• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Mar 2, 2004
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 144

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Potentate66
    Mar 3, 2004
    3
    Superior graphical excellence don't mean diddly when the camera is 20 feet behind the action!!!
  2. DanielA.
    Mar 27, 2006
    3
    The graphics are cool, fighting is cool, gameplay is cool, camera angle is bad!
  3. MadMan
    Apr 1, 2004
    4
    Over-rated , its just a different type of resident evil. i give it a low rating because at the end of the day who wants to kill about 18 stupidly fast ninja (most with guns! ) and 3 giant monsters- only to be constantly killed by a main boss resulting in doing the whole thing again ,ie level 5 . graphics dont make a game so i give it 4 out of 10.
  4. Wilco
    Jul 30, 2004
    3
    Like Howard M. already said: "Probably the most over-rated game I've ever played." Its repetitive and the camera sucks never showing you what you need to see, making a hard game even harder. The combat system is what makes the game repetitive, its the most dull hack 'n slash system ever. You're better of playing the old NES games :P
  5. RobR.
    Oct 14, 2005
    2
    Dear Tecmo, I was just writing to let you know that in order to win a fight, you have to be able to actually see your opponent.
  6. TuomasK.
    Feb 27, 2004
    0
    Bad control, bad game. The visuals lack the polish of MGS2 or Getaway, and those are PS2 games. A Disappointment of a year. Buy Tenchu:Return From Darkness if you want good ninja action to yuor Xbox.
  7. JohnM.
    Mar 7, 2004
    4
    This game is horrid on many levels. You are entirely unable to negotiate the camera, save points are very few and very far between, and the bosses are preposterously hard to fight. I purchased this game tonight and will return it tomorrow.
  8. RickW.
    May 4, 2004
    1
    This game is just pissing me off... I mean, I just frickin' suck at this game... I'm so into these kinds of games, I was really looking forward to this game, I bought it the first day it arrived at Best Buy, and it's the biggest letdown I've ever had buying a game... The controls are horrible.. That's what bugs me... And the fact that I can't get anywhere This game is just pissing me off... I mean, I just frickin' suck at this game... I'm so into these kinds of games, I was really looking forward to this game, I bought it the first day it arrived at Best Buy, and it's the biggest letdown I've ever had buying a game... The controls are horrible.. That's what bugs me... And the fact that I can't get anywhere pisses me off to no end... I suck... The graphics are beautiful from what I've seen so far in the game, but the controls are just pissing me off.. I dunno... I can't even beat the first main boss dude.. Siiiiiiiigh.. I'm sure if I were better at the game, I'd rate it high, but this is giving me more trouble than any game I've bought so far on my X-Box.. Expand
  9. HowardM.
    Jun 23, 2004
    4
    Probably the most over-rated game I've ever played. I judge games by how much enjoyment they give me compared with how frustrated they make me and in that sense this game is all take and practically no give. The game had a lot of potential but any possible fun was sucked out of it by the ridiculous difficulty level, who exactly is meant to enjoy trying to beat the same boss 30 times Probably the most over-rated game I've ever played. I judge games by how much enjoyment they give me compared with how frustrated they make me and in that sense this game is all take and practically no give. The game had a lot of potential but any possible fun was sucked out of it by the ridiculous difficulty level, who exactly is meant to enjoy trying to beat the same boss 30 times in a row and having to wait for the game to load all over again when you invariably die within the first 10 seconds? The camera is slightly worse than most games which wouldn't be too bad if it didn't lead to your death in about half of cases due to the aforementioned problem. It's great eye candy (shame most people will see none of it beyond the second level) and genuinely fun when you're not constantly dying, which is very, very rarely. Expand
  10. RichardS.
    Apr 13, 2005
    3
    Mmm I thought - the graphics are pretty. And some of the gameplay is cool - jumping up narrow tunnels - very ninja! Shame about the camera, fighting and the difficulty though. The camera control really is woeful and unacceptable. Too many times the cutaway had me walking into a room and then the camera stops in front of me facing the door I entered so i cannot see what is going on as I am Mmm I thought - the graphics are pretty. And some of the gameplay is cool - jumping up narrow tunnels - very ninja! Shame about the camera, fighting and the difficulty though. The camera control really is woeful and unacceptable. Too many times the cutaway had me walking into a room and then the camera stops in front of me facing the door I entered so i cannot see what is going on as I am attacked - genius! Too many times I would be in a tunnel or corridor and couldn't see myself - the camera was stuck around another corner. Terrible and immensely frustrating. It didn't help that the game starts too hard. The fights are uncontrolled button mashing and leaping and the bosses way too hard early on. Overalll: don't believe the hype. Expand
  11. JasenJ
    Mar 16, 2004
    2
    I've only played the demo on the XBox mag DVD, but already I don't like the game. 1. Camera control. Bleh! You have to totally stop moving to change point of view. Hello? How long have we had dynamic POV cameras. 2. World does not remember state. Clear a room, come back later, clear room again, and again, and again. On the same DVD is the new Tenchu. Appears to be a much better I've only played the demo on the XBox mag DVD, but already I don't like the game. 1. Camera control. Bleh! You have to totally stop moving to change point of view. Hello? How long have we had dynamic POV cameras. 2. World does not remember state. Clear a room, come back later, clear room again, and again, and again. On the same DVD is the new Tenchu. Appears to be a much better game. Dynamic camera control, interesting finishing move cinematics. Expand
  12. JesseM.
    Oct 17, 2005
    1
    This game has the worst Camera angles in the world. They are by far the worst i've seen in a game. This made me stop playing the game. Other than that, the game was nothing new.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 89
  2. Negative: 1 out of 89
  1. 9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 796; 19 Mar 2004]
  2. From start to finish, the main element that propels Ninja Gaiden above all others in the action genre is the dazzling combat-based gameplay.
  3. There has been such precise and accurate detail placed on this game that it would be near impossible to point out any faults.