• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Mar 2, 2004
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 144

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnthonyV.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    Early game of the year candidate. The controls, visuals, sounds, and overall feel are absolutely superb. The camera is about as good as it can be for a game like this and is a necessary evil when games such as this make the transition to 3D, so get over it. Oh, and Tuomas K.: congratulations on bringing down the overall score with your insipid gag review. Do yourself a favor and go work Early game of the year candidate. The controls, visuals, sounds, and overall feel are absolutely superb. The camera is about as good as it can be for a game like this and is a necessary evil when games such as this make the transition to 3D, so get over it. Oh, and Tuomas K.: congratulations on bringing down the overall score with your insipid gag review. Do yourself a favor and go work for Gaming Age. They could use a few spin doctors. Expand
  2. DennisY.
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    Unlike shinobi its faster, better weapons and just blows shinobi out of competition. yea its a little hard but were would the fun be if one were able to beat the game in 1 to 2 days. there is no fun that. plus theres always something new in the game that one can find. so if u like shinobi u will love ninja gaiden.
  3. Potentate66
    Mar 3, 2004
    3
    Superior graphical excellence don't mean diddly when the camera is 20 feet behind the action!!!
  4. ShinobiSon
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    The whole game is good just keep clicking right trigger.
  5. ShaneT.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    Amazing. Get this game. gameplay is brilliant, ,graphics are perfect and as for the camera The right trigger is a part of the game. never had a problem . Love it. Love, it love it. even after 15 tries at a boss.
  6. Digyomomma
    Apr 3, 2004
    9
    Good gameplay action and the continous save is great to challenge yourself in a safe way while bumping the difficulty lvl increases the gameplay each time. The added unlock features are nice to as is always nice to replay a game in a new outfit *would have been better to unlock a new kick ass ability*
  7. Drianna
    May 19, 2004
    10
    Rick, you sucking at this game is your problem, the controls are absolutely masterful, you just can't button bash. it is an easy to learn-hard to master game, does not have any unfair challenges, just requires patience and skill. it is also, as robert said, very diverse. its only downside is the locations of save points. they should be before, not after tough challenges. btw, i Rick, you sucking at this game is your problem, the controls are absolutely masterful, you just can't button bash. it is an easy to learn-hard to master game, does not have any unfair challenges, just requires patience and skill. it is also, as robert said, very diverse. its only downside is the locations of save points. they should be before, not after tough challenges. btw, i don't think they should have made it possible to save whenever you want. this would allow you to get past rooms by lucky shots, then save. it would therefore remove the need to be skillful enough to beat a given enemy time and time again, witch would be a shame as it is just this that gives you the "i rock more than ten tons of flax (search google for discordia for details)"-feel. Expand
  8. IanC.
    May 20, 2004
    8
    It's weird this one, because you utterly adore it and hate its guts at the same time. Yes, scenery is beautiful, yes the fighting is balletic and graceful and yes it can be great fun to play BUT yes the camera can be a NIGHTMARE and some fights can be So unforgiving that you have been pummeled to death by some character you have only just spotted and before you know it you are back It's weird this one, because you utterly adore it and hate its guts at the same time. Yes, scenery is beautiful, yes the fighting is balletic and graceful and yes it can be great fun to play BUT yes the camera can be a NIGHTMARE and some fights can be So unforgiving that you have been pummeled to death by some character you have only just spotted and before you know it you are back to the last save and probably winding up to hurling that control through the nearest window. Somehow the game manages to slide from the sublime to the dire depending entirely upon where you happen to be. One moment you are in a big dojo flipping and jumping, running along walls like Neo and chucking shurikens left right and centre whooping for joy and having tremendous fun. The next you are in a room full of crates at different sizes and heights trying desperately to perform a simple three step jump up to the top and not being able to because the camera keeps swinging around disorientating you so you keep running up the wrong wall or bouncing off the wrong crate or just simply walking off the edge of the crate you had just spent ten minutes trying to get to the top of. And don't get me started on boss fights where you can't see the guy who is killing you because the camera is looking somewhere else entirely -aaaaaaaaaaagghhhhhh!!! There is genius game-making in here, but there are Titanic-sized screw-ups as well, and it will depend entirely upon how forgiving you can be of these things that will determine how you feel about ninja gaiden. It has to have an eight for all the good things, but loses 2 (and that is being nice) for the stupid little bad moments that knock what could have truly been the best action game EVER. Oh yeah, and why does super-acrobatic ninja guy walk like he's in splints? Cramps from all the flipping and jumping? Expand
  9. Daz
    May 3, 2004
    9
    Four word sum up this game 'excellent but very hard'. The graphics and movement are first rate but it is sooooooooo hard. I've played for about 3 hours and i'm stuck on the 2nd boss. I am getting better though and am quite determined to progress as far as i can. If you like fighting game and a challenge then this is the game for you. Thye only negative is the camera Four word sum up this game 'excellent but very hard'. The graphics and movement are first rate but it is sooooooooo hard. I've played for about 3 hours and i'm stuck on the 2nd boss. I am getting better though and am quite determined to progress as far as i can. If you like fighting game and a challenge then this is the game for you. Thye only negative is the camera which sometimes means you can't see what you really should be able to (eg people attacking you) That why i haven't given it a 10. Expand
  10. HarryS.
    Aug 10, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome... the graphics are awesome and the gameplay is really fun. whoever gives this game a bad score means that they probably suck at the game.... this is one of my favorite games for the xbox if not my favorite.
