Psychonauts Xbox

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChristopherH.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    One of the top 3 greatest games I've ever played. And I don't like platformers.
  2. DanielP.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played. It's not the longest, but it has great gameplay. If you dont like platforms you wont like it that much, but i absolutely LOVED it.
  3. ScottC.
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Psychonauts not only sets the bar higher for games, but in my opinon, forms the genre of movies you can play and participate in. Superb story that grips you and makes you laugh and truly Think (and not just about the game puzzles). Few games can accomplish that, and this is such a game. Even people who don't particularly like this style of game will have to admit it is an exceptional Psychonauts not only sets the bar higher for games, but in my opinon, forms the genre of movies you can play and participate in. Superb story that grips you and makes you laugh and truly Think (and not just about the game puzzles). Few games can accomplish that, and this is such a game. Even people who don't particularly like this style of game will have to admit it is an exceptional game. Highest recommendation possible. Expand
  4. PimpPlayer
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    Perfec1t
  5. ChrisR.
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    Psychonauts seamlessly merges the legendary adventure sensibilities of Tim Schafer with fluid and engaging platforming gameplay.
  6. SteveS.
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Amazing, varied gameplay that never ceases to produce a smile.
  7. SteveP.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    I was worried for a wile that plat formers, the purest form of gaming was doomed to die. The only good ones coming out where Mario Sequels, and I
  8. Zer
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    Psychonauts is one of the best platformers of all time, and it's free until Dec 31 '08 on Gametap and $10 on Steam. Everyone who enjoys platformers should play it. It's sad it bombed and caused Majesco to leave the console buisness.
  9. RyanW.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    This game is excellent. The art direction, the soundtrack, the storyline (from what I've seen), the character depth, the universe realistation -- it's all perfect. I cannot recommend this game enough, and any gamer with the slightest interest in either the platforming or adventure genres should try it out. Hell, try it out even if you aren't. With the free demo, you This game is excellent. The art direction, the soundtrack, the storyline (from what I've seen), the character depth, the universe realistation -- it's all perfect. I cannot recommend this game enough, and any gamer with the slightest interest in either the platforming or adventure genres should try it out. Hell, try it out even if you aren't. With the free demo, you can't really go wrong. Expand
  10. [Anonymous]
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    One of the most important video games of all time.
  11. RaZB.
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Once you really get into this game, you will realize that it has just about everything. I have laughed out loud many times at the one-liners in this game. The environments are amazing, and the voice acting is spot on! This game will make you think and laugh... a lot! Thanks Double Fine for setting the standard of actually taking time to completely fine-tuning a game before releasing it.
  12. FolarinS.
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Simply amazing!!!!!!! I had almost given up on computer games, then along comes this psychadelic experience. The humor is outstanding and Raz's is so eager to face all comers that you cannot but enjoy playing as him. Lungfishopolis on its own is worth the price of admission.
  13. BrentC.
    May 2, 2005
    10
    This game has all the originality of old school Nintendo games while putting the Xbox to full use. The puzzles are hard mostly because the game does its best to annoy you to put you off your best possible mental condition. Though you don't like getting annoyed, if you can accept it as a way to crank up the difficulty in some challenging situations, you'll appreciate it. The art This game has all the originality of old school Nintendo games while putting the Xbox to full use. The puzzles are hard mostly because the game does its best to annoy you to put you off your best possible mental condition. Though you don't like getting annoyed, if you can accept it as a way to crank up the difficulty in some challenging situations, you'll appreciate it. The art is beyond superb. I only wish there were more places to "visit." This is the only game ever where I replayed a training level just to have the experience again. I'm probably a third of the way into the game, and I can't wait for te levels that follow. Buy this now. Expand
  14. JonD.
    May 28, 2005
    10
    Best game i have played this year!
  15. Charlie
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable!
  16. SoiledPatsy
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    I soiled myself after this amazing creation came out. Wow. Not world of warcraft, but wow as in amazing.
  17. PaulP.
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    Fantastic creativity.
  18. TonyB.
    Jul 8, 2005
    9
    I'm a guy that hates boss fights. I was strickly a PC gamer, so avoiding boss fights isn't too hard...but playing this game on the Xbox is just sheer fun. The games creativity and imagination is incredibly refreshing after playing (even good) mass amrket games that all seem to blend into eachother. I'd recommend this game to anyone that can stand to laugh a little while I'm a guy that hates boss fights. I was strickly a PC gamer, so avoiding boss fights isn't too hard...but playing this game on the Xbox is just sheer fun. The games creativity and imagination is incredibly refreshing after playing (even good) mass amrket games that all seem to blend into eachother. I'd recommend this game to anyone that can stand to laugh a little while playing video games. Expand
  19. ChrisG.
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    This game has more imagination and variety than aything else I've played in 2005. The premise is unique, and the execution is outstanding. Here's why I didn't give it a 10: The jumping felt a little mushy at first, but you get powers later in the game to make up for it. The camera controls felt a little off. The very last challenge was a huge spike in difficulty. I found it This game has more imagination and variety than aything else I've played in 2005. The premise is unique, and the execution is outstanding. Here's why I didn't give it a 10: The jumping felt a little mushy at first, but you get powers later in the game to make up for it. The camera controls felt a little off. The very last challenge was a huge spike in difficulty. I found it fairly frustrating. I also had to turn off the music in this part- it was driving me INSANE! Expand
  20. Zimbo74
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    One of the funniest games I've ever played! I'm taking my time with it because I don't want it to finish!
