NHL 2003 Xbox

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 2 out of 11

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Uter
    Sep 5, 2003
    2
    There isn't a more disappointing hockey game out there. NHL went from being my favorite game series of all time to one of my least. They keep adding gimmicky things, and fogetting to improve the realism and gameplay. Also, the graphics are almost unchanged from last year. I really hate this game. I will never buy another EA NHL game ever again!
  2. S.S.
    May 20, 2003
    10
    It's awesome.
  3. EverettV.
    Jan 13, 2003
    9
    I'm usually a Sega Sports fan, but my girlfriend convinced me to go out on a limb (translation: she paid for it). We have played together several times and enjoyed it thoroughly. Neither one of us are sports fanatics, yet we still found this fun to play. There is more in the game than I'll ever use, but that doesn't mean I liked it any less. It'd be nice if someone I'm usually a Sega Sports fan, but my girlfriend convinced me to go out on a limb (translation: she paid for it). We have played together several times and enjoyed it thoroughly. Neither one of us are sports fanatics, yet we still found this fun to play. There is more in the game than I'll ever use, but that doesn't mean I liked it any less. It'd be nice if someone included a mode for first time players of sports games to help give them an edge. Even with adjustments I still have to make sure she enjoys the game (translation: play to her skill level). Expand
  4. BlueWalrusWally
    Jun 6, 2003
    9
    Pros: -Excellent well rounded Game as always from EA. -Defense AI is great, The Trap really does work. -Announcers are the real thing. -Game play is great Cons: -Computer is too good when they are down... how realistic is it that they score on one shot everytime I score on them? And sometimes I have about 34 shots to 10, and the score can be 5-4. Ridicilous unfair AI. -It's too easy Pros: -Excellent well rounded Game as always from EA. -Defense AI is great, The Trap really does work. -Announcers are the real thing. -Game play is great Cons: -Computer is too good when they are down... how realistic is it that they score on one shot everytime I score on them? And sometimes I have about 34 shots to 10, and the score can be 5-4. Ridicilous unfair AI. -It's too easy to score by doing one-timers. Only Great players can pass as well as the average joes in this game can. -With AUTO line changes, they go off at the dumbest of times, when I'm on a possible 2 on 1 breakaway. They should have a meter indicating your players are off, because 50% of the time I pass the puck and then it zooms down to my zone because my players are changing. Expand
  5. MikeJ.
    Oct 22, 2002
    9
    Tons of fun for the true hockey fan.
  6. SeanC.
    Feb 20, 2003
    10
    This game is the best hockey game i have ever played in my life. the best part was 100 million.
  7. IannA.
    Oct 16, 2002
    8
    NHL 2003 is NHL 2002 updated. The cool thing about this year's version is the new gamebreaker add-on and a good bonus is the nice soundtrack added on. I miss the shoot outs options, I don't know why they removed it. Seasons and International tournament are fun, but after one, you don'T come back for more, IMO. Got friends? This is the right game for you.
  8. AndrewM.
    Jul 24, 2003
    8
    Superb! A truly great game that suffers from a few minor glitches. For someone that does not own, or has never played NHL 2002, then this is a sound purchase. Having said that, this is the 3rd EA hockey title that I have purchaced and again it is still top notch...(I must say however it has been a long time between drinks for myself... NHL 94 and NHL 96 (SNES) which at the time were Superb! A truly great game that suffers from a few minor glitches. For someone that does not own, or has never played NHL 2002, then this is a sound purchase. Having said that, this is the 3rd EA hockey title that I have purchaced and again it is still top notch...(I must say however it has been a long time between drinks for myself... NHL 94 and NHL 96 (SNES) which at the time were awesome) Graphically, NHL 2003 may not make the most of the xbox's capabilities, but the replays and soundtracks, and generally animations, (of players, refs and crowd) makes for a worthwhile experience. The statistically minded are also well taken care off with a very impressive aray of stats from the current and previous season, as well as playoffs! The only minor draw-back can be noted with the defensive linesmen AI. Leaving men alone infront of the net, giving away stupid penalties etc... However, with practice the advanced player can learn to ignore the puck carrier, and iron out those camping infront of the goalie (even if sometimes the action is not on the screen). Despite some flaws, this is a well rounded game, with a way cool soundtrack, and in-depth gameplay! A winner. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. There's just enough innovation here to warrant spending another 50 clams, but only if you're a die-hard fan of the series. [Winter 2002, p.105]
  2. You can’t really go wrong with this one.
  3. What accounts for the less-than-perfect score is the extreme amount of tweaking it takes to get everything just the way you like it.