  11. ShayS.
    Aug 10, 2004
    10
    The people who criticize this game for its difficulty and camera system are ignorent and cant see past their noses! Tomonubu Itagaki is already installing a brand new camera system in which you will be able to adjust it more. As for the so-called repetitive gameplay and difficulty, these people weren't skilled enough to get past the first level (In which you get 1 weapon with limited The people who criticize this game for its difficulty and camera system are ignorent and cant see past their noses! Tomonubu Itagaki is already installing a brand new camera system in which you will be able to adjust it more. As for the so-called repetitive gameplay and difficulty, these people weren't skilled enough to get past the first level (In which you get 1 weapon with limited attacks, but thats normal for any first level of any game). Once you get at least 3 hours into the gameplay the attack list doubles and boredom (which there isn't) ceases. At around 20 hours you can have weapons with up to 30 combination attacks. Repetitive fighting my arse, the game gets 7 unique upgradeable melee weapons (one even upgrades 7 times), 7 projectile weapons, and 5 armlets that give special qualities. The game takes up to 50 hours, which is 5 time longer than the average action game, and is in a world bigger than GTA: Vice City. This game deserves an 11 out of 10 because of all the work that the people at Team Ninja have done for the past 6 years, and still are doing to improve on those little "flaws" so many prople are ranting on about. Ninja Gaiden owns. Expand
  12. LoucasM.
    Sep 2, 2004
    10
    A clear ten for the best XBOX game out yet. Simply beautiful.
  13. Skillerified
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    For me this is unquestionably the best XBOX game of 2004. Ninja kicks the crap out of Halo 2 (and follows that up by promptly decapitating Master Chief and the Aribitor in one furious slash). I consider myself only a casual gamer and, yes this game was difficult, but not unbeatable. To me it was refreshingly difficult. It reminded me of younger days (before the wife, house, job, "other For me this is unquestionably the best XBOX game of 2004. Ninja kicks the crap out of Halo 2 (and follows that up by promptly decapitating Master Chief and the Aribitor in one furious slash). I consider myself only a casual gamer and, yes this game was difficult, but not unbeatable. To me it was refreshingly difficult. It reminded me of younger days (before the wife, house, job, "other adult responsibilty") when hours were spent battling the same boss over and over again. There is great satisfaction in victory after such lenghty, fierce battles. I personally had no problems with the camera. Expand
  14. MarkoF.
    May 3, 2005
    10
    One of the best Xboxgames overall. The game is not that hard, you just have to be somewhat patient. Brilliant gameplay and the graphics are incredible. I've beaten the game on Very Hard (ok, THAT was hard...), Normal shouldn't be a problem... Buy it!
  15. DanielA.
    Mar 27, 2006
    3
    The graphics are cool, fighting is cool, gameplay is cool, camera angle is bad!
  16. SYC
    Apr 3, 2007
    6
    Very slick and polished DMC rip off but the often poor camera and ridiculously frustrating difficulty level filled with spikes where there just shouldn't be any leave me recommending you pick up DMC3 on PS2 instead, as it's a far superior title.
  17. WaycoulDoude
    Feb 10, 2004
    10
    I'm looking forward to this game, even more than Halo 2!! Hmmm a gun verses a ninja sword. Plus the graphics look better than halo 2 also.
  18. What?
    Feb 15, 2004
    8
    I'll rate it later WHEN it comes out! It should be good but you dont know. so stop rating it before it comes out! p.s. it wont be better than halo 2! i think.
  19. MikeM.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    You people are idiots for rating a game before it comes out. Who the hell do you think you are? --- " I give it a 10 cause the pictures in a gaming magazine I saw 6 months ago look cool." -- Morons.
  20. BobbyH.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    The game of the year.
  21. Kainraziel
    Feb 9, 2004
    10
    I cant wait for this game to come out... getting to kill other ninjas in a fight to the death... mmmmmmmmm dismemberment of body parts.
  22. AaronJ.
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    Just plain good!!!!!!
  23. ApheX
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    Probably the best action game of this year!
  24. JordanK.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    This game im really xcited about!!!i cant wait till it comes out.i was in love with dmc 1&2 and chaos legion,i wished it was ninja games like this that came out 1st on xbox so i can already play it.the visuals rock my world and should do yours!:)
  25. GeorgeP.
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    Great game. Graphics are awsome, and the gameplay is very challenging. I am still stuck on the horseman boss at the end of level 2. Any tips would be appreciated. My E-mail is gpoulos31@yahoo.com
  26. [Anonymous]
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    Tuomas K. You have no idea what you are talking about!!! Do yourself a favor and grow a brain and then start to play games. You will actually see that this game is 100% why consoles were invented in the first place. Get a life!
  27. Farout
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    This game raises the bar for no just action games but all games on every platform. With its superior in game graphics and gameplay it crushes all prior games. This is an amazing game! PS2 game owners, I feel so sorry for you and your pitiful game machines. Not being able to have this one of a kind game must be painful. Thankyou Team Ninja for this game. You're by far my favorite game This game raises the bar for no just action games but all games on every platform. With its superior in game graphics and gameplay it crushes all prior games. This is an amazing game! PS2 game owners, I feel so sorry for you and your pitiful game machines. Not being able to have this one of a kind game must be painful. Thankyou Team Ninja for this game. You're by far my favorite game creators. THIS GAME ROCKS!!! Expand
  28. SamJ.
    Mar 21, 2004
    10
    The greatest action game out there so far. the graphics are smooth and fast. The game is challenging. So if your not a hardcore gamer, dont buy it! the bosses are hard to beat but fun at the same time. I struggled on the first level against murai, but after 4 trys I gave him a lickin. So I do recommend you purchase it. (Im stuck at those platforms where Doku was defeated so if you have The greatest action game out there so far. the graphics are smooth and fast. The game is challenging. So if your not a hardcore gamer, dont buy it! the bosses are hard to beat but fun at the same time. I struggled on the first level against murai, but after 4 trys I gave him a lickin. So I do recommend you purchase it. (Im stuck at those platforms where Doku was defeated so if you have tips email me at sciencelab99@hotmail.com) Expand
