User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DuraleC.
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    This game is the best edition to the series yet.If you dont own it you must pick up a copy ASAP.
  2. CraigS.
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    I am not ALLOWED to buy any more games, and the only time I can play is when I SNEAK off to my buddies place (Per MY WIFE!!) However, I have played NBA 2K6 at my buddies place, and it is the most realistic basketball out there. The graphics are great, and the gameplay is awesome!!!
  3. ColbyC.
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    I bought EA Live the day it came out, played it, hated it, and ended up buying 2k6 as well. Overall this game is much much better than Live, but it still does have a few problems. I really hate the shot stick, and wish it would have the option of the old juke moves with the right thumb stick. But overall I really like this game and will continue playing it instead of Live.
  4. KwameO.
    Oct 20, 2005
    9
    I like 24/7 mode and association.i love the crib,but it should be bigger.also,reverse steering on 24/7 mode is stupid.i also like create team and player, and the game producer teams.cheat-vcteam.
  5. RonMexicoJunior
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    Where this game really shines is the association mode. The menus, navigation, sorting and just about everything is easier and more intuitive than the past two years (think the dreamcast versions, but huge upgrade). There is an extra difficulty level, the chemisty system works a lot better, and the defense in this game is pumped up (more options, etc.). For example, someone like Tayshaun Where this game really shines is the association mode. The menus, navigation, sorting and just about everything is easier and more intuitive than the past two years (think the dreamcast versions, but huge upgrade). There is an extra difficulty level, the chemisty system works a lot better, and the defense in this game is pumped up (more options, etc.). For example, someone like Tayshaun sticks with his man on the drive and has a much higher chance to rip the ball using the new Rip and Strip System than say Jamall Crawford or Szcerbiak (who look like their real life idiot counterparts when trying to do big defensive plays). The free throw system is really nice too. The only faults are the occasional AI hiccup where someone will pivot three times then make a layup (though rare), the terrible commentary and player ratings are a bit off (though not nearly as bad as in Live). Full Authority is thankfully gone, 24/7 mode actually has a means to an end now, and players and teams behave more like their real life counter parts (also more so than in EA Live). If you like basketball, pick this up. A great simulation. Expand
  6. LawrenceP.
    Sep 30, 2005
    9
    This is the basketball game fans have been waiting for, pick it up and enjoy the best basketball game ever made.
  7. MarkJ.
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    What can I say. This game has improved on graphics. Gameplay is awsome. 24/7 is full of fun. Assosiation is just to deep. It was missing something, I can't really say. I recommend it to any b-ball fan.
  8. RonJ.
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    This game has really improved from last years. I really like the gameplay, and it does take a little bit to get used to the extreme dunks/moves with the Left Thumbstick. Overall, I think that the stars (MARBURY) are built up a little too much! But, if someone takes that little guy, then you just match up with a team like NJ!! The online features are pretty good too. GREAT GAME!!!
  9. MarvinJ.
    Oct 6, 2005
    6
    I personally feel the control changes and tuning made 2k6 even worse this year. 2k3 was the top of their form and now it's all just show.
  10. MattZ.
    Nov 10, 2005
    5
    Well i can only speak for the gameplay when playing on the season mode but once again sega sports is too arcadish for me. I didnt have much of a feel of a simulation game because i can dunk or drive to the hoop almost any play. Really that one error alone is a huge error to me which dropped 4 to 5 points off of my ranking. Other than that the gameplay is good and i'm sure the online Well i can only speak for the gameplay when playing on the season mode but once again sega sports is too arcadish for me. I didnt have much of a feel of a simulation game because i can dunk or drive to the hoop almost any play. Really that one error alone is a huge error to me which dropped 4 to 5 points off of my ranking. Other than that the gameplay is good and i'm sure the online is a blast. I'm going to have to rent Live 06 which will hopefully give me a little more realistic gameplay. we'll see. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 2K Sports fully justifies the shift from budget to full-price for this NBA title with a deeper franchise mode, solid controls and much improved AI.
  2. 80
    Delivers a solid simulation basketball game that's worth picking up if you've got a hankering for the sport, not to mention the fact that's it's incredibly affordable.
  3. If you're a big basketball fan, go out and buy NBA 2K6, because it's a must and officially it's extremely accurate.