User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 53
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 53
  3. Negative: 4 out of 53

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MadsC.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    A great game with that special oddworld feel to it. It tries to combine quite a bit of genres: 3D platformer, Stealth and FPS. And actually pulls it off.
  2. OddlySadistic
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Hmm, never played this game. Really wanted to but found out about it far too late as the ps3 was coming around the corner. Still, any game from OWI (Oddworld Inhabbitants) deserves a 10 and a 10 it shall receive.
  3. ZachR.
    Jan 30, 2005
    9
    Great game. I think with RE4 it is an early contender for Game of the Year. I love the First/Third person change in the press of a button. Beatiful graphics, great humor, great storyline, amazing action and one of the funniest yet serious games i've ever played. My only complaint is Stranger's voice acting, I find it hard to understand him sometimes.
  4. JohnS.
    Feb 4, 2005
    9
    One of the most enjoyable rentals you'll find in a single-person shooter. PROS: Absolutely incredible graphics, nice controls, good weapon variety. Has some great moments like the mine shaft ride that are hard to top. CONS: 3rd person has terrible camera glitches. Boss monsters are pretty damn hard. Doesn't do much to add anything "new" to the genre -- but, heck, neither does One of the most enjoyable rentals you'll find in a single-person shooter. PROS: Absolutely incredible graphics, nice controls, good weapon variety. Has some great moments like the mine shaft ride that are hard to top. CONS: 3rd person has terrible camera glitches. Boss monsters are pretty damn hard. Doesn't do much to add anything "new" to the genre -- but, heck, neither does Halo 2, which is another great game. Expand
  5. RichardS.
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Quite simply the best game available on the Xbox or any other console. Not since Halo 1 and Riddick has there been such an amazing gaming experience. The graphics are the best I have ever seen in any game on any system or PC - beautiful atmosphere and world. The story is gripping with twists and turns instead of the mindless linear blasting of the over-rated Halo 2 for instance. The Quite simply the best game available on the Xbox or any other console. Not since Halo 1 and Riddick has there been such an amazing gaming experience. The graphics are the best I have ever seen in any game on any system or PC - beautiful atmosphere and world. The story is gripping with twists and turns instead of the mindless linear blasting of the over-rated Halo 2 for instance. The different critters have real differences which really add to the gameplay - you can play for stealth or just have a mad blast - the ammo you choose is vital and makes a real difference. Collecting bounties never gets boring and adds to the replay value - I will play this again and again to capture each outlaw alive. And I am truly immersed into the story - I really feel for the characters and want to succeed to save them, in stark contrast to Halo 2 and the like where I don't care, I just want to complete the game to end the repetitive boredom. The music is brilliant - like a movie soundtrack. Sometimes the voices are hard to discern and the camera in 3rd person can be difficult to control, but that is trivial. Overall, this is the best game on the market for any system. Period. Buy it now, you won't regret it. Expand
  6. RemcoB.
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    Great game. Combines First person shooter and third person action perfectly... Can't stop playing! Gotta go now.
  7. AntonioC.
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    This is probably the only XBox game you need to own this year. Best graphics I've seen on the system so far. Only let down is that there is no multiplayer, but this is not really the kind of game you play with others, anyway...
  8. Daz
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Excellent, Exceelnt, Excellent This will be one of the games of the year. Part FPS part platformer and part puzzler this does all three better than many games just do one. Any game that has taken me away from playing Halo 2 online must be good! Thoroughly recommended
  9. MarkW.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Brilliant!!! Iv'e never laughed so hard or been traumitized so much from a game. I'm not a big shooter fan; however, it's better than any PC Strategy or RPG game iv'e played. The story is acted out extremely well (no reading).
  10. JohnC.
    Feb 2, 2005
    10
    Sweet graphics, Perfect Gameplay, Legendary Presentation. That adds up to one of the best games I've ever played.
  11. SpankyC.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    I thought this game looked a bit suspect when I first picked it up but its eating into my life as it is fantastic.
  12. LisaG.
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    A very unique experience. The graphics are stunning.