  29. NemacH.
    Mar 20, 2004
    9
    Is Gaming Age a reviewer of any credibility? Out of 37 votes SO FAR, with 29 ratings of 90% or more, Gaming Age sees this game as being SO BAD that it rates NG less than half of that with 42. Their full review is a poorly written outline fraught with whinings about how THEY would have liked the game. Why are 'reviewers' like these incorporated into the Metascore? Sure, I Is Gaming Age a reviewer of any credibility? Out of 37 votes SO FAR, with 29 ratings of 90% or more, Gaming Age sees this game as being SO BAD that it rates NG less than half of that with 42. Their full review is a poorly written outline fraught with whinings about how THEY would have liked the game. Why are 'reviewers' like these incorporated into the Metascore? Sure, I don't just give away points, and I'm all for tough reviews, but their reviews lack credibility and their scores stand out as horribly askewed from, unlike them, the rest of the sensible world. Expand
  30. BillyBang
    Mar 3, 2004
    9
    This game was very good with the execption of a few instances where the camera does not catch up to Ryu. Another thing to people who give games a score of 0. Don't bash consoles you don't have or dislike.
  31. Frozenpinky
    Mar 3, 2004
    9
    Top notch action game. Challenging and beautiful...Fast paced and Bloody. Quickly tap the right-trigger and the camera will set-drop behind you.
  32. MikeYo
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    Ya this game is the coolest game ever and for the people who complain about the camera just hit the right trigger and it goes back to perfect.
  33. Deliveryboy
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    Metacritic needs to do something about that gaming age review score. If you read the gaming age on their site they give it a C- which they state is an average score. An average score on metacritic is probably a 70 to 75 so where did the 42 come from?!?!?
  34. Mike
    Mar 7, 2004
    9
    I can understand C=50 as a general rule, however it is not correct for the "Gaming Age" site and so should not apply in this case. For a start they clearly state that they *never* give A+, therefore C would not be the median. I'd say that C- would be closer to 50 than 42.
  35. AndyA.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    Easily the best game in YEARS! The difficulty is a must for games of today. true, this game doesn't hold your hands like EVERY OTHER 3D game, and the developers made it clear that's what they was going for. the controls are fluid, the graphics are beautiful, and the the camera 'IS' controlable. the action is fast and deadly. this game is true to the roots of old schoolEasily the best game in YEARS! The difficulty is a must for games of today. true, this game doesn't hold your hands like EVERY OTHER 3D game, and the developers made it clear that's what they was going for. the controls are fluid, the graphics are beautiful, and the the camera 'IS' controlable. the action is fast and deadly. this game is true to the roots of old school videogames. we've lacked true challenging games since the 16/32 bit days, and this is a homage to a true gamer's test of skill. and to be quite honest, the difficulty is fair. it's hard only because the player wants to button smash. if you select a certain weapon, there are specific moves offered in a 'moves list' that would help you understand and use that weapon. plus the 'BLOCK' button is definitely, and FINALLY, a useful button. True action, hardcore gameplay, lots of hidden goodies, and 20 hours of play! pluse unlockables, and online features! this game is a true gamers trophy. if you want to spend (and lose) $50 on an easier game that would baby you through it's end, making you feel that you never EARNED your way to the ending by use of your own game playing skill, then look elsewhere. If you want to master the arts of a ninja for $50, and feel that you actually accomplish something when you reach the end, then BUY this game NOW. The Story is very simple, no twist endings, or deep storyline because that would take away from the core of the game itself...the action. the music is well tuned for each environment...and it actually made me feel like im in an old school Ninja movie from the '80! wow! dont be fooled into giving up so easily...the challenge isnt frustrating...it's just good AI for the bad guys. I welcome Ninja Gaiden with open arms because classic gaming is back...NINJA STYLE!! Expand
  36. VinistensityCheetaago
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    Nuff' said.
  37. JonathanK.
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    Back in the days of the NES I fell in love with a simple little game called Ninja Gaiden. I absolutely adored it. I played it everyday. It took my wee self 9 months to beat it. I was 9 or 10 I think. I don't recall. I recall every level of that game. I still hum level themes from that game from time to time. Only themes from games as popular as Mario and Zelda have ever done that to Back in the days of the NES I fell in love with a simple little game called Ninja Gaiden. I absolutely adored it. I played it everyday. It took my wee self 9 months to beat it. I was 9 or 10 I think. I don't recall. I recall every level of that game. I still hum level themes from that game from time to time. Only themes from games as popular as Mario and Zelda have ever done that to me. Well, Mario, Zelda, and Ninja Gaiden. The game was frustratin as hell as times, but I felt like I accomplished something when I finally beat a section, boss, and finally the game. It was never unfair, just amazingly hard. The same was true of Ninja Gaiden II. (note: Ninja Gaiden 3 came out when I was no longer using my nintendo, and I never found a copy of NGT for the SNES) I was deeply saddened when I learned that Ninja Gaiden would only be remade for the Xbox. But in the time since I have purchased one, and waited. Now I have Ninja Gaiden. I was upset at first. But I was judging a book by it's cover. The game goes easy on you in the very beginning. It starts with a very simple training stage. Savor it I say. It will get MUCH harder very soon. I welcome that training stage. It doesn't force you through a walkthrough, as you can skip all the training text (and by skip I mean never even access it rather than immediately remove it from the screen). You finish that area with a difficult first boss (only difficult because I didn't have any other bosses to compare it to at the moment). Now you're treated to the game's amazing graphics in full CG glory, and yes, they look even better than the amazing in game screens. But don't be wowed too much, for you now have many more stronger enemies to content with. I thought I reached a boss when two horsemen jumped out at me and I had to fight them, especially considering the special attack one of them had. Turns out they were just a warm up. The game has killed me over a hundred times easily since I got it. Easily. It's that hard. The enemies are that rough. It's frustrating. Not because it's cheap, but because you know you're just not good enough yet. But oh the glory when you are, the glory when you are. This game is destined for greatness. Oh yes. A perfect ten. Why? Because it is everything an action game should be. Devil May what? Castlevania Who? The Ninja's got them beat. Expand
  38. A.A.
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    Great Game !!!
