Need for Speed Most Wanted Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Need for Speed Most Wanted, you can try to become the most notorious street racer alive. Outrun both racers and cops to increase your reputation and move up the street racing blacklist. You can choose from a variety of vehicle types and destructible urban maps featuring shortcuts,In Need for Speed Most Wanted, you can try to become the most notorious street racer alive. Outrun both racers and cops to increase your reputation and move up the street racing blacklist. You can choose from a variety of vehicle types and destructible urban maps featuring shortcuts, traffic, and patrolling police. Need for Speed Most Wanted also includes online play for challenging other gamers. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The addition of the cops returns the series to its roots, while keeping the gameplay mechanics and large city of the Underground games will make it accessible to fans of those games.
  2. Great blend of the series' best bits: customizable cars, high-octane races, and cop chases. [Holiday 2005, p.86]
  3. It skips the commercial appeal of the Underground games and offers a game filled with intense races, great FMV cutscenes and number of cool cars.
  4. 85
    As a current-gen game it's stunning. The Xbox version is notably impressive, and even moreso when you see it side-by-side with its sibling on 360.
  5. A decent enough racing experience. The police chases are excellent fun, but where is the proper civilian traffic? [Dec 2005]
  6. 80
    The Xbox version, in addition to being considerably better-looking than the PS2 version, also supports Xbox Live online play for head-to-head racing, though seemingly must-have features, like co-op racing or the ability to play as the cops, didn't make it into the online portion of the game.
  7. It's a nice, clean package that delivers enough hi-octane chases and enjoyment to warrant a purchase. [Christmas 2005, p.121]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Daz
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    i never bothered with nfsu and nfsu2 i thought was very weak. So i wasn't expecting much from this game. Boy, was i surprised!! The game i never bothered with nfsu and nfsu2 i thought was very weak. So i wasn't expecting much from this game. Boy, was i surprised!! The game is ace. The single player is fun and exciting and i'm also enjoying the 63 challenges so far. I haven't tried online yet but i've heard from a friend that it's OK. So a recommendation comes from me and i'm not even a fan of car modding game. Expand
  2. Kenny
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    The NFS series just keep getting better. The "Black Edition" just makes this one that much better with the extra cars! The game is fast and The NFS series just keep getting better. The "Black Edition" just makes this one that much better with the extra cars! The game is fast and has lots of movie style cinema. My only complaint so far is that i cant fix the controls to my exact liking. There are 9 stored set-ups that are available, but i would rather be able to set all the controls to my liking. Not a biggie though. Get this jewel, you'll love it! Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Probably the top tuner game out there today. I have not found another game that has customization like this and has the fun level of thisProbably the top tuner game out there today. I have not found another game that has customization like this and has the fun level of this game. Sure NFS2 had a huge and better world map, but it had no cops, and this is where NFSMW2005 strikes the jack pot as the best need for speed game ever (imo). The cops are hard, they arent going to give you the right to drive over their city recklessly, so you'll need to be able to destroy the vehicles they target at you. Wreck them, ram them into walls, blow them up via gas tanks, and other fun destructive things. The control of the cars is rather tight, and you won't be able to turn 90 degrees without slowing down a little bit. This game actually has A STORY, and it's one of the better stories of this franchise, and I feel like the characters used are all pretty cool and fun to race. The car selection is a decent amount (at roughly 30 stocks), though it could be improved if it were to be remade in the current times. I feel like this game is the top of EA's work, and should be crowned as the king of tuner racing games and possibly a chance at one of the best racing games of all time. Finish the story? Well you have a bunch of secrets and challenges to play, so that helps greatly to extend the replayability.

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 9/10
    Music: 9.5/10
    Presentation: 10/10
    Length: 9/10
    Overall: 10/10
    Expand
  4. ToddK.
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    This game was so much fun. The final cop chase is just insane!! I recommend this game to anyone who likes a good racer.
  5. J.G.
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    this game is awesome, the cars and movie style cut scenes are great but only one complaint.what is up with 2 player mode no cop chases come this game is awesome, the cars and movie style cut scenes are great but only one complaint.what is up with 2 player mode no cop chases come on, i like the changes but the co-op chases need to be brought back. Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    The best car racing game ever made for shore. The current need for speed most wanted in 2013 is a terrible version of the this originalThe best car racing game ever made for shore. The current need for speed most wanted in 2013 is a terrible version of the this original despite the many years that have past and how far other game series have come.The way the races are set up and the menus are quick and easy to go through. Driving in the open world is actually a real world simulation. Switching with the pad to the map to see where your going is easy and awesome to switch to find a hideout when cops are chasing. The sound track is large and good. The modification of cars that are actually affordable to the common man is awesome with bodykit shaping and real world mag wheels and tires with even extra customisation of the standard rims. I loved the very first pc game of need for speed by Electronic Arts with the Lotus Esprit and Ferrari F40. I liked playing Burnout on x box with my five year old nephews with the slow mo car crashes but even they got bored after watching the slow mo crash for the 50th time just like I did and just wanted to keep driving. This is one of the last great Electronic Arts need for speed games. Aiming for a gap in a roadblock and crashing through with slowed down gameplay not a cut scene is awesome then flicking to a map to find a cool down spot is best fun ive had in a game and when you modify the car it sounds and acts just like a real car would. I know because have a supra. Drifting takes alot of skill but when get good points build up on screen I'm very dissapointed with the 2013 Electronic Arts/ Burn out collabaration its a shocker compared to the xbox version I think I know why. Car companys now discourage modification with the loss off warranty for nissan gtrs and even the car manual has a picture of a gtr with a bodykit with a red cross over it and most other manuafacters today are the same these days it sad and pathetic The police in the 2013 version seem to be much more effective and its packed with alot more adds. The worst thing is everytime you crash its the burnout slow mo for 10 seconds and then your reset in another place its pathetic and almost the whole 2013 game made me angry.. This original xbox need for speed most wanted is nothing like that and thats why it is awesome. Expand
  7. KyleL.
    Feb 10, 2006
    9
    Was very intersting. Graphics are on a new level, and the driving is very realistic. I loved this game, and all race fans should get it, if Was very intersting. Graphics are on a new level, and the driving is very realistic. I loved this game, and all race fans should get it, if not already. Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews