User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarcD.
    Sep 29, 2006
    6
    Let's get this out of the way...I'm not some mindless groupie who champions the cause of the 'Live' or '2K' camps. When I began playing hoops videogames, I got my basketball jones on the old Sega Genesis 'Live'. Since NBA Live 95, I've been playing hoops sims. Hell...I even played 'Jordan VS Bird' for a spell. But by the time Let's get this out of the way...I'm not some mindless groupie who champions the cause of the 'Live' or '2K' camps. When I began playing hoops videogames, I got my basketball jones on the old Sega Genesis 'Live'. Since NBA Live 95, I've been playing hoops sims. Hell...I even played 'Jordan VS Bird' for a spell. But by the time 'NBA 2K' was released on the Sega Dreamcast, 'Live' had fallen into a major rut. The series was simply not making any progress. That said, ever since then, I have purchased every new yearly edition of both '2K' and 'Live'. Every year, '2K' is superior in every way. This year's edition is no different. For all the flaws, you can read the Gamespot review. But coming from an old fan of 'Live'...it's just sad how the series has ended up. EA should really look hard at their franchise. And if they still don't intend to do something serious...it's time to leave the sport to '2K''s capable development teams. Expand
  2. DamienW.
    Oct 3, 2006
    2
    This game is plain horrible.
  3. gogu-
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    NO SUBS! Its just unplayable.
  4. NateJ.
    Nov 1, 2006
    7
    Yo, this game is alright. I would like to see upgrades, but this game is still classic, though aging.
  5. RocksB.
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    This game is awesome!
  6. XavierJ.
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    THis game is back in the building. Franchise mode is so dope.
  7. RodB.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    EA has done it again, with consistent brilliance, and will make people learn how to play the game the right way. It's for thinkers and players, not for those who just want it their own way. And, the franchise mode is great, because it allows you to set your rotations, because guys get too tired in real life. If they didn't, every starter would get 40-48 minutes a game, and EA has done it again, with consistent brilliance, and will make people learn how to play the game the right way. It's for thinkers and players, not for those who just want it their own way. And, the franchise mode is great, because it allows you to set your rotations, because guys get too tired in real life. If they didn't, every starter would get 40-48 minutes a game, and there's just too much running and energy to expend in a two and a half hour game. Plus, role players are always key and vital to each and every team, thus making it realistic. And even better, you can do a draft-over of the 2006 draft. It's much better than '08, where they have sloppy player ratings of 1st and 2nd year players where they vastly underrate Waltre Hermann, Rajon Rondo, and Ronnie Brewer, and overrate Thornton, McRoberts, and Cook. This game is a must-buy for hard-core basketball fans that actually know the game. Expand
  8. Adrian
    Dec 12, 2006
    6
    This game is average, but still alot better than the XBOX 360 version. For me, the best versions of NBA Live were NBA Live 2000 on the PC, NBA Live 2004 on the PS2 and NBA Live 2005 on the XBOX. They have gone backwards with this game instead of improving it every year like they should be doing. Get NBA 2k7 instead.
  9. MattJ.
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    This is game is awesome. Franchise mode is so deep, it rivals none other than possibly 2K7. And even then so, it's so realistic it puts you right into the action, and the freestylin' with the superstars puts this game to the top.
  10. TylerB.
    Dec 28, 2007
    6
    This game is okay, some players are really good, but the global sliders are too goofy. And the hard-line ratings? Please. You can't tell me that a player like Brewer would be good with every system or coach he will play in. For example, if someone tells him to be a Ben Gordon, half court jumpshooter, his stats will suffer. But since Sloan is a good coach, he is a good slashing, This game is okay, some players are really good, but the global sliders are too goofy. And the hard-line ratings? Please. You can't tell me that a player like Brewer would be good with every system or coach he will play in. For example, if someone tells him to be a Ben Gordon, half court jumpshooter, his stats will suffer. But since Sloan is a good coach, he is a good slashing, defensive player who makes for a pretty solid complementary starter. Their franchise mode is solid, but their gameplay did need a few tweaks. Worse yet, their '08 game is worse than this years with even worse roster ratings and franchise mode. Expand
  11. KevlarM.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    This is one of the better games of 2007. A game that actually understands the concepts of reality, not like the fake kind where starters will play all 48 minutes, but don't in actual life. In football, there are 35-40 seconds for each possession, so players can rest for 20 seconds for the huddle to start the play, and rest even more because they don't play both sides of the This is one of the better games of 2007. A game that actually understands the concepts of reality, not like the fake kind where starters will play all 48 minutes, but don't in actual life. In football, there are 35-40 seconds for each possession, so players can rest for 20 seconds for the huddle to start the play, and rest even more because they don't play both sides of the ball. In baseball, they stand around a lot, hit a baseball, and seldom run unless they steal a base, run to catch a fly/ground ball, or if they have a chance for extra base hits. In basketball, there is a lot of running, much like hockey, except there are hands to be used, and players play both sides of the ball. And even so, there are line changes in hockey. Basketball understands the concept of using your bench and rotations, and it is a game where Rip Hamilton can score 30 points in a game by coming off the bench! You can start a defensive specialist and have him play less than a bench player, and it'll be okay! It's a really good game when you take it to the rim, and even so, you can adjust the sliders to shoot the ball. Stephen Jackson of the Warriors is money in this game. Try it. Just move the shooting sliders up to about 70 or so. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. The bottom line is that NBA Live 07 is a pretty darned good hoops sim - once you adjust the wonky default sliders. Without it, the shooting doesn't give an inch, no matter how well you time your release.
  2. With developers shifting their focus on next-gen consoles, we're left with a rehash of last season's efforts, albeit with minor changes here and there.
  3. NBA Live 07 looks and sounds great. The pace on the court is just right, but the AI players are not quite up to their tasks at all times. Good fun, nonetheless. [Dec 2006, p.82]