Pirates of the Caribbean Xbox

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. John
    Jul 15, 2003
    8
    I've posted this before. There is a known bug in the game with regard to performance. Bathesda's web site clearly explains how to fix this. Play through the tutorial in the beginning and save as soon as you are in the village of Oxford. I've done this and have had little problem. I've been enjoying this game. The only complaints that I have is that it is not as free I've posted this before. There is a known bug in the game with regard to performance. Bathesda's web site clearly explains how to fix this. Play through the tutorial in the beginning and save as soon as you are in the village of Oxford. I've done this and have had little problem. I've been enjoying this game. The only complaints that I have is that it is not as free from (go anywhere, anytime) as Morrowind and some of the grammor and spelling in the dialogs leaves a lot to be desired. Other than that its a fun game. Expand
  2. Gary
    Jul 2, 2003
    5
    This game is clearly unfinished. I mean version for Xbox. Moving around is utterly frustrating. You find yourself strugling walking around doors. Frame rate drops critically at times - games even "freezes" for a second. I found myself wishing I could curse the guy who did interface and the one who approved releasng game without testing. For the idea for the game is very good.
  3. AlexN.
    Jul 8, 2003
    9
    I rate this game 9 because all the story and the gaming of this game is pretty cool and it's a complete one!! But one thing the fight on boat is a little to hard!!
  4. JohnG.
    Jul 10, 2003
    9
    This game is no Morrowind, but it is very good. The company has a work around on their site regarding the performance issues. I have seen very few performance problems on my XBox since following their directions. I think the documentation that was provided with the game is ambiguous; especially with the sea mode, ports and ect. I am really enjoying this game. The graphics are lush and This game is no Morrowind, but it is very good. The company has a work around on their site regarding the performance issues. I have seen very few performance problems on my XBox since following their directions. I think the documentation that was provided with the game is ambiguous; especially with the sea mode, ports and ect. I am really enjoying this game. The graphics are lush and crisp. I never thought that I'd become an RPG fan, but Bathesda has made me one. If your patient and give the game a chance, I think that most people will really enjoy this adventure. I cannot comment as to it's length because I've been playing it only for a few days. I played Morrowind for over a year. If this game lasts me 6 months, I think I will have gotten a good deal for my money. Based on the reviews, I think that you will either really like this title, or really hate it. I really like it, and think that most people will if they give it a chance. Manage your expectations by trying not to compare it with Morrowind and judge the game on its own merrit as if Morrowind never existed. Expand
  5. PeytonT.
    Jul 8, 2003
    8
    I really like this game and i stay up all night playing it, but there are some bugs and things that could have been better. Some of these are when you are doing a quest and enter a certain area, your journal will be updated even if you havent done what it says you have done yet. Also there could have been more people. Alot of the people I talk to look exactly the same as others. I know I really like this game and i stay up all night playing it, but there are some bugs and things that could have been better. Some of these are when you are doing a quest and enter a certain area, your journal will be updated even if you havent done what it says you have done yet. Also there could have been more people. Alot of the people I talk to look exactly the same as others. I know that bethesda could have been more detailed because they made Morrowind and that is the greatest game ever. Pirates has beautiful water graphics and the fights are pretty good. But the best part is the cursed pirates and the black pearl. GOOD GAME!!! Expand
  6. KevR.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    It's true that this game is bugged and imperfect but if you can use Bethesda's work around it's well worth the trouble. Relatively open gameplay (you can 'complete' the game and carry on), great sea battle scenes. The lure of ever greater ships, piles of money, valuables and weapons.. adding officers to your crew and building a small fleet - great fun. I've It's true that this game is bugged and imperfect but if you can use Bethesda's work around it's well worth the trouble. Relatively open gameplay (you can 'complete' the game and carry on), great sea battle scenes. The lure of ever greater ships, piles of money, valuables and weapons.. adding officers to your crew and building a small fleet - great fun. I've got my fingers crossed for a POTC 2 where they take more time and get it bug free... Expand
  7. KyleF.
    Jul 12, 2003
    10
    It's cool.
  8. JosephP.
    Jul 13, 2003
    1
    This game could have been amazing. The graphics were spectacular and gameplay was pretty good. It was very fun being a pirate for the 5 minutes before my game froze up the first time. At just about every loading screen you encounter (loading screens are EVERYWHERE) you will find yourself with a frozen game. I had to sit next to my Xbox and shake it aroud to make the game keep working. I This game could have been amazing. The graphics were spectacular and gameplay was pretty good. It was very fun being a pirate for the 5 minutes before my game froze up the first time. At just about every loading screen you encounter (loading screens are EVERYWHERE) you will find yourself with a frozen game. I had to sit next to my Xbox and shake it aroud to make the game keep working. I wasnt sure if the game had problems or if it was my Xbox, so i returned and exchanged this game 3 times. 3!!! and the final answer is that this game has way too many bugs to be played. So if you're looking to get this game, you could have just as much fun beating yourself with a rolling pin. Expand
  9. [Anonymous]
    Jul 2, 2003
    8
    Pros: pretty nice graphics overall; incredible water and weather effects. Gameplay and voice acting isn't bad. It's fun. Cons: Mediocre controls and camera, linear story, the vast majority of NPC's are generic, too difficult, performance issues and bugs.
  10. RavenX301
    Jul 2, 2003
    9
