Shrek: Super Party Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Your favorite characters from the movie Shrek now star in an interactive board game. Shrek: Super Party lets you select characters from the movie--including Shrek, Princess Fiona, Lord Farquaad, Donkey, Monsieur Hood, and Thelonius--to battle three of your friends in 30 action-packed minigames. In each game you can earn bug juice, and the first player who earns 100 drops of bug juice wins. Swap bugs, form alliances, or play dirty--but just do whatever you can to gain the competitive edge. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 8 out of 9
  1. Offers an overabundance of boring mini-games that emphasize dumb luck over skill, and since this title is little more than a collection of mini-games, it suffers because of it.
  2. Are we going to be forever destined to inferior products based on popular characters wading through a series of hackneyed mini games?
  3. A horrible game? Not at all... Some positives include its clean look, tolerable music, and ease of play. Anyone can pick it up and start playing.
  4. Tears of joy rolled down my cheeks at the exact moment that I ejected this game from my Xbox. I then proceeded to toss it on the floor and violently smash it with a sledgehamer into a thousand little pieces. [Jan 2003, p.114]
  5. Let's just say that the only way to ruin a party quicker than loading up Shrek Super Party is to load up "Nickelodeon Party Blast." Stay away!
  6. 30
    Do not pass go, head directly to jail. It's bad. Boring. And also bad.
  7. Shrek is full of dull, poorly constructed rip-offs that get recycled several times. You'll be utterly bored after a few minutes with these creepy diversions. [Feb 2003, p.158]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    10
    Best game ever. Childhood memories have been re-visited. Do not think twice and go buy a copy of this. Full of mini games and puzzles which makes the game extremely fun alongside the over sized heads (not big enough huehue) of the Shrek characters. Expand
  2. Sep 1, 2014
    10
    Possibly the best game ever created. It should be mandatory for every sentient being on this planet to purchase and play this game for at least 23 hours per day. Shrek is Love, Shrek is Life. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    Somebody once told me the world is gonna roll me
    I ain't the sharpest tool in the shed
    She was looking kind of dumb with her finger and her
    thumb
    In the shape of an "L" on her forehead

    Well the years start coming and they don't stop coming
    Fed to the rules and I hit the ground running
    Didn't make sense not to live for fun
    Your brain gets smart but your head gets dumb
    So much to do so much to see
    So what's wrong with taking the back streets
    You'll never know if you don't go
    You'll never shine if you don't glow

    It's a cool place and they say it gets colder
    You're bundled up now but wait 'til you get older
    But the meteor men beg to differ
    Judging by the hole in the satellite picture
    The ice we skate is getting pretty thin
    The water's getting warm so you might as well swim
    My world's on fire how about yours
    That's the way I like it and I never get bored
    Somebody once asked could I spare some change for gas
    I need to get myself away from this place
    I said yep what a concept
    I could use a little fuel myself
    And we could all use a little change

    Well, the years start coming and they don't stop coming
    Fed to the rules and I hit the ground running
    Didn't make sense not to live for fun
    Your brain gets smart but your head gets dumb
    So much to do, so much to see
    So what's wrong with taking the back streets
    You'll never know if you don't go
    You'll never shine if you don't glow
    Expand
  4. TânC.
    Dec 14, 2003
    9
    Some reviewers have no sense of humour - my gang picked this and Mario Party 5 up on rental for the weekend and Shrek kicks Mario's ass! Great fun, and a unique and well thought out scoring system. Not nearly as luck-orientated as MP, either... Expand
  5. KevinD.
    Jul 20, 2006
    9
    I've seen the bad reviews, but my girls love this game. We keep coming back, and the mini games are really cute.
  6. W4
    Jun 20, 2004
    9
    I'd give this game a 8 for single player, but def a 10 for multiplayer mayhem. The concept is not new and done millions of times, but implemented very well. If you like partygames like Fuzion Frenzy, Monopoly Party, Mashed etc, than you will love it with 4 players. On the couch and screaming at each other you'll notice: time flies when you are having phun :-) Collapse
  7. MattD.
    Jul 4, 2003
    8
    This is a great multiplayer game! This is the only game I have where if more than one person (hell, all 4 people) play, the gameplay does NOT get worse (ie, some games, you go from full screen in single player mode to 1/4 of the screen in multi player mode). The mini games are dumb but can be fun. Most of this game is pure luck, which can piss you off quite a bit. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews