's game: lefty power, and minor league development. Everything else is merely icing on the cake, but what a cake it is.
  15. 90
    We're fond of the new Hitter's Eye feature, which means that the ball changes color as it leaves the pitcher's hand, letting the batter know what kind of pitch is on the way to the plate. Red means breaking ball; white means fastball; green means changeup; and brown means that Randy Johnson has been into the Skoal tin again.
  16. The bottom line is that if you're looking for a realistic and feature-rich baseball video game, you can't go wrong with MVP Baseball 2005.
  17. Still has a gameplay engine that rivals anything out there and gives the best overall experience of actually playing in a big league game.
  18. While none of the changes on their own amounted to much, overall, they all made for a much smoother and more authentic baseball title.
  19. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    87
    The hardcore MVP player will dig getting a read on the ball as it leaves the pitcher's hand. Maybe 2K Games can steal this feature next season - EA surely won't need it. [April 2005, p.112]
  20. Feature for feature, there is no better pure baseball simulation to buy this season than MVP Baseball 2005.
  21. Game Informer
    85
    The new material that EA has implemented is minimal at best, and most of the additions don't generate a lot of excitement. With that said, this is still the best-playing baseball game on the market. [March 2005, p.118]
  22. 85
    The most fun you'll have with the game isn't in a nine inning affair, but rather with the new mini-games. The new hitting mini-game is interesting, but the pitching distraction is certifiably addictive.
  23. There was no massive game improvement this year.
  24. 85
    If you're a diehard sports gamers and/or in love with the fundamental basis of the American version of the game of baseball, then you're in for a ride.
  25. 85
    MVP comes pounding into your console with a lot to offer for the single-player type.
  26. The gameplay is smoother than ever, the presentation has increased and the brand new Owner's Mode is a real delight to play.
  27. If "MVP Baseball 2004" was Alec Baldwin, MVP Baseball 2005 is Daniel – mostly the same, but a little bit sleazier.
  28. You have all the trimmings expected in a baseball game, and the action is quick and enjoyable, so much that you can get games in under a half an hour if you wish.
  29. netjak
    81
    For the people who really enjoy the breakdown of the pitcher-batter match up, this is the only game I've seen so far since the "High Heat" franchise that has really captures this realism.
  30. Does it accurately simulate every aspect of being a player, coach, and/or owner? No. In fact, a lot of the extras are going to be seen as unnecessary fluff by the baseball purists. But I guess you can call me a fun purist because I just plain had fun with this game.
  31. 80
    In my opinion, "Major League Baseball 2K5" is the better game. It's a close one, to be sure -- as each area that one game has a weakness in is a strength for the other title -- but I enjoyed the pitching and batting in MLB more, and fielding, one of its weak points, isn't as big of a deal to me.
  32. GamePro
    80
    MVP retains the Gold Glove for controls, but the competition has made up ground. [Apr 2005, p.97]
  33. 80
    The owners and dynasty one-two could make MVP a must-have for detail-oriented fans, especially those without a PS2 who are locked out of "MLB 2006's" equally strong offering.
  34. Taking the game online is just like taking any EA Sports game online. You get tourneys and ladders and all that but it lacks full league support.
  35. Most of it feels brought over from last year's model, and not touched up enough to really appeal like it should. It feels more like a ground-rule double than a line drive.

Awards & Rankings

17
18
#18 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
63
#63 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Eric
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    To put it simply, this is the best baseball game ever made. It is 2008 and still, there is not a better baseball game out their. A.I. is To put it simply, this is the best baseball game ever made. It is 2008 and still, there is not a better baseball game out their. A.I. is good, yet tough. Nothing is more satisifing than turning a perfect double play or hitting the ball the opposite way. Both of which are very possible in this game because it has very few flaws. I just have one question to ask EA. I understand that Ichiro is one of the best hitters in the game, but why is he also the best power hitter? Full Review »
  2. FredB.
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    I bought this game three different times because I kept returning them for the newer game's. Sorry guys, MVP is the real thing. No I bought this game three different times because I kept returning them for the newer game's. Sorry guys, MVP is the real thing. No better baseball game......EVER! Full Review »
  3. MichaelT.
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    I love this game and I hate baseball. Control is very natural and the animation makes you think you're watching a major league game I love this game and I hate baseball. Control is very natural and the animation makes you think you're watching a major league game rather than playing one. Unlike most sports games, I haven't found a single aspect to complain about. A fantastic game. Full Review »