  21. Mark
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    Best platformer ever! A classic by Tim Schafer and his team, Double Fine! Simply not to be missed!
  22. EricS.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    This game is wonderful, and at a low low price of only $20 for PC.
  23. KenS.
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Just fabulous, each level is a new world a new surprise and a whole new perspective. Brilliant and very funny.
  24. BirthdayBoy
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Extraordinary, original, beautiful, deep game. It's Zelda for grownups. The young-looking graphics are not indicative of the experience. One of the best games of all time, from one of the greatest game designers.
  25. ScottG.
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    Great game,fun for the kids and adults. . .thank you Double Fine for all the hard work...it paid off as on of the best platformers. . .ever!
  26. BrianJ.
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    It's a pitiful world we live in when an amazing title like this is not loved by all fans of gaming. It has amazing characters, well written dialog and story and oodles of fun. If you don't play this game and enjoy it you are not a gamer.
  27. JohnK.
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Truly great game! Very intriguing and extremely creative level design-- you really never know what to expect next! If you like games like Ratchet & Clank, Sly Cooper and Jak & Daxter (or if you only have an X-Box but have heard that those games on the PS2 were fun), then give this game a try! The game provides hours of entertainment, and its quirky humor keeps things interesting. The game Truly great game! Very intriguing and extremely creative level design-- you really never know what to expect next! If you like games like Ratchet & Clank, Sly Cooper and Jak & Daxter (or if you only have an X-Box but have heard that those games on the PS2 were fun), then give this game a try! The game provides hours of entertainment, and its quirky humor keeps things interesting. The game does a nice job of pulling you into the story, and has a free-roaming feel to it. You really do feel like you are trying to solve this brain-stealing mystery, and the game's little puzzles are fun to solve in order to move on to the next level. And when I say "puzzles", don't be put off by that if you are not a fan of such things-- the puzzles are just the creative ways that you will need to combine your powers in order to achieve your objectives. Bottom line: If you like action/adventure games with a little creativity (actually A LOT), then BUY THIS GAME. There really is no comparison on the X-Box! Expand
  28. AndersonM.
    Jul 11, 2005
    10
    This game is unbelivable the voice acting is perfection and is unstop fun. this is by far the best platformer ever. a must buy!
  29. Dr.Worm
    Oct 31, 2006
    9
    It's a great platform game with good story, not bad graphics, and it brings originality to a franchise most give the cold shoulder. It does leave room for improvement though, it was a little too linear towards the beginning.
  30. JohnD.
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    this came is the best game ive played all year. It is creative,funny,not all that long but worth it.
  31. DavidL.
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    An impressive game. Brilliant design, clever writing, ingenious puzzles and addictive gameplay. Another fantastic game from Tim Schafer and the team at DoubleFine.
  32. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Certainly doesn't have amazing graphics but it does have a good art style. The gameplay is... a bit bland and clunky. I can't give this more than a 8, it's just not that well. Fun.
  33. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    A quirky, original and astounding platformer, and it holds up 8 years later. It's got the most clever, funny writing I've seen in a game, and with innovative ideas, like sortings ones literal emotional baggage and jumping into peoples brains that match their personality, that are executed perfectly. Granted, the platforming itself is a bit off, as this is Tim Schafers first stab at puzzleA quirky, original and astounding platformer, and it holds up 8 years later. It's got the most clever, funny writing I've seen in a game, and with innovative ideas, like sortings ones literal emotional baggage and jumping into peoples brains that match their personality, that are executed perfectly. Granted, the platforming itself is a bit off, as this is Tim Schafers first stab at puzzle platforming, but the characters, writing, aesthetic, adventure and story are completely pitch perfect, and it's one of the best 3D platformers of all time, even though the platforming isn't as tight as other platformers. It's a shame this didn't sell well, because if it did, more developers would be focusing on story and characters than xenophobic shooty-fun. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
#7 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Weird, funny, immensely playable, and has that nigh-unclassifiable thing we can only call charm.
  2. Loading screens can stall the action on Xbox and especially PlayStation 2, and there are some rough platform encounters late in the game, but Psychonauts is still easily one of the best titles of this, or any other, year.
  3. 90
    Simply beguiling, a must-experience game, which will firmly cement itself in the mind of the player long after the system has been switched off.