  39. MadMan
    Apr 1, 2004
    4
    Over-rated , its just a different type of resident evil. i give it a low rating because at the end of the day who wants to kill about 18 stupidly fast ninja (most with guns! ) and 3 giant monsters- only to be constantly killed by a main boss resulting in doing the whole thing again ,ie level 5 . graphics dont make a game so i give it 4 out of 10.
  40. AnonymousMC
    Apr 2, 2004
    8
    This is a great game, but it is too difficult. I had trouble getting past the first boss. But when you get over the difficulty it is a great game.
  41. Skuff
    Apr 3, 2004
    8
    It's a good game , only had it 3 days though, im up to level 6 now and so far so good , exellent graphics but it feels like ive been there before? 8/10
  42. Bob
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!
  43. SilentRogue
    May 27, 2004
    5
    Stick with Otogi it's a much better game overall. Even Nightshade on PS2 is a better choice.
  44. BobB.
    May 30, 2004
    10
    This game is really fun!! Graphics are amazing and controls are really good!!
  45. MarcoC.
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    After reading nearly everyone's reviews of this game, I think I'm the only one who didn't have a BIG problem with the camera, yes there were times that camera was a LITTLE bit of a pain on the ass but overall this is - to date - One of the...... No..... IS THE BEST Game of its kind (well to me anyways). The Graphics are one of its best features. The cutscenes almost looks After reading nearly everyone's reviews of this game, I think I'm the only one who didn't have a BIG problem with the camera, yes there were times that camera was a LITTLE bit of a pain on the ass but overall this is - to date - One of the...... No..... IS THE BEST Game of its kind (well to me anyways). The Graphics are one of its best features. The cutscenes almost looks as if it was made for a big budget Hollywood movie film. The controls are sooo close to being perfect. The Gameplay is what shines in Ninja Gaiden the most, If you were to mix The Legend Of Zelda, Devils May Cry, & Prince Of Persia you would get Ninja Gaiden that is the best way I could describe it. If your the type of person who unforgiving then this game MIGHT not be for you. Yes the game is Very Hard to the point that a simple enemy can kill you if your not skilled enough and if you passed that then you can really call yourself a true gamer. Its a No brainer - Its a game you have to get if you own an X-Box or at the very least rent it and Try it out. #1 action Game ~Ninja Gaiden~ Expand
  46. T.E.
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    Amazing.
  47. FernandoA.
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    This is game is only hard for noobs. I admit that the game is hard at first, but once you past chapter 6 or 7 I think it became pretty easy. In my opinion the hardest boss of the game was the guy in the second level. I can't wait for the next ninja gaiden. This game is awesome.
  48. Patrick
    Jul 21, 2004
    10
    This game is incredible. As (most) everyone else has said, it is beautiful and fluid, and one of the most challenging games of its kind in a long time. While it is difficult throughout, and there are occasionally points that can be frustrating, it hearkens to the olden days when games were tests of skill. It is exceptionally satisfying when you defeat a difficult boss, and usually if you This game is incredible. As (most) everyone else has said, it is beautiful and fluid, and one of the most challenging games of its kind in a long time. While it is difficult throughout, and there are occasionally points that can be frustrating, it hearkens to the olden days when games were tests of skill. It is exceptionally satisfying when you defeat a difficult boss, and usually if you are inventive enough you can discover "easy" ways of accomplishing this. While the replay value of this game is arguable, as for myself I can say that its one of the few games I own that I felt compelled to play through a second time and find every last secret. I never had any trouble with the camera angles as some have stated, and I would recommend to those that are starting out to get accustomed to using the camera manipulating power of the R button. Overall this game is outstanding and definitely one of my favorites of all time. I recommend it to anyone, as long as you make a pledge to yourself to not quit when you get stuck on the first or second boss (it gets better!) Expand
  49. FreddyF.
    Jul 20, 2004
    9
    This game is so gosh-darned hard! But very fun slicing and dicing enemies!:))))) 00 u
  50. JoaquinDaS.
    Jul 27, 2004
    10
    This game is an instant classic.
  51. Wilco
    Jul 30, 2004
    3
    Like Howard M. already said: "Probably the most over-rated game I've ever played." Its repetitive and the camera sucks never showing you what you need to see, making a hard game even harder. The combat system is what makes the game repetitive, its the most dull hack 'n slash system ever. You're better of playing the old NES games :P
  52. RobR.
    Oct 14, 2005
    2
    Dear Tecmo, I was just writing to let you know that in order to win a fight, you have to be able to actually see your opponent.
  53. DavidG.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    This game is great except for the camera.
  54. MisterJ.
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    Holy crap. This game is hard. But very fun. What amazes me the most about this game is how old school it is, yet it doesn't feel like any of the elements of the game aren't fresh. The fact is, Ninja Gaiden is an amazing game. In between slicing off the heads of little beasties with your Vigoorian Flail and stabbing the living crap out of soldiers with your Dragon Sword, you stop Holy crap. This game is hard. But very fun. What amazes me the most about this game is how old school it is, yet it doesn't feel like any of the elements of the game aren't fresh. The fact is, Ninja Gaiden is an amazing game. In between slicing off the heads of little beasties with your Vigoorian Flail and stabbing the living crap out of soldiers with your Dragon Sword, you stop and say "Holy shit, this is cool." Ryu Hayabusa's (the main character) fighting moves are identical to those of a button-masher fighting game, but somehow Ninja Gaiden is far from a button masher. You learn good combos from simply experimenting and eventually you learn how to use each weapon best without trying at all. Timing and strategy is key to the fighting, not what uber-move you're unleashing on your opponents. When to jump away, when to block, etc. is all very important. And hard to do. This game will kick your ass. No joke. But you just can't put it down. Ah, hell. Why am I explaining this game? ITS GOT NINJAS, AWESOME CUTSCENES, AND IT DOESN'T SUCK. That should suffice. Go forth and play as Ryu Hayabusa, the ultimate badass! Expand
  55. EricG.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    A very good game. Very fluid graphics, but man, I have'nt seen a game this hard since Zelda 64. Not that that's a bad thing....
