Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. A great game with surprisingly good controls for an FPS game that you play with a gamepad.
  2. The game’s single player mode is short . . . really short. As good as the story is and the action heavy and hot, you’ll find that the game can be beaten fairly quickly.
  3. The single player mission is a walk in the park, but it’s worth playing a second time on the hardest difficulty, forget the length. If the single player mode is a breeze then multiplayer would feel like a tornado.
  4. 83
    Fun, certainly, but the single-player is a bit too linear for my tastes and the game ends well before my bedtime.
  5. If you've never played this game before, the thrills it delivers are of the highest level, and the unique Geo-Mod technology creates a number of interesting gameplay strategies. [Apr 2003, p.93]
  6. A very good game, but unfortunately it lacks that certain "magic" to take it to the next level. [May 2003, p.77]
  7. Plays like most typical first-person shooters with a less than interesting plot, generic characters and fair voice acting.
  8. 80
    Improves on the first "Red Faction" on almost every level. The graphics are superb, the action is relentless, and the Geo-Mod aspects play a more integral role in the game.
  9. A tight control scheme, some exceptional gameplay thanks to the Geo-Mod engine and a solid split-screen multiplayer component make Red Faction II a safe purchase for any action fan looking for more than a mindless shooter.
  10. 80
    Delivers a fluid and challenging (if thinly plotted) single-player experience and shell-shock multiplayer that makes this new Xbox recruit easily worth the war debt of the game's price tag.
  11. What is here is handled extremely well, from the just-right control and intensely staged action to the cool weapons and nicely drawn world. [Apr 2003, p.62]
  12. The sequel to the original Red Faction, it is one that will satisfy the offline FPS fan.
  13. A rocket ride with airtight controls and quicksilver pacing that's rarely interrupted by aimless wandering. [May 2003, p.132]
  14. It's not long on looks, but it's got no shortage of action.
  15. Fans of the original will notice the drastically reduced "geo-mod" function—no more digging tunnels or indiscriminate destruction.
  16. The artificial feel of the game hampers its campaign to become one of the best shooters of its kind, and (as we’ve seen time and time again) the main gimmick has sold the rest of the experience short.
  17. I really can't put my finger on it with this one, It just seemed...eh, Vanilla.
  18. Slight edge might be given to the Xbox because of its superior dual analog sticks, but the GCN yellow c-stick isn’t too troublesome.
  19. It's what I call an "equal sequel" which means the sequel is nearly identical to the original in every respect. I've already played the original so why do I want to play it over again?
  20. With little here to massage the mind or engage the heart, Red Faction II becomes nothing more than a linear on-rails twitch-fest. [June-July 2003, p.92]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. DusitnK.
    Nov 19, 2003
    1
    This game blows worst buy of my life. RF1 kicks the crap out of the second one.
  2. KarlK.
    Jun 29, 2003
    1
    I played the 1st red faction at a frends house useingn a ps2, it was really good. RF1 used geo-mode technology which allowed the player to I played the 1st red faction at a frends house useingn a ps2, it was really good. RF1 used geo-mode technology which allowed the player to alter the envirement . The Mutliplayre of RF1 was fantastic (my favert thing to do was to tunnel a good 100 feet into a wall). When I herd Red Faction 2 would be comming to Xbox I pre-orderded it 2 weeks in advanced. After I compleated the game and played the mutliplayre, i broke the disk in two. This game had been the single most dissapointing game ive ever played. It contained none on the things I listed about in RF1. The Geo-mode technology was limited to a handfull of objects and a few walls. If you liked RF1, dont bother geting or even renting RF2. (Note: I gave this game a 1 just because I feel sory for it and the people who had to make it) Full Review »
  3. RobertS.
    Jun 17, 2003
    8
    The single player is ok. It is in the multiplayer that this game shines. Good arena layouts and interesting weapons.