NBA Inside Drive 2004 Xbox

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
Buy On
  1. If you are the type of person who cares more about gameplay and is looking for a sim-like basketball experience, run out and get this game as soon as possible. No game comes closer to replicating the on the court action of the NBA.
  2. I have yet to play a game even against the computer that I have not enjoyed with Inside Drive 2004. It does a lot, but it doesn't try to do too much, which I have found even in "ESPN Basketball."
  3. If you want to play basketball online, look no further as this is the best game available on any platform for online play.
  4. 84
    If what you're looking for is an accurate representation of true NBA Basketball, I'd buy Inside Drive in a heartbeat.
  5. No basketball game before has represented the NBA quite like this, and this game should definitely not be missed.
  6. Granted, Inside Drive’s default rosters are old, the sounds are a bit repetitive, the menus stale and the players awkwardly animated. It still shines when it comes to what really matters: gameplay and replayability.
  7. Official Xbox Magazine
    79
    There are definitely better b-ball games on Xbox. [Dec 2003, p.94]
  8. This is a tough game to recommend because the single-player game is so weak when compared to even the basketball games from last year by Sega and EA.
  9. The game suffers from sluggish game play and perceived slow controller response issues.
  10. The first thing you notice when playing, is that the speed of the game is much slower than in other basketball games. Using turbo to get to the basket from your court side is not as easy either.
  11. Suffers from a lot of minor issues from bland graphics to somewhat unresponsive play.
  12. A solid basketball title that has the general mechanics down pat, but everything else still needs work.
  13. 75
    The game has improved -- most notably by including some very thorough online abilities -- but not to the degree that the EA and Sega games have.
  14. The only real disappointment I can point out is that it’s obvious that Microsoft chose to focus on online this year, more so than features.
  15. Play Magazine
    75
    Where Inside Drive draws the fouls are in the visuals. [Dec 2003, p.98]
  16. GameNow
    75
    Microsoft might be on its way to a formidable basketball franchise. [Jan 2004, p.63]
  17. Only a marginal improvement over last year’s game.
  18. GMR Magazine
    70
    One of the better 5-on-5 basketball games we've played. [Jan 2004, p.82]
  19. Offensively the game plays amazing; defensively the game struggles.
  20. Sort of an allegorical comparison to "Inside Drive" itself. It wants to be one of the big boys, and it certainly has the potential to get there, but if you’ll pardon the pun, they both need to spend another year at the college level before they make the jump.
  21. 70
    A decent basketball game with an excellent online tie-in. Still, this series needs a serious wake-up call if it hopes to compete with the likes of EA and ESPN next year.
  22. Weekly Famitsu
    68
    7 / 7 / 6 / 7 - 27 [Vol 788; 23 Jan 2004]
  23. With each iteration, the series has offered more and more features, but with Inside Drive 2004, it's apparent that the developers at High Voltage still have a ways to go before catching up to their competitors.
  24. This past year Microsoft put a large amount of time and effort into the creation of XSN, so let’s hope this means they’ll have that extra time to beef up the gameplay and depth of the sports titles themselves for the 2005 season.
  25. Fails to do anything exciting or revolutionary, nor does it execute anything any better than other basketball offerings do.
  26. Internet is the focus, and I admit XSN has a lot going for it. However, the game just slips further and further into mediocrity. [Dec 2003, p.172]
  27. It lacks the little things to push it to absolute greatness, like a depth-filled franchise mode, challenging AI, and the kind of graphics that other efforts easily outshine.
  28. There’s just no reason to draft this underachiever when some big dogs are still up for grabs.
  29. Xbox Nation Magazine
    50
    Put simply, Drive is Xbox Live-enabled Tab when there's already Coke and Pepsi. [Mar 2004, p.80]
  30. Cheat Code Central
    50
    While there can be no argument that Inside Drive is more sim than any other basketball game it just doesn't do it well enough for it to be fun.
  31. 40
    Keep this one on the bench and hope that some off-season workouts can elevate it to starting status.

Awards & Rankings

#68 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. ChaiN.
    Mar 7, 2004
    9
    I've played other basketball games including ESPN and NBA Live, but this one is the most realistic, as well as fun. The only thing that I've played other basketball games including ESPN and NBA Live, but this one is the most realistic, as well as fun. The only thing that kept this game from getting a 10 is the fact that when you're on defense and you go up for a block, there is a little lag time, which makes if VERY difficult to block a shot. You have to get the timing down perfect, but even then it's hard. Other than that one thing, this game is awesome. I can honestly say that it's the best NBA game I've ever played, and I've been playing sporting video games for 15 years! Full Review »
  2. BenL.
    Jan 28, 2004
    0
    Hey Ed and Brian, you both dunno what your talking about. NBA Live craps all over inside drive.
  3. BrianK.
    Nov 29, 2003
    10
    Ed what r u talkin a bout this game rocks the online play everything!