  56. CalagoH.
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    This game is without a doubt the prettiest graphics on Xbox.although the camera sometimes sucks it can be forgiven because of the smooth gameplay.{but be warned rent this game before you buy it because it is crazy hard}
  57. SteveP.
    Apr 5, 2006
    9
    I am usually very confident in the games I buy, but this one not so much. I heard really mixed reviews about this games, good things like
  58. GuppyMcDriver
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    For people who are saying this game is too hard then I say that these people should not own a console. There is nothing worse that purchasing a game for £35 [$50] and then completing it in a day [most recent MOH Rising Sun]. This took roughly 50 hours for me to complete and it was 50 hours well spent - there was nothing so satisfying than hurting 20 virtually infallable creatures For people who are saying this game is too hard then I say that these people should not own a console. There is nothing worse that purchasing a game for £35 [$50] and then completing it in a day [most recent MOH Rising Sun]. This took roughly 50 hours for me to complete and it was 50 hours well spent - there was nothing so satisfying than hurting 20 virtually infallable creatures with a 150 hit combo from your Vigoorian Flail - mama. For people who complain about camera angles - come on - we do not live in a holographic society where where fluidity & perfection are commonplace. In comparison to some camera angles out there I thought this was perfectly acceptable. The graphics are fantastic but second only to the combat engine whick kicks proverbial ass. It is th eonly game [& I have played a number] that I have ever....EVER picked up & played again. Mind you I dont think I will be finishing it very quickly on 'very hard' This game is simply kick ass & I would not only recommend it to someone - I would buy a stranger it in the street. Expand
  59. HansV.
    Jan 19, 2004
    10
    Sweet game. Beautiful as anything seen on xbox. Takes propably the last sip of the machines powers. Xbox Live propably for downloadable content.
  60. PhilT.
    Feb 16, 2004
    8
    Yea, odd how I'm also rating the game before its even out. It LOOKS really good, hopefully it plays really well like the original NGs on NES. Too bad Ninja Gaiden isnt multiplayer.
  61. BrandonS.
    Feb 19, 2004
    10
    Based on the demo, (in OXM March issue) this game is the friggin' cream. Your mouth will be saviating at the sight of the gorgeous graphics, and slicing with a ninja has never felt so right. I have read about possible battles with other ninjas over live, but nobody knows for sure...My only complaint is that the only body parts you can chop off are heads (but that's just in the Based on the demo, (in OXM March issue) this game is the friggin' cream. Your mouth will be saviating at the sight of the gorgeous graphics, and slicing with a ninja has never felt so right. I have read about possible battles with other ninjas over live, but nobody knows for sure...My only complaint is that the only body parts you can chop off are heads (but that's just in the demo I hope). Expand
  62. TuomasK.
    Feb 27, 2004
    0
    Bad control, bad game. The visuals lack the polish of MGS2 or Getaway, and those are PS2 games. A Disappointment of a year. Buy Tenchu:Return From Darkness if you want good ninja action to yuor Xbox.
  63. Cyph
    Feb 28, 2004
    9
    Ive only played the demo, but what I did play is an extremely well polished and enjoyable game. Tuomas K, your a tool, go enjoy your ps2, I laugh at your stupidity. Everyone else, dont listen to a word this poor demented fool has to say, for he speaks untruths.
  64. SaadK.
    Mar 11, 2004
    10
    Absolute awesomeness.
  65. EvanP.
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    I've been playing this game for a week now. The best way to describe it is: Prince of Persia meets Soul Caliber II. The gameplay is highly addictive and challenging. The graphics are definitely some of the best ever seen on a console (especially with the Xbox HDTV support!) It's just an all around great game. The only complaints I've heard are that it's too hard or I've been playing this game for a week now. The best way to describe it is: Prince of Persia meets Soul Caliber II. The gameplay is highly addictive and challenging. The graphics are definitely some of the best ever seen on a console (especially with the Xbox HDTV support!) It's just an all around great game. The only complaints I've heard are that it's too hard or that the camera is horrible. When I first started playing this game, I may have agreed with those statements, but as I played more, and started to actually LEARN HOW TO USE THE CAMERA, I realized what a great game I was playing. The camera in Ninja Gaiden is not a static element. Rather, you must learn how to use it (this takes some time). Once you understand how the camera works, and how to manipulate it, the game becomes much easier and much more enjoyable. Ninja Gaiden is difficult relative to most games of the genre, and there are no cheat codes or short cuts to winning. Once you truly get into this game, the fact that it?s a challenge makes it more enjoyable. Any reviewer who smashes this game on the basis of its camera system, or difficulty has obviously not spent enough time playing the game to give an accurate review (In my opinion). Just listen to the majority. Expand
  66. Casanova
    Mar 15, 2004
    10
    This is a good game, I just can't say know more! The way Ryu Hyabusa figth is way to cool. Yes it is hard but so what get over it and beat it. I beat it three times so I no you can.
  67. PaulB.
    Mar 17, 2004
    10
    Wow!!! Great game and storyline, it was worth the wait.
  68. JOSEQ.
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    Absolutely lives up to all my expectations, and much, much more. The action is perfect, the adventure in amazing, the value of the game is that it really is a test of skill and requires you to improve your skills in order to survive as you advance from level to level. The camera is also a part of the skills that requires practice to get better at, but it eventually becomes second nature Absolutely lives up to all my expectations, and much, much more. The action is perfect, the adventure in amazing, the value of the game is that it really is a test of skill and requires you to improve your skills in order to survive as you advance from level to level. The camera is also a part of the skills that requires practice to get better at, but it eventually becomes second nature and the pure adrenaline-driven action becomes the main focus. Awesome. Expand
  69. JuanG.
    Mar 19, 2004
    6
    I have 3 weeks with this game and is amaizing in the view and the controls. Problems: Only can save in check points Why?? In Normal is so Hard is really dificult and this made lost the fun of this very good game.