  13. RoseM.
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    I really love this game "Stranger's Wrath." The graphic art is totally awesome! I find that playing this game helps me feel relaxed when strolling around the valleys and forestry, well, until you get to about in the middle of the game is where the real battle begins. I must admit it, just close to the end of Stanger' Wrath, it is very tough to say. I have played this game a good I really love this game "Stranger's Wrath." The graphic art is totally awesome! I find that playing this game helps me feel relaxed when strolling around the valleys and forestry, well, until you get to about in the middle of the game is where the real battle begins. I must admit it, just close to the end of Stanger' Wrath, it is very tough to say. I have played this game a good five times and always want to come back for more! It is a difficult game to play and you need to be very, very patient with this. Its fun! The music I really love to hear as I play. I[***SPOILERS***] find this very soothing and mellow as I would travel town to town and the canyons to bag these rubbery looking outlaws. I found out that when it is time to capture some of these bad guys, find that some of these outlaws, they are hard to bag. If I can remember, Jo-Mamma, Bliterz Booty, Fatty McBoom Boom and Filthy Hands Floyd and I think, Looten Duke are easy to wrap up. The rest are very difficult to capture alive. I sometimes, feel pity for the Stranger. He takes alot of beatings and being shot at plenty of times but, manage to survive no matter what. A question I must ask about this game. " What is the deal at the end of this game when accomplished?" "Is their any hope to continue this sequel to the first of Stranger's Wrath sequel, like Part II ?" I really need to know more of what happen like you know what happened at the end. I just don't want to spoil the surprise to whom has never played this game and is about to. It is a great story telling game as you play along. So please email me your side of the story and tell me if there will be a " Stranger's Wrath, Part II. Thanks a bunch! Sincerely, Rose, your Oddworld fan. Expand
  14. Abe'solderBrother
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Gameplay is new and fresh. Best graphics THE XBOX HAS EVER SEEN! It's kinda Odd, but that's the whole point. If you don't at least try this, you shouldn't have an Xbox.
  15. Ricardo
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    How did this game not get 100% from every reviewer? Quite simply the best game of all time (alongside Halo 1; not Halo 2 which was totally garbage). I am playing it for the third time and love every minute of it. Beautiful graphics that are better than anything in any other game I have seen or played. Brilliant story. Great controls. Funny dialogue. And ingenious, inspired action. THE GREATEST!
  16. TravisM.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal game !! One of the first since the real 'Halo' (and no that's not Halo 2) that's come out that's almost impossible to put down once you start playing. Easily one of the top 10-15 games that an avid gamer and Xbox owner must buy games since the system has been released. To put it into perspective for anyone not wanting to read the other Absolutely phenomenal game !! One of the first since the real 'Halo' (and no that's not Halo 2) that's come out that's almost impossible to put down once you start playing. Easily one of the top 10-15 games that an avid gamer and Xbox owner must buy games since the system has been released. To put it into perspective for anyone not wanting to read the other somewhat differentiated reviews above take Halo 1 melded with some Metal Gear Solid elements and the ability to switch between 3rd and 1st person views 'on the fly' also should appeal to avid 3rd person gamers who enjoyed Prince of Persia or Zelda-style games. Some of the best graphics I've seen. Add in a touch of very well written humor and a movie-like story and you'll be hooked. Expand
  17. JasonD.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    Out of 30 xbox games i own, i would place this in the top 3. Last night i finished the game and it is with some sadness as it was pretty much a perfect video game experience. Sure it has very odd elements, but they are so well executed you will wonder why more games dont have crossbows that fire furry animals or why you dont come across more towns run by chicken-folk. You will not regret Out of 30 xbox games i own, i would place this in the top 3. Last night i finished the game and it is with some sadness as it was pretty much a perfect video game experience. Sure it has very odd elements, but they are so well executed you will wonder why more games dont have crossbows that fire furry animals or why you dont come across more towns run by chicken-folk. You will not regret buying this - its simply one of the best video games of all time. Expand
  18. AndrewC.
    May 26, 2005
    10
    Best Xbox game to grace the system! If you dont agree with me then you probally like Halo 1 or 2, but still, this is undiniably an awseome game. Great graphics, funny voiceovers, fun controls (switch from 3rd-person to 1st-person) and a great sory line that has probally one of the coolest twists ever (dont worry no SPOILERS!) This is definitley one of the strangest, creative, and most Best Xbox game to grace the system! If you dont agree with me then you probally like Halo 1 or 2, but still, this is undiniably an awseome game. Great graphics, funny voiceovers, fun controls (switch from 3rd-person to 1st-person) and a great sory line that has probally one of the coolest twists ever (dont worry no SPOILERS!) This is definitley one of the strangest, creative, and most entertaining games I have ever experienced. Playing it fo my 2 time! Expand
  19. Rol
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    Gamer.tv must have stunning standards to give oddworld only 60%. Play the game, and even if it doesn't grab you, i'm sure it will, you'll too can laugh at that dumb score!
