Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 65
    The game's well-polished; it would have been hailed as revolutionary a few years ago, but now it's just another decent, 10-hour-long hop-n-bop to add to the pile.
  2. A terrific pick for younger gamers and a great update for older fans of the series.
  3. While Pitfall is souped up on Charm it is low on challenge. Experienced gamers will revel in nostalgia, but it will be a short journey.
  4. It's like exhuming a dead relative only to find that he can't shake his state of decay or that rotting smell. Okay it's not that bad, but I couldn't resist a little tasteless metaphor.
  5. While the game is not very impressive when it comes to graphics, it makes up for it with goofy character designs and brightly colored backgrounds. [June 2004, p.12]
  6. Captures both the good and the bad of platforming, and it does so in a surprisingly fun way.
  7. Gone is the great adventure, lost to the simple need to collect stuff, and in its place is the carrot and the stick - which even the most dedicated mule will only chase so far. [May 2004, p.88]
  8. There were times when I really wished for direct 3D camera control instead of a multifunctional hand, but then there were times when the creative use of that right hand was so clever I forgot all about the camera.
  9. Simply put, this title's characters, plot, and dialogue are hackneyed and verging on painful. Every joke falls flat, and every plot twist seems scraped from the bottom of Indiana Jones' barrel. [Apr 2004, p.91]
  10. A good platforming experience that is only somewhat overshadowed by its limited gamespan. However, it’s a solid return to next gen consoles for Pitfall Harry, and the inclusion of the original Pitfall and Pitfall II games makes this a must have for action fans.
  11. The game’s sound is as mediocre as its gameplay. Wacky, overdone effects, plenty of cheap voice-acting, some themes that sound like cheap imitations of Indiana Jones tracks, and then the occasional latin-sounding pipes for a touch of authenticity comprise the bulk of the audio.
  12. 65
    The lack luster textures and collision detection let the game down, it made the otherwise enjoyable gameplay frustrating.
  13. 90
    Wrap up the tight gameplay in gorgeous graphics and solid sounds, and Pitfall has never been better. [May 2004, p.69]
  14. Those familiar with the Pitfall name and legacy are probably going to want to take a pass, as the game has taken a turn into typical cutesy platforming action.
  15. Sure, it probably won't please any hardcore Pitfall! purists, but if you're just on the lookout for a solid platformer for a weekend rental, then Pitfall: The Lost Expedition is right up your alley.
  16. 85
    Immersive elements are everywhere: You don't just press a button to activate a lever that opens a gate -- you use the analog stick to shift Harry in the direction you want to tug that lever.
  17. A wonderful game that relies more on a subtle sense of humor and strong gaming elements than over the top graphics and gore to attract gamers.
  18. Strong graphical elements power this title along. It is amusing and entertaining. That said, veterans of the side-scrolling arcade-like adventure titles might find it a touch predictable.
  19. Gamers who have been versed in the worlds of Sly Cooper, Jak and Daxter, etc. will find the new Pitfall entry with little to offer. It sports solid, loosely Pitfall-inspired gameplay, there is just nothing new about it.
  20. Kids and the parents who shop for them or nostalgic Atari 2600 gamers will find it a decent purchase, but it’s recommended they rent it first as well to see if the unique control schemes aren’t too frustrating.
  21. I can see the kids (the younger the better) enjoying some of the byplay between Hornball Harry and the jaguar, but if they manage to get that far with the awkward controls and loopy camera, then they’re pretty strong gamers for their age. Skip this one.
  22. 78
    Still, these drawbacks in mind, I was entertained with the game from its opening cut-scene to its end credits.
  23. The more I have played this game, the higher my review score has gone. The farther I got in, the more I enjoyed the puzzles, and the more I appreciated the throwback to the game that started all of this.
  24. The graphics range from okay to great and the colorful cast of characters inject infrequent doses of levity into the proceedings, even if some of the dialogue is two monkey jokes beyond eye-rollingly lame. [May 2004, p.82]
  25. The game’s soundtrack is good, fitting the happy nature of the game. The sound effects are plentiful, especially the ambient effects like birds chipping in the background and Harry weeping when he enters dark places.
  26. A free-form action-adventure spilling over with platforming goodness, depth and originality. [Apr 2004, p.61]
  27. 60
    All in all, it seems like Activision has missed the boat. Instead of going the "Prince of Persia" route, taking a nostalgic title and darkening the action while beefing up the story, Lost Expedition wallows in mediocrity like a large, pink sow that uses words like mediocrity.
  28. Pitfall snagged me like a trophy bass. The gameplay is simple enough for any gamer to pick up, yet challenging for even seasoned gamers. The storyline and dialogue keeps things light-hearted while keeping the focus on the game’s addictive gameplay.
  29. The gameplay isn't as sharp though, with 'who cares?' combat scenes and the vine-swinging, platform-jumping action that is unforgiving to the slightest degree, slowing down the game even further.
  30. Pitfall's main game is very short, as I blazed through it in seven hours. While it does have a few secrets, such as the ability to play as Nicole and the unlockable Pitfall games you can find in a shrine near your starting point (complete with a giant Mayan monument to the Atari 2600), Pitfall is still a bit on the brief side.
  31. Just another decent, 10-hour-long hop-n-bop to add to the pile. [May 2004, p.91]
  32. Sure, the game does hold its fair share of problems - average graphics, an unoriginal story, a tendency to become monotonous and the occasional cheesy comment or two, but there’s enough solid content in the game to keep both old and new Pitfall fans happy.
  33. This is a great re-visitation to the roots of my gaming experience... Thank you for doing such a great job on this game, and the only improvement I would say is make it harder to miss jumping between vines... And that's a minor complaint, really.
  34. I liked Pitfall: The Lost Expedition and I'm sure you old schoolers out there will too. It's a game that can be played and enjoyed by all ages.
  35. Full of overt and covert nods to the classic, Pitfall: The Lost Expedition is a worthy, entertaining successor to the proud, creaking lineage.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. MatsJ.
    Feb 26, 2004
    8
    Super fun!