  70. WilliamM.
    Mar 20, 2004
    6
    Gameplay Great a easy 10, Graphics an another easy 10, but where this game faults at is Controls and Camera systems being just not there so the game is a Easy 6 and could have been better for all the Hype....
  71. KabootleJ.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    They should get rid of the Gaming Age review! How can the camera ruin such a great game? Its actually not annoying at all. No third person game has a perfect camera and Ninja Gaiden's camera if far better than most games. The game is beautifully done and i have no issues.
  72. Max
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    This game is almost perfect. the only thing is the camera angles but this can't possibly ruin the whole fun!!! And to Jasen J: I say that he should shut his mouth because he only played the demo and he doesn't know what he's talking about!!! And by the way tenchu has way less action than ninja gaiden. Get yourself a gamecube and go play your baby games newb.
  73. sNaPsNaP
    Mar 3, 2004
    9
    Just misses a perfect score due to the camera problems. I've only run into a few problems where the camera has really hindered my experience while playing, but those few times are quite frustrating. No other game gives you the rush this game does. You might think the fighting will get repetitive, but there are so many new moves to unlock that it never does. Plus, the multitude of Just misses a perfect score due to the camera problems. I've only run into a few problems where the camera has really hindered my experience while playing, but those few times are quite frustrating. No other game gives you the rush this game does. You might think the fighting will get repetitive, but there are so many new moves to unlock that it never does. Plus, the multitude of weapons keeps it fresh. NG is without a doubt meant for hardcore gamers. Someone looking to just pick this up and play will soon find that out in the 2nd level, the game demands that you know exactly what your doing at all times. The gamer that sticks it out and really learns the combat system will be rewarded with a game that will soon be considered a classic. Expand
  74. Cully
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    This game is a shining example of what all other games should look like in terms of graphics and animations. A "Splinter-Cell" like camera may have been more appealing, but I like the challenge of adjusting my input based on where I am relative to the enemies -- it keeps me on my toes. The challenge that this game offers is unmatched and I look forward to the many more hours of gaming.
  75. OtricoD.
    Mar 6, 2004
    10
    Looking for a challenging game? This is it. Love it. Absolutely love it.
  76. JohnM.
    Mar 7, 2004
    4
    This game is horrid on many levels. You are entirely unable to negotiate the camera, save points are very few and very far between, and the bosses are preposterously hard to fight. I purchased this game tonight and will return it tomorrow.
  77. Mom&Dad
    Mar 8, 2004
    9
    I would give this game a ten. I think it's pretty much as good as any game out there right now, but it has enough issues to warrant a nine for the sake of people who haven't played it yet. You already know that it's beautiful. It's fast and it's violent. It's hard. It puts you to work. You have to master the controls to progress in the game -- it shows no I would give this game a ten. I think it's pretty much as good as any game out there right now, but it has enough issues to warrant a nine for the sake of people who haven't played it yet. You already know that it's beautiful. It's fast and it's violent. It's hard. It puts you to work. You have to master the controls to progress in the game -- it shows no pity. I would have appreciated an "easy" mode for those days when I just want to watch the pretty colors and not have to be coordinated. I would have also appreciated the ability to save whenever in the game -- that would make it a lot easier. I almost gave up yesterday when I was attacked by three ninjas right in front of a save point...I barely defeated them, then saved with just one weak health potion and barely any health. After getting killed a little down the road, I restarted and the three ninjas had respawned in front of the save point -- it took mabye ten tries before I finally beat them and backtracked to the shop. That's my only valid complaint -- it's genuinely difficult, but rarely ever that "cheap." Well, I could complain about the camera, too...but ten hours in to the game, I'm pretty much used to it. It's only really a problem when you're fighting more than three guys or things -- whatever you're fighting. I think if it were set further back this would be completely resolved. But you do get used to it...it forces you to move more often, thus keeps the action fresh and flowing. I think it's important to mention that this is a frustrating game -- and I'm addicted to it. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll throw things and you'll feel like a badass!!! Expand
  78. DonaldDuck
    Apr 13, 2004
    9
    Ok now the graphics are awesome and the gameplay is smooth and great, but I do have to say the camera issue is a big problem for me. That is why I gave it a nine instead of a ten. I do have to mention that games today have started to become way to easy and that people can beat them in one sitting. This game's difficulty is very close to how hard the NES games were. I think this is Ok now the graphics are awesome and the gameplay is smooth and great, but I do have to say the camera issue is a big problem for me. That is why I gave it a nine instead of a ten. I do have to mention that games today have started to become way to easy and that people can beat them in one sitting. This game's difficulty is very close to how hard the NES games were. I think this is what makes a great game because is not to hard to where a person can't beat it. Expand
