Prince of Persia: Warrior Within Xbox

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    This a great game but not as good as other entries in the series, the Prince isn't as an enjoyable character as he was in Sands of Time, in this he comes across as a guy to tries to hard to be a bad ass, the combat is cool and more brutal than it was in Sands of Time, and the plat forming is even better, and the story is pretty cool, it's still a great game with good controls, while I canThis a great game but not as good as other entries in the series, the Prince isn't as an enjoyable character as he was in Sands of Time, in this he comes across as a guy to tries to hard to be a bad ass, the combat is cool and more brutal than it was in Sands of Time, and the plat forming is even better, and the story is pretty cool, it's still a great game with good controls, while I can recommend this don't expect it to be as good as Sands of Time. Collapse
  2. PikaN
    Oct 13, 2008
    6
    This game kinda blows. its alright but the camera and controls are glitchy and it doesn't live up to what it should. NInja gaiden owns the shit out of this and so do the other price of persia games probably.
  3. MichaelE.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Even better than sands of time.
  4. FarrahK.
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    It is the best game ever made!! I love it!!
  5. IliyasI.
    Jun 19, 2005
    8
    Solid Adventure game. Will leave your hands drenched in sweat from all the indiana jones death defying/trap situations. Extremley challenging game, reminded me a bit of Ninja Gaiden (nes) . My only grip were the graphics weren't as Polished as the 1st game and also some of the sound effects were hella annoying. Other than that I had a blast playing this Sequel.
  6. JohnC.
    Feb 2, 2005
    8
    An average but good game overall at first it was a great game, but once you get into it it starts to get average with the lack of Cg cutsences and Dialog.
  7. J.S.
    Jan 27, 2005
    8
    As good as the first one, except for the dual weapon system being a little clunky.
  8. AustinW.
    Jan 26, 2005
    7
    Too difficult to find your way around.
  9. DangHaK.
    Jan 19, 2005
    9
    I like this game! When i played, I felt like watching an exciting movie. Especialy when you moved your Prince as fast as you can.
  10. Alex
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    This game is AWESOME for anyone that likes action, you have to get this game, it is one of the best games i have ever played.
  11. RyanH.
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    I loved the game, it blew the first one out of the water. The fighting is still great and they did a good job of not making it a carbon copy of the first one. its alot of fun and i definitely suggest giving it a chance.
  12. MichaelP.
    Jan 4, 2005
    3
    What finally forced me to send this back to Gamefly unfinished was the repetitive combat dialogue; screams, taunts, etc. Even then, I could barely put up with the back tracking, drab environments, and terrible map. This game is very disappointing, it had such potential.
  13. GuyM.
    Dec 31, 2004
    9
    Its just fun to play and look at its one of the best games ive ever played.
  14. Cyberxero
    Dec 31, 2004
    9
    Prince Of Persia Warrior Within is a worthy sequel to the Sands Of Time.Warrior Within has beautiful graphics, interesting story line, great new fighting system and pretty good voice acting.But the reason I did'nt give this game a perfect 10 is because of all the errors.Now ill be fair and put all the errors together into one mark,instead of taking away marks for every error. Prince Of Persia Warrior Within is a worthy sequel to the Sands Of Time.Warrior Within has beautiful graphics, interesting story line, great new fighting system and pretty good voice acting.But the reason I did'nt give this game a perfect 10 is because of all the errors.Now ill be fair and put all the errors together into one mark,instead of taking away marks for every error. [Sound]:The sound in POP:WW was acually pretty good with fluent voice acting and great sound effects,but I experianced some errors with the sound.For instance at some parts where I was turning the lever or something like that it made a very good sound effect but once I finished it kept making the sound effect as though if it were stuck or jammed.Also in some of the cut-scenes there was no sound at all!There was only text,and thats good enough but its a shame to see the good voice acting go to waste. [Gameplay]:In maybe one part of the game i saw an enemy just frozen,standing in one place,so I thought to attack it as an advantage but as soon as i hit the creature i to forze and had to restart my x-box.Also another time i was fighting an enemy and i had no sand left and it killed me and I fell off of a cliff and hit a ledge and it did'nt freeze but the prince wouldnt fall,and i couldnt move him at all,making me once again restart my x-box.And the last error i experianced with the gameplay was when I died sometimes it went to the (gameover) screen followed by the (retry-quit)screen.When i pressed retry sometimes it just went to a pitch black screen instead of a loading screen,and the longest i waited for it to go to the loading screen was 5 minutes and it was still pitch black, leaving me once again to restart my x-box!!!!! Over all POP WW is a worthy sequel and would be probably one of the best games ever made if there werent so many errors. Expand
