OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: OutRun 2006: Coast to Coast features a choice of 15 fully licensed Ferrari models, featuring the all-new F430 and F430 Spider, as well as the dazzling Superamerica and the stunning 550 Barchetta. Power your way across 15 new American themed environments from the "OutRun2 SP" arcade experience. Race from coast to glorious coast with a fresh new mission structure, a license mode and online play, with up to 6 players for a thrilling head-to-head journey. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. By simply making sure that absolutely everything in the game is designed to remove the usual restrictions on fun, Sumo's created something that practically transcends rivals like PGR3 and Burnout before you even done anything.
  2. The $30 price tag, combined with the huge pile of content added, makes this a must-own for racing fans, Sega fans, or people just looking for a great arcade racer to add to their gaming library.
  3. Sega is firmly established as one the best developers for arcade racers and you don't need to look further than OutRun 2006 to see why.
  4. OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast offers a fun, accessible experience to racing fans who just want to jam on the accelerator and go.
  5. While some of the content is new, the game plays exactly the same--fast, thick with the flavor of classic arcades, and kind of simplistic. [Jun 2006, p.110]
  6. OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast is like the unattractive girl at the high school mixer. While all the popular guys are dancing with Need For Speed and Burnout, OutRun is standing quietly in the corner waiting for that special guy who can appreciate an old-fashion good time.
  7. This game is worth hiring before you even consider buying for two reasons, the first being that you might actually finish the game over the hire period, and the second reason is to see whether the music will drive you insane.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. music_maniac1965
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    I would have given it a 9,5, but that's not selectable. but given the quallity and quantity of things to do, and the fact that i truely love arcade recers like this, i could not give it something less than a 10. the "outrun miles buys you unlockables" is exelent, and despite a few small details missing compared to the orginal, this game breathe and feels like its arcade parent. sega and sumo did a marvelous job. not only do i own the xbox version, but also got it for on the move, in other words, for my PSP. Expand
  2. RodneyH.
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    If you've ever liked anything about the outrun series then you'll love this game.
  3. AndyM.
    Apr 27, 2006
    9
    A superb update. And don't be fooled by the graphics issue. Mip mapping or no mip mapping, only a couple of the stages look inferior to the Outrun 2 standard, and that is compensated by some truly stunning stages. It is more forgiving - perhaps too much - but it also boasts much better mission stages, with fewer difficulty spikes, and greater variation. Compared to your Burnouts, and Project Gothams, Outrun 2 is anachronistic. But that is the charm, its an arcade game in your home that you can pick up and play, full on, flat out. Expand
  4. BarneyC.
    Apr 4, 2006
    8
    It's good, no doubt, but unfortunately the cross development with the PS2 version has resulted in grainy textures (Basically, it appears to have NO mip mapping on the scenery), meaning that textures in the distance get pretty ugly and "shimmery". Even the included Outrun 2 tracks don't look quite as good as they did in the original Outrun 2, thanks to the lack of mip mapping. What's more, it's easier than the earlier Outrun 2, with less penality for hitting other cars, and while that makes it a little more user friendly, those who played Outrun 2 to death may find it a touch too forgiving. HOWEVER, when all is said and done, the game still looks pretty good, the track designs are as captivating as ever, and the gameplay still has that sublime 'just one more go' factor. Essentially, what you have here is the PS2 version of Outrun 2006 on your xbox, and although that's not as great as it could have been, it aint all bad either, and it sure is better than missing out altogether! Expand
  5. Dave
    Apr 1, 2006
    6
    It pains me to have to say it, but this is a real disappointment considering how brilliant OutRun 2 was on the Xbox. The graphics in OutRun 2006 are the main problem. They are noticeably inferior, being more jagged and shimmery than the previous game. It looks more like a port of the PS2 version - it actually hurts your eyes to play it for too long. Secondly, they have altered the car handling from OutRun 2, presumably to make it 'easier' and although I have got used to it, I still don't like it as much as before. They've 'fixed' what wasn't broken in my opinion. I have loved OutRun since the original in 1986, and I love OutRun 2, but this is a let down. Collapse