  79. JohnS.
    Apr 2, 2004
    10
    Under-Rated, its like a totally new style of gameplay that just gives action/puzzle/adventure /and hardcore gamers THE game that we need. the challenge is incredible, having to fight 'actually hard' standard enemies plus those level bosses that live up to the name "Level Boss" these arent no Pac-man ghosts so, gamers lacking the ability to 'try' need to avoid this one. Under-Rated, its like a totally new style of gameplay that just gives action/puzzle/adventure /and hardcore gamers THE game that we need. the challenge is incredible, having to fight 'actually hard' standard enemies plus those level bosses that live up to the name "Level Boss" these arent no Pac-man ghosts so, gamers lacking the ability to 'try' need to avoid this one. Just cause someone sucks at this game, doesnt make it a,, oh let's say 4/10 game. So i give it a 10 Expand
  80. RyuHayabusha
    Apr 24, 2004
    9
    Ever since Devil May Cry, i was hunkering for a stylish hack&slasher wich is very cool. The sequel of DMC sucked so badly that i got disappointed. But mine hunker could not be stopped. And there i saw a trailer of Ninja Gaiden. Goddammit! Must buy XBOX now! I picked a XBOX up a couple of weeks ago along with Ninja Gaiden and i have to say: most amazing action game ever. The move list is Ever since Devil May Cry, i was hunkering for a stylish hack&slasher wich is very cool. The sequel of DMC sucked so badly that i got disappointed. But mine hunker could not be stopped. And there i saw a trailer of Ninja Gaiden. Goddammit! Must buy XBOX now! I picked a XBOX up a couple of weeks ago along with Ninja Gaiden and i have to say: most amazing action game ever. The move list is so deep which makes you wonder if Team Ninja is working on a weapon based fighting game. It is cool, it has depth, it is so easy to control and it is superfast. Every slash you make feels so sexy. It is to bad that you don't have a huge list of throws (just 2). But for the rest..... combat is really satisfying. I like it that how easy cool moves are pulled out your pocket yet understanding the weakness of each move. The game is fricking hard! Not challenging but hard! But i like it alot. I was wondering in each situation where i went wrong. Finally finding the correct tactics. But when you are in a new level...... forget your tactics, find new ones. I really did not like the design of the demons (except for those purple ones with their heads on fire). Ryu is so true acrobat but when it comes down to swimming...... he acts like a cat. The swimming levels were unnecassary. And the graphics...... the graphics!!! So gorgeous, so beautiful. Every animation is real fluid. Action packed and guess what? 60 frames per second baby! It so happens i have a HDTV in the living room and i bought the AV pack. I played it at 480p and what da ya know? BREATHTAKING!!!!!! BEST LOOKING CONSOLE GAME EVER! LOOKS BETTER THEN THE SCREENSHOTS! Brilliant...... get this game now if you have some skill and a lot of patience. Expand
  81. NickL.
    Apr 25, 2004
    10
    It is the best game ever made the graphic is the best it runs smooth and i love it i gave it 10.
  82. RobertJ.
    May 11, 2004
    10
    This is the greatest game I have ever played bar none and I have played a lot of great games. Ryu Hayabusa controls exceptionally well. The action is as sophisticated as a fighting game. The exploration is somewhere between Onimusha and Metroid. There are bosses you would not beleive, tentaclued a buboes galore. There are secret caverns and military bases, temples, ice and lava. There are This is the greatest game I have ever played bar none and I have played a lot of great games. Ryu Hayabusa controls exceptionally well. The action is as sophisticated as a fighting game. The exploration is somewhere between Onimusha and Metroid. There are bosses you would not beleive, tentaclued a buboes galore. There are secret caverns and military bases, temples, ice and lava. There are puzzles akin to what you'd find in a legend of zelda dungeon. There are platforming challenges. You can run up walls, hang off ledges. The cinemas are quality and carry a compelling narrative thread that carries the game. You can even unlock three NES games. It's very difficult. Most will take over 20 hours, some well over that. Expand
  83. RickW.
    May 4, 2004
    1
    This game is just pissing me off... I mean, I just frickin' suck at this game... I'm so into these kinds of games, I was really looking forward to this game, I bought it the first day it arrived at Best Buy, and it's the biggest letdown I've ever had buying a game... The controls are horrible.. That's what bugs me... And the fact that I can't get anywhere This game is just pissing me off... I mean, I just frickin' suck at this game... I'm so into these kinds of games, I was really looking forward to this game, I bought it the first day it arrived at Best Buy, and it's the biggest letdown I've ever had buying a game... The controls are horrible.. That's what bugs me... And the fact that I can't get anywhere pisses me off to no end... I suck... The graphics are beautiful from what I've seen so far in the game, but the controls are just pissing me off.. I dunno... I can't even beat the first main boss dude.. Siiiiiiiigh.. I'm sure if I were better at the game, I'd rate it high, but this is giving me more trouble than any game I've bought so far on my X-Box.. Expand
  84. RicardoP.
    Jun 11, 2004
    10
    I think this game is what this generation needed; I'm pissed off by how many ingrateful little bastards there are running around and whining about, "lack of save points" or "can't beat a certain boss due to my lack of SKILL!" This game is what I've been wishing for since the whole "3D is everthing" days, which only made crappier games (Rachet & Clank, that sell-out Crash I think this game is what this generation needed; I'm pissed off by how many ingrateful little bastards there are running around and whining about, "lack of save points" or "can't beat a certain boss due to my lack of SKILL!" This game is what I've been wishing for since the whole "3D is everthing" days, which only made crappier games (Rachet & Clank, that sell-out Crash Bandicoot, and those damn movie-based pieces of shit). Seriously, this game is perfect, and I will admit the camera can be a bitch, but I can live with it sense I have a good sense of direction in a 3D game. So for those of you who perfer some crappy third-rate game like Tenchu or Shinobi, go .... yourselves, I'm happy with this and I hope others agree. Expand
  85. HowardM.
    Jun 23, 2004
    4
    Probably the most over-rated game I've ever played. I judge games by how much enjoyment they give me compared with how frustrated they make me and in that sense this game is all take and practically no give. The game had a lot of potential but any possible fun was sucked out of it by the ridiculous difficulty level, who exactly is meant to enjoy trying to beat the same boss 30 times Probably the most over-rated game I've ever played. I judge games by how much enjoyment they give me compared with how frustrated they make me and in that sense this game is all take and practically no give. The game had a lot of potential but any possible fun was sucked out of it by the ridiculous difficulty level, who exactly is meant to enjoy trying to beat the same boss 30 times in a row and having to wait for the game to load all over again when you invariably die within the first 10 seconds? The camera is slightly worse than most games which wouldn't be too bad if it didn't lead to your death in about half of cases due to the aforementioned problem. It's great eye candy (shame most people will see none of it beyond the second level) and genuinely fun when you're not constantly dying, which is very, very rarely. Expand
  86. BIZKIT
    Jul 23, 2004
    8
    This game is so damn hard! But I enjoyed it when you defeated a boss, it felt rewarding, but still the camera really sucks, I think its the reason that the monsters always kill me because of a bad camera!
