• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 2004
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Bigmacwithfries
    Nov 7, 2004
    5
    Too "Japaneese" in my opinion. I mean, come on, demons who look like papermade silouetes floating in the air? give me a break! what is this, the nightmare of a japaneese grandpa or something? It has nice particle effects when you destroy something but I wouldn't go as far as sayin´ "nice graphics". After watchin' ninja gaiden's graphics, and seing what an XBOX is Too "Japaneese" in my opinion. I mean, come on, demons who look like papermade silouetes floating in the air? give me a break! what is this, the nightmare of a japaneese grandpa or something? It has nice particle effects when you destroy something but I wouldn't go as far as sayin´ "nice graphics". After watchin' ninja gaiden's graphics, and seing what an XBOX is capable of, everything below that level is plain mediocre crap. By the way, the camera is the worst ever! guaranteed headache after a half hour of playin'. Rent it first. Collapse
  2. BlueFalcon
    Oct 24, 2004
    9
    This has got to be one of the most stylish games ever.
  3. JonathanZ.
    Feb 14, 2005
    6
    The way I felt about Otogi 2: Immortal Warriors was basically the same way I felt about Baten Kaitos. I got about an hour into it, enthralled by the lush visuals and mysterious soundtrack. Then, I realized I was in for another twenty-four mind-numbing hours of pounding on my controller and hacking demons to bits. No thanks.
  4. Sam
    Oct 24, 2004
    7
    It looks gourgeous but the controls are frustrating and the plot is lacking, but the enjoyable moments make me convinced that there are high hopes for the franchise. Don't expect Shinobi like controls and gameplay and you should be fine with this realease, so a dissapoinment compared to the first, but a decent game overall and on my curent faves list (second place) so far.
  5. FerzK.
    Oct 25, 2004
    8
    This is a great game. The graphics are awesome. Obviously SEGA did a good job on this game. Otogi 2 is definitely better than the original. You get to play 6 characters this time; all with unique abilities and moves. The camera angle is sometimes crappy though because there's no button to face forward quickly. The soundtracks are also cool and somewhat make the game more enjoyable. This is a great game. The graphics are awesome. Obviously SEGA did a good job on this game. Otogi 2 is definitely better than the original. You get to play 6 characters this time; all with unique abilities and moves. The camera angle is sometimes crappy though because there's no button to face forward quickly. The soundtracks are also cool and somewhat make the game more enjoyable. There are lots of opportunities to develop each character in this game. The side missions in the Forest of Havoc are great to try. I haven't finished the game though and this game will make you addicted. Expand
  6. BrandonS.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    Never rated a game before it game out so well, here it goes. This game with be awesome so buy it, and there you go.
  7. AaronZ.
    May 14, 2005
    9
    Wow..it's funny because I really didn't have a problem with the camera. Yes I agree, Ninja Gaiden will always be the game to compare everything to, but this game is absolutely gorgeous. So much style. As well, if it's too "Japanese" Well...it IS based on Japanese mythology. I loved the monsters, controls, and game play. Like the Two Towers or Third Age you can replay a Wow..it's funny because I really didn't have a problem with the camera. Yes I agree, Ninja Gaiden will always be the game to compare everything to, but this game is absolutely gorgeous. So much style. As well, if it's too "Japanese" Well...it IS based on Japanese mythology. I loved the monsters, controls, and game play. Like the Two Towers or Third Age you can replay a level or level a certain guy up. As well items and magic are transferable when applicable, so that was really nice. Lastly I like that similar to Ninja Gaiden, you have a plethora of combos at your disposal, only it's more fun because you have a cast of characters at your disposal. Mastering the techniques and combo moves of each charcater along with the challanging and strong story-drivin plot make this a must buy for me. Expand
  8. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Otogi 2 is probably the the game that transposed better the ancient japanese folklore/mythology on the screen of a videogame. Graphic and musics are PERFECT. You know, when you heard taiko drums with that crescendo with all of those demons' screams and a really solemn gong or koto, you can feel a some kind of magic atmosphere...the stages are really wonderful, graphic isOtogi 2 is probably the the game that transposed better the ancient japanese folklore/mythology on the screen of a videogame. Graphic and musics are PERFECT. You know, when you heard taiko drums with that crescendo with all of those demons' screams and a really solemn gong or koto, you can feel a some kind of magic atmosphere...the stages are really wonderful, graphic is stunning...everything is sourrounded with a "fairytale" atmosphere. Awesome. The combat also is really elegant...seeing Raikoh and his companions spawn in the stage surrounded by a twist of cherry blossom petals is...magical, stunning. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 7 / 8 / 8 / 7 - 30 silver [Vol 785]
  2. Combines slick, well-tuned controls with an accessible combo scheme with unbelievably thick visual effects to create a complete third-person action package. [Nov 2004, p.92]
  3. Your enjoyment of this game will correlate directly to whether you dig the highly Japanese flourishes and style...If this is your bag, Otogi 2 offers some of the most lavish ass-kicking destruction around. [Nov 2004, p.124]