  15. KyleV.
    Dec 15, 2004
    1
    Nowhere near where sands of time was. I actually turned it off an put in sands of time just to remember what a quality game feels like. I agree that the music was misplaced and the flow was choppy, i never really noticed any sound. the fighting had a few more bells and wistles which kind of looked cool but using them in combat seems cumbersome. would definetly not buy. it gets a 1 instead Nowhere near where sands of time was. I actually turned it off an put in sands of time just to remember what a quality game feels like. I agree that the music was misplaced and the flow was choppy, i never really noticed any sound. the fighting had a few more bells and wistles which kind of looked cool but using them in combat seems cumbersome. would definetly not buy. it gets a 1 instead of a 0 because of the spin around the pole attack wich is kind of cool. Expand
  16. MikeFlo
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    Ubisoft have went in the right direction with this game well in my eyes anyway. This game is truly amazing. The new Darker Prince is great i mean comeon if you knew your fate im sure you would go through alot of changes!!!
  17. RobertL.
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    WTF! are all gamers becoming morons? this game is great. i bought but didnt finish sands of time because of issues with my xbox. but now im going to be playing both of these at the same time. the fighting is as fun as any other action games and i am happy to see alittle challenge, who wants to play through a game and not die once? so. hey fanboys get off of it and enjoy what you get, or WTF! are all gamers becoming morons? this game is great. i bought but didnt finish sands of time because of issues with my xbox. but now im going to be playing both of these at the same time. the fighting is as fun as any other action games and i am happy to see alittle challenge, who wants to play through a game and not die once? so. hey fanboys get off of it and enjoy what you get, or not. i dont care. Expand
  18. AB
    Dec 10, 2004
    2
    This game is an enormous disappointment. What happened? Many sequels this year turned out great. Halo 2 was great. Metroid Prime 2 Echoes was great. GTA: San Andreas was great. So why wasn't this great? The game is too difficult, the music is ruined, and the story was butchered. No where NEAR the quality of The Sands of Time.
  19. DisappointedUser
    Dec 7, 2004
    0
    Sands of Time kept me up at night, vowing with each level to turn the game off after a few new encounters. Sadly, Warrior Within is making me lose sleep as well - but only with rage at how moronic the keepers of this franchise must have been to ruin something so rare and enjoyable. Where Sands of Time was a remarkable fusion of texture, narrative, character, and combat - Warrior Within Sands of Time kept me up at night, vowing with each level to turn the game off after a few new encounters. Sadly, Warrior Within is making me lose sleep as well - but only with rage at how moronic the keepers of this franchise must have been to ruin something so rare and enjoyable. Where Sands of Time was a remarkable fusion of texture, narrative, character, and combat - Warrior Within instead offers revoltingly idiotic "dialogue," gratingly awful music (there was just SO much glam metal in arabian antiquity) and oodles of spurting blood. ubisoft, if we wanted to play doom 3, we would have, uh.... bought doom 3. PLEASE bring the magic back in this franchise and issue a sequel to WW that resurrects the Soul of PoP so evident in Sands of Time. Expand
  20. HermanS.
    Dec 5, 2004
    0
    "The Sands of Time" had it all -- good voice action, sensible levels, coherent narrative, a sense of setting and adventure -- and "Warrior Within" tears it all down, with a wrecking ball. A humourless, incoherent mess set to clichéd heavy metal music and featuring the worst-time narrative scripting this side of Malice (remember that game?). (Try turning off the music; first, you "The Sands of Time" had it all -- good voice action, sensible levels, coherent narrative, a sense of setting and adventure -- and "Warrior Within" tears it all down, with a wrecking ball. A humourless, incoherent mess set to clichéd heavy metal music and featuring the worst-time narrative scripting this side of Malice (remember that game?). (Try turning off the music; first, you can't turn it down to zero; secondly, once you turn it down to 1, the cutscenes will be almost completely silent, as will the in-game voice acting.) Case in point -- the game starts with a nice, if tedious, intro with the prince running from a monster. Cut to the prince on a ship in a howling storm (except it's not really howling at all; I guess they forget to add sound effects for the weather?). What happened? Is it a flashback? Flash forward? You do some fighting, though at this point there is no sense of who the prince is, why he's there, and so on (even for a player like myself, who played through "Sands of Time" and knows the character and story, it feels like a different planet). While you're fighting some enemies, the game suddenly jumps into in-engine cutscene mode, in what is tantamount to the game ripping the controller out of your hands, and something which happens again and again throughout the game, breaking continuity and distressing the player. ("Sands of Time" often jumped into cutscene mode when you entered rooms, but those jumps fit into the continuity of the game; moreover, they made sense, whereas the cuts in "Warrior Within" merely distract.) You reach the raised quarterdeck and confront some evil, butch-looking K. D. Lang impersonator right out