User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MAxM.
    Apr 24, 2003
    3
    The Multiplayer mode was bad, but the singleplayer mode was truly awful. I was really looking forward to playing this game, but just found myself bored after a short while. The gameplay was uninteresting and controls, weapons, and environments left a lot to be desired.
  2. Merxx
    Apr 27, 2003
    7
    Simply put alot of FUN ! Some minor issues, none of which affect the over all enjoyment of this game.
  3. W.Cuthbertson
    Apr 3, 2003
    7
    Brilliant multiplayer, but all the things you buy Xbox games for (superior graphics and online play) are missing. Still, having 60 multiplayer maps, programmable bots, and a single-person storyline that is heavy on the action is nothing to complain about.
  4. Bigballs
    May 3, 2003
    7
    Single Player: wasn't very long but overall gameplay was good needs harder levels though. Multiplayer: Needs a multiplayer co-operative but otherwise no probs.
  5. RobertS.
    Jun 17, 2003
    8
    The single player is ok. It is in the multiplayer that this game shines. Good arena layouts and interesting weapons.
  6. DusitnK.
    Nov 19, 2003
    1
    This game blows worst buy of my life. RF1 kicks the crap out of the second one.
  7. KarlK.
    Jun 29, 2003
    1
    I played the 1st red faction at a frends house useingn a ps2, it was really good. RF1 used geo-mode technology which allowed the player to alter the envirement . The Mutliplayre of RF1 was fantastic (my favert thing to do was to tunnel a good 100 feet into a wall). When I herd Red Faction 2 would be comming to Xbox I pre-orderded it 2 weeks in advanced. After I compleated the game and I played the 1st red faction at a frends house useingn a ps2, it was really good. RF1 used geo-mode technology which allowed the player to alter the envirement . The Mutliplayre of RF1 was fantastic (my favert thing to do was to tunnel a good 100 feet into a wall). When I herd Red Faction 2 would be comming to Xbox I pre-orderded it 2 weeks in advanced. After I compleated the game and played the mutliplayre, i broke the disk in two. This game had been the single most dissapointing game ive ever played. It contained none on the things I listed about in RF1. The Geo-mode technology was limited to a handfull of objects and a few walls. If you liked RF1, dont bother geting or even renting RF2. (Note: I gave this game a 1 just because I feel sory for it and the people who had to make it) Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Fans of the original will notice the drastically reduced "geo-mod" function—no more digging tunnels or indiscriminate destruction.
  2. With little here to massage the mind or engage the heart, Red Faction II becomes nothing more than a linear on-rails twitch-fest. [June-July 2003, p.92]
  3. A great game with surprisingly good controls for an FPS game that you play with a gamepad.