  20. Rick
    Feb 28, 2006
    10
    I missed this gem over the years, until recently when I read the high standard of reviews posted, so only just got it a couple of weeks ago second hand. Excellent choice and catapulted into the top echellon of my Xbox games choice. I rate it the 3rd best shooter on the box behind HalfLife and Halo. But there is very little between them really as this like them, is an exceptional game. Its I missed this gem over the years, until recently when I read the high standard of reviews posted, so only just got it a couple of weeks ago second hand. Excellent choice and catapulted into the top echellon of my Xbox games choice. I rate it the 3rd best shooter on the box behind HalfLife and Halo. But there is very little between them really as this like them, is an exceptional game. Its a game like Conker, in that it has some way cool humour delivered throughout the whole game. The chickens all talk like Yokels hahaha I get it. The other similiarity to Conker is that halfway through, the game really picks up/changes pace in accordance with the story development. I like that about a game, I mean its just pure cockiness. To keep the kick arse action up your sleeve, then once a player has reached a certain level the game jumps out and says "you aint seen nothing yet, we are gonna take what ya learnt so far and BOOM just bang it home on ya butt" Thats not to say the first half of the game isnt enjoyable, its mighty fun bagging baddies, its just this game really brought it home for me. Great little story, great FPS action which differs from the norm machine gun, hand granade fare we've been delivered with. A must own. Expand
  21. JohnG.
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    Awesome graphics, sound and voice acting.
  22. DanB.
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    I wouldn't go to the extent of saying it's a perfect game, but it's one helluva ride. Lanning and his crew does it again on one of the coolest art styles to date, as well top notch gameplay. In an industry where the little guys get the cold shoulder, Oddworld Stranger's Wrath proves that even the underdog can come out on top (in the words of 50 Cent, eh?). Oddworld I wouldn't go to the extent of saying it's a perfect game, but it's one helluva ride. Lanning and his crew does it again on one of the coolest art styles to date, as well top notch gameplay. In an industry where the little guys get the cold shoulder, Oddworld Stranger's Wrath proves that even the underdog can come out on top (in the words of 50 Cent, eh?). Oddworld does so many different things right, that its hard to even notice what it does wrong, which of course it does have. With a somewhat repetitive, linear game in no means is Oddworld the game to end all games, but that was never its intention in the first place, it was meant to be solid, unique fun, which I must say it delivered. Oddworld Inhabitants does it once again, and my guess is Microsoft is shooting themselves in the foot and regreting they didn't pick up this little gem. Expand
  23. May 22, 2014
    10
    OH MY GOD!!! HD VERSION!!! YEAH... but original game was... better? I don't know why, but I think that new version is different than old. I'm weird, i understand. This game's my childhood, like Ghost Master or... uhhhm... Whatever. I don't like Munch Oddysee or Abe's Exoddus. Only Stranger's Wrath. :)
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Developer Oddworld Inhabitants has done something quite remarkable in the creation of a first-and-third-person-shooter-cum-adventure combining guts, heart, brains, a sense of humor, and wondrous beauty. [Feb 2005, p.86]
  2. A game world that keeps bettering itself, until some kind of disbelief sets in. This dazzling technical feat is mirrored by some terrifyingly fast loading times, with no in-game loading and restarts from any save point in the whole world taking around two seconds. [Feb 2005, p.72]
  3. 90
    All of this, along with an amusing and twist-laden story, delivered through beautifully choreographed FMVs and equally well-conceived in-game cutscenes, comes together in one of the most visually impressive games with some of the finest gaming moments that gamers are likely to experience during this generation of consoles.