of Conan the Barbarian. Suddenly the quarterdeck is surrounded by a wall of flame for no particular reason, constricting your movement to within that square field. You're force to face off, five minutes into the game, with an incredibly powerful opponent. I play at "normal" mode, and I'm a seasoned "Sands of Time" player, and yet I must have spent 20 lives beating this woman. Only you don't exactly beat her. After fighting her for what feels like hours, you're suddenly kicked off the ship, and shown a cutscene where you're conversing with an old man. Is it a flashback? A dream? Coherence is not this game's strong point. You then wake up in what looks like a naval ship graveyard and enter some ruins where you continue to fight the same kind of monsters, as well as the semi-nude Conan chick. What? It's also a "darker" game, which these days means making the main character brood all the time, dressing the enemies up in leather and metal, and pumping up the bass on the soundtrack. It also means having a game loader screen featuring rivers of blood. What happened to the wonderfully evocative, Arabian Nights-style setting of "Sands of Time"? That game managed to be dark -- after all, it featured zombies and violent traps -- without invoking tired clichés. More than that, "Sands of Time" had a gripping story, about someone fighting for family and love and against time itself, and featuring fairly believable characters, all deftly established in the narrative. "Warrior Within" is an outstanding disappointment, which manages to expand on the bad points of its precursor while eradicating every bit that made the original game so good. The tedious focus on fighting, for example, is now expanded tenfold. The camera movement was occasionally a bit annoying in "Sands of Time", like the way it would position itself incredibly far away to the point where you could hardly find your character on screen; that bird's eye point of view seems to be standard in this game. I would love to see Gamespot doing a "final hours of Warrior Within" that explains how this sequel came to suck so much. I would not be surprised if it boiled down to getting the game out in time for Christmas. Expand
  21. JeremyG.
    Dec 2, 2004
    9
    Every game has its flaws, its mistakes. ut prince of persia makes up for it with graphics and gameplay. the storyline is also unique and interesting. onc you start playing, you are probably going to keep playing till the end. the xbox live features are pretty cool too.
  22. NicholasA.
    Dec 2, 2004
    5
    I don't think i've ever been this letdown by a video game since mgs2. everything that made sands of time the great game that it was, warrior within chucks it to carve it's own road. the results are less than satisfactory. sands of time was a beautiful game. not only in terms of visuals, but the story, character design, level design, voice acting, and the emphasis ofI don't think i've ever been this letdown by a video game since mgs2. everything that made sands of time the great game that it was, warrior within chucks it to carve it's own road. the results are less than satisfactory. sands of time was a beautiful game. not only in terms of visuals, but the story, character design, level design, voice acting, and the emphasis of exploration and puzzles instead of hack n slash gameplay. the sense of scale is lost in warrior withing. levels tend to be a claustrophobic mess and the backtracking through time isn't realized to it's full potential. the thing that aggravates me the most is the grating sound and horrendous voice acting. the sands of time had a wonderful score and the prince had an innocence about him when he spoke and when he would talk to himself. i miss that in this game. in the end, i feel that this game is a mixed bag of unrealized ideas. maybe they should have taken the road that chaos theory is doing and delayed it until they got it right. the visuals are clunky, character models tend to be extremely lo res and the gameplay is just not as fun as it should be. and in the end that is what matters most. Expand
  23. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    This a great game but not as good as other entries in the series, the Prince isn't as an enjoyable character as he was in Sands of Time, in this he comes across as a guy to tries to hard to be a bad ass, the combat is cool and more brutal than it was in Sands of Time, and the plat forming is even better, and the story is pretty cool, it's still a great game with good controls, while I canThis a great game but not as good as other entries in the series, the Prince isn't as an enjoyable character as he was in Sands of Time, in this he comes across as a guy to tries to hard to be a bad ass, the combat is cool and more brutal than it was in Sands of Time, and the plat forming is even better, and the story is pretty cool, it's still a great game with good controls, while I can recommend this don't expect it to be as good as Sands of Time. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#25 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 2 out of 55
  1. The acrobatics alone make Warrior Within a must-buy. Rounded out with superb character design and vast Myst-like landscapes, this Prince is another winner.
  2. games(TM)
    90
    You get the impression that "The Sands of Time" was just a warm-up for the main event, a game that's familiar at first but soon reveals a level of imagination beyond that of the original, and displays as little room for error as one of the Prince's most daring acrobatic leaps. [Christmas 2004, p.100]
  3. Xbox Nation Magazine
    80
    This is a rightful heir, just not resoundingly so. [Jan 2005, p.84]