NHL 2004 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's been called the fastest sport on Earth--and the faster the players, the tougher the contact. NHL 2004 brings professional hockey to life like never before, with crisp passes, searing slap-shots, and a variety of new ways to check your opponent to regain control of the puck. NHL 2004It's been called the fastest sport on Earth--and the faster the players, the tougher the contact. NHL 2004 brings professional hockey to life like never before, with crisp passes, searing slap-shots, and a variety of new ways to check your opponent to regain control of the puck. NHL 2004 is the hockey fan's dream come true, with the addition of international leagues, Bruise Control fighting system, online play, and a Dynasty Mode that lets you build a powerhouse.'. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Not to be outdone, EA Sports has upped the ante with NHL 2004 and it truly has left me speechless. What am I so excited about? One word - Dynasty Mode... For hockey fans, this is a no brainer. [Sept 2003, p.88]
  2. This is almost certainly the best release in the history of the NHL series and one of the most authentic action-oriented sports games currently on the market.
  3. Everything that has been revamped makes me look forward to next year's version and see if they can bring it all together.
  4. While the game moved from the arcade feel to more a realistic feel, the impressive graphics remain.
  5. Dynasty Mode is NHL 2004's best feature. It's literally an RPG. [Oct 2003, p.80]
  6. Does a fantastic job for the hardcore hockey fan with endless hours of play in Dynasty mode, but it can’t quite match the competition when it comes to delivery and mechanics. The lack of online play for Xbox owners once again makes me want to holler at EA for their irritating deal with Sony.
  7. Too much force and not enough finesse - that's the problem with EA's puck offering. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for getting' physical, but not when it comes at the cost of disrupting the natural flow of hockey. [Oct 2003, p.138]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26
  1. JarridR.
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    The Dynasty Mode kicks butt, The on ice sounds kill ESPN, the comentary sounds better then ESPN. The custom team creation into the NHL and The Dynasty Mode kicks butt, The on ice sounds kill ESPN, the comentary sounds better then ESPN. The custom team creation into the NHL and Dynaty is awesome. The game is just more fun...and that's the whole point to a game, right? Expand
  2. AlecM.
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    This game kicks ass. It has so many different modes of play to enjoy. And on top you getto build on your EA sports bio.
  3. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    The most fun arcade hockey game ever created. Ahead of its time in terms of commentary and features in dynasty mode. Controlling the ticketThe most fun arcade hockey game ever created. Ahead of its time in terms of commentary and features in dynasty mode. Controlling the ticket prices, salary caps, staff and contracts was present in this game and led the way with the improvements for future games. The soundtrack was also killer and the game was presented in a way that was easy on the eye. Of course the game has not aged particularly well, but this game is still fun to go back to and take on a friend. Expand
  4. Wingsfan
    Jul 14, 2004
    8
    I think this is EA's best game yet, Realistic Skating, new Dynasty mode, and improved graphics, however it has its bad things, such asI think this is EA's best game yet, Realistic Skating, new Dynasty mode, and improved graphics, however it has its bad things, such as signing free agents easily by just making offers, takes the other teams out of the competition, thus I give it an 810. Expand
  5. SpinelesenhaeurMax
    Nov 6, 2003
    5
    Bad control....hard to play...it should have arcade mode....i prefer nhl 2k3.
  6. CrazyIvan
    Oct 1, 2003
    4
    EA's nhl just keeps getting worse... It fells like the players are skating in the air... The graphics looks like on N64 (Yes it's EA's nhl just keeps getting worse... It fells like the players are skating in the air... The graphics looks like on N64 (Yes it's true) and the controlls are so sloppy... was looking forward to this release but now i'll never look at EA's Nhl again... ESPN Hockey does so much better in EVERY aspect of the game. Expand
  7. TuomasK.
    Sep 16, 2003
    0
    Very poor. I don't even know why EA has pushed this game in the market, so unfinished. DON'T BUY THIS!!! Waste of time and money. Very poor. I don't even know why EA has pushed this game in the market, so unfinished. DON'T BUY THIS!!! Waste of time and money. Get ENH (Espn Nhl Hockey) Expand

See all 26 User Reviews