Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Sonic Heroes will fill you with a sense of pure fun seldom seen in the annals of modern game design. [Jan 2004, p.50]
  2. A great game and I think it is safe to say that the long wait for a new Sonic game is finally over, and it was well worth the wait!
  3. The game plays extremely smoothly with slightly 'iffy' storylines.
  4. With simplistic controls, the fluidity of the gameplay is neigh-on faultless, something that has manifested itself in the success of the team system in the game itself, which in itself gives the game more depth than it would otherwise have enjoyed.
  5. 8 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 32 gold [Vol 786]
  6. Looks spectacular, with dazzling day-glo colors, ultrasmooth movement, and trippy effects. Every stage explodes with breakneck speed, insane loops, absurd corkscrews, and other gravity-defying razmatazz. [Mar 2004, p.82]
  7. It certainly offers one hectic and frenzied gaming experience, which has to be the main element of any Sonic game and something that was sadly missing in the recent titles.
  8. 80
    A creative stab at reclaiming the essence of hog; if it only had a little more faith in its own clever idea, it probably would have broken the sound barrier.
  9. The most glaring fault is that the twitchy controls and the sometimes less-than-perfect camera angles can lead to frustrating falls, especially on the vertigo-inducing rail levels. [Feb 2004, p.80]
  10. The camera system prevents the story mode from being the heart pounding, wind-through-your-hair experience that was intended. The team-based gameplay feels forced and takes a lot of the creativity away.
  11. Makes a nice transition to the