  87. JMAN51
    Jul 8, 2004
    9
    Difficulty level hurts gameplay a lot. A little easier difficulty would have gotten a 10 from me.
  88. JohnL.
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Loved it ...from the moment i picked it up til the time i finished it ....The story was great and the ending was very satisfying..I dont see why some reviewers were complaining about the camera...I personally had no problem adapting to the camera and i truly believe any gamer will agree....This game was the deciding factor for me to go out and buy an Xbox ...Highly anticipating the sequel.
  89. MicahC.
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Massive, sickeningly fun game, if u hate it, it's because you suck at it.
  90. RichardS.
    Apr 13, 2005
    3
    Mmm I thought - the graphics are pretty. And some of the gameplay is cool - jumping up narrow tunnels - very ninja! Shame about the camera, fighting and the difficulty though. The camera control really is woeful and unacceptable. Too many times the cutaway had me walking into a room and then the camera stops in front of me facing the door I entered so i cannot see what is going on as I am Mmm I thought - the graphics are pretty. And some of the gameplay is cool - jumping up narrow tunnels - very ninja! Shame about the camera, fighting and the difficulty though. The camera control really is woeful and unacceptable. Too many times the cutaway had me walking into a room and then the camera stops in front of me facing the door I entered so i cannot see what is going on as I am attacked - genius! Too many times I would be in a tunnel or corridor and couldn't see myself - the camera was stuck around another corner. Terrible and immensely frustrating. It didn't help that the game starts too hard. The fights are uncontrolled button mashing and leaping and the bosses way too hard early on. Overalll: don't believe the hype. Expand
  91. MichaelV.
    May 22, 2005
    10
    Dude this IS the best game ever without a doubt. If you rate this lower than a 9 you do not deserve to touch such a masterpiece. Even to the people that gave it 9's i doubt your mental capacity! This is the reason you own an Xbox and I don't care how expensive this game is go out and buy it now! People who complain its too hard are just wusses!
  92. NickH.
    May 22, 2006
    9
    Yes, okay the camera isn't brilliant. But anyone with a brain can easily enough manouver Ryu. Literally takes minutes (an hour maybe) to adjust to the camera. Still, this is no reason to shun the beauty of the graphics. Hard gameplay for the hardcore gamer which is good to see nowdays. It feels like a real accomplishment when completed! The variety of weapons also add for fun killing Yes, okay the camera isn't brilliant. But anyone with a brain can easily enough manouver Ryu. Literally takes minutes (an hour maybe) to adjust to the camera. Still, this is no reason to shun the beauty of the graphics. Hard gameplay for the hardcore gamer which is good to see nowdays. It feels like a real accomplishment when completed! The variety of weapons also add for fun killing spree's. (especially the True dragon sword)This is what games should be like! Expand
  93. LaminK.
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    The sweetest game ever and retro remake of the classic NES game. I owned the first two, but could not beat the first. Hayabusa rocks!
  94. ReapersplitterX
    Sep 16, 2003
    10
    This game looks kick ass but how the hell is it gonna be live its a 1 player game.
  95. StephenS.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    The class of its genre and a true current generation game. This is what Shinobi should have been!!
  96. J.L.
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    Based off the demo, fluid animation, great character models, oodles of blood, tons of variety, and pretty difficult, it like it
  97. TylerD.
    Mar 12, 2004
    9
    Just got my new Ninja Suit, and on the blimp. (Beat the first 'level') I've already died about 10-15 times. This enemies ARE hard, get used to it. If you want something easy to beat like Halo, this is not your game. The first level alone is as hard as anything on Halo Legendary. It's gonna get worse. You know what? I can't wait. I dig the challenge. The camera is Just got my new Ninja Suit, and on the blimp. (Beat the first 'level') I've already died about 10-15 times. This enemies ARE hard, get used to it. If you want something easy to beat like Halo, this is not your game. The first level alone is as hard as anything on Halo Legendary. It's gonna get worse. You know what? I can't wait. I dig the challenge. The camera is a little annoying, but you get used to it within the first level. Expand
  98. JasenJ
    Mar 16, 2004
    2
    I've only played the demo on the XBox mag DVD, but already I don't like the game. 1. Camera control. Bleh! You have to totally stop moving to change point of view. Hello? How long have we had dynamic POV cameras. 2. World does not remember state. Clear a room, come back later, clear room again, and again, and again. On the same DVD is the new Tenchu. Appears to be a much better I've only played the demo on the XBox mag DVD, but already I don't like the game. 1. Camera control. Bleh! You have to totally stop moving to change point of view. Hello? How long have we had dynamic POV cameras. 2. World does not remember state. Clear a room, come back later, clear room again, and again, and again. On the same DVD is the new Tenchu. Appears to be a much better game. Dynamic camera control, interesting finishing move cinematics. Expand
  99. MoeS.
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    Maybe the greatest action adventure ever made. forget what you heard about the camera, it'll bother you a total of 5 minutes throughout the 20+ hour experience. Nothing short of amazing. A must for any action junkee out there.
  100. PeterS.
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    The best Game & I play a lot of Games.The camera is not too bad.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 89
  2. Negative: 1 out of 89
  1. 9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 796; 19 Mar 2004]
  2. From start to finish, the main element that propels Ninja Gaiden above all others in the action genre is the dazzling combat-based gameplay.
  3. There has been such precise and accurate detail placed on this game that it would be near impossible to point out any faults.