    Look, this game is amazing and should be gaven more then what poeple have been giving it. I love it. It's just like the greatest RPG Morrowind, huge, lovely, non-liner gameplay. Of course it has it's problems, but every single game dose, it there was'nt problems in games then what would be the point to make series??? But like all things problems are only found in the Look, this game is amazing and should be gaven more then what poeple have been giving it. I love it. It's just like the greatest RPG Morrowind, huge, lovely, non-liner gameplay. Of course it has it's problems, but every single game dose, it there was'nt problems in games then what would be the point to make series??? But like all things problems are only found in the eye's of the beholder. The controls need work put it should'nt take long to get used to them, if any thing poeple are to lazy to think there bad. I think this game is a most have for a RPG fan. Theres no end to it (...Morrowind...) The things you can do are all in you imagination and I love just walking around and enjoying the lovely textures the game has to offer, also just sitting my in the sea at night and just look around and want for a another ship to come along to prehaps fight or ambrash. Over it's the best RPG out to date and it would be a shame for any one of the RPG fans to miss out on this one. Expand
  11. CraigH.
    Jul 22, 2003
    7
    Very good game. Doesn't quite have the freedom of Morrowind, quite buggy at times and numerous load screens. But the amazing graphics, open-ending gameplay, ability to command multiple ships, the sea battles, ship boarding and land battles more than make up for it.
  12. DavidK.
    Jul 6, 2003
    9
    I feel that the gameplay problems should be overlooked due to the marvelous graphics. Game gives you back a piece of your soul!
  13. RazaB.
    Jul 6, 2003
    6
    I really wanted to like this game. I'm a huge Morrowind fan, and had great hopes for this new title. Alas, I am terribly disappointed. What makes Morrowind great - openess, non-linearity, diverse characters - are absent from PotC. You are very definitely constrained in your movement - you cannot physically move beyond very narrow paths set for you (especially in the jungles and I really wanted to like this game. I'm a huge Morrowind fan, and had great hopes for this new title. Alas, I am terribly disappointed. What makes Morrowind great - openess, non-linearity, diverse characters - are absent from PotC. You are very definitely constrained in your movement - you cannot physically move beyond very narrow paths set for you (especially in the jungles and beaches). The characters typically have only two or three topics on which they can speak. And, as others have mentioned, moving and controls in general are abominable. After 12 hours of playing, and realizing that the game IS quite linear, I've given up. Clearly, a team other than the Morrowind developers have created this. Expand
  14. ChrisR.
    Jul 7, 2003
    8
    The graphics are AWESOME and the command travel menu speeds up the boring parts. Great improvement to Sea Dogs.
  15. KarlK.
    Jul 7, 2003
    9
    A Great game, it has it's fair share of problems, but it's worth buying. 18+ hours to "rush" (well slowly jog) through the game. Once you get this game you will play it twice. Once to do as your told, folow the story and finsh it, and a secoend time to kill every person you see, atempt to kill main story characters, and capture every fort with you anf your fleet of three other A Great game, it has it's fair share of problems, but it's worth buying. 18+ hours to "rush" (well slowly jog) through the game. Once you get this game you will play it twice. Once to do as your told, folow the story and finsh it, and a secoend time to kill every person you see, atempt to kill main story characters, and capture every fort with you anf your fleet of three other battle ships. Pros: deep storyline, the water & sky, Ship to Ship dules, owning your own ship(s), doing what ever you want. Cons: Camara angle, a empty foot combat system, character has problems reacting with envirement, can hack at enemys through objects, the lack of new NPC skins, reused voices become repugent, and...THE NON STOP LOADING. But even with all the cons of the game, this game is still great and if at least, should be bought rented only be a paitent gamer. Expand
  16. RyanT.
    Jul 8, 2003
    0
    It sucks the battle modes suck, the ship battles suck, the land battles suck, it was an awful game and theres barily any plot to it. i wish i could have given it less than a 0
  17. TimT.
    Sep 17, 2003
    3
    This game starts off promising to be full of adventure and pirating antics, but soon the endless waiting for areas to load - even taking about 15 secoinds just to load a single shop - and the buggy area transitions - often the game finishes loading an area only to show you a blank screen where you can only access the main menu to load your previous game or the character menu - just get tooThis game starts off promising to be full of adventure and pirating antics, but soon the endless waiting for areas to load - even taking about 15 secoinds just to load a single shop - and the buggy area transitions - often the game finishes loading an area only to show you a blank screen where you can only access the main menu to load your previous game or the character menu - just get too annoying to continue. Expand
  18. Keith
    Dec 2, 2003
    5
    Hard to grapple at first. Manual doesn't provide much help for battles or identification of symbols in menu's. Save game as often as you can (time consuming), because more than likely you will lose most battles at sea and on land for that matter. Won't be long before i get bored of this one (Lucky i didn't buy it!). I suppose thats one good thing to do always borrow or Hard to grapple at first. Manual doesn't provide much help for battles or identification of symbols in menu's. Save game as often as you can (time consuming), because more than likely you will lose most battles at sea and on land for that matter. Won't be long before i get bored of this one (Lucky i didn't buy it!). I suppose thats one good thing to do always borrow or read reviews before you buy. My advice - Don't buy unless you like frustration and have lots of time. Expand
  19. ReapersplitterX
    Sep 16, 2003
    10
    this game kicks ass better than star wras knights of the boring republic. xbox nation mag. ryan t. and jospeph P. suck.

Awards & Rankings

#29 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Besides making personal progress, you must hire hands, choose a complementary hierarchy of mates, explore the Caribbean, and, ultimately, earn cheddar. Giving your neighbors a good buggering simply comes with the territory.
  2. GMR Magazine
    60
    We'd feel good about recommending this game to RPG fans if not for the stuttery framerates. [Sept 2003, p.75]
  3. Edge Magazine
    50
    The joy of Pirates of the Caribbean is to be found in the variety of the elements delivered - sword fights and canon battles happily sit alongside contraband trade route management. But ultimately none offer a tremendous amount of depth. [Nov 2003, p.107]