Oddworld: Munch's Oddysee Xbox

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Man This game blew me away as a kid. I remember playing it for the past several hours a day (took breaks) when I was 5. Anyway Oddworld Munch's Oddysee is one of the best original Xbox games I have ever played. Gorgeous story, Gorgeous game-play, and good graphics. If you own a Xbox and have not played this game you are missing out.
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played, In my top 3 games list, best adventure i have ever played. Even better than psychonauts, but DO NOT buy this game on PC, buy it on console
  3. NalleK.
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    Great graphics, cool sounds, and lovely puzzles! -but isnt 'oddworld bigger than this!?
  4. [Anonymous]
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    I enjoyed this game even more than Abe's oddysee and Exoddus. The game is short, but surprisingly pleasing.
  5. LanceF.
    Nov 20, 2001
    9
    Short but very pleasing for a launch game.
  6. GreenDayroxandiamsuchagamefreak
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    This game is the best freakin game ever graphics, gameplay, and puzzles rock a#@!
  7. SueY.
    Apr 13, 2006
    9
    I played the game all the way through without a strategy guide, had a blast! I still think of it to this day, it was like a vacation on another planet, a funny jumping planet. I hope i can play it again in a few years, relive the magic.
  8. JonP.
    Nov 30, 2001
    10
    Oddworld is a great launch game. Mario who?
  9. RobertR.
    Jan 31, 2002
    9
    Just play it!!!!!!
  10. ChuckF.
    Aug 17, 2002
    10
    All time great game, just one more reason to buy an xbox.

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2001
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Xbox Nation Magazine
    80
    Shines like a sequined dress at a Hollywood premiere. Though not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, Oddysee is pretty to look at, and remarkably fun to play. [Jan 2002, p.78]
  2. The cartoon-like graphics are very cute — especially the pre-rendered cut-scene sequences — and the game play is challenging, though it might be a tad repetitive after a while.
  3. The game is beautiful and offers plenty of platform gaming excitement that wouldn’t be possible on the PS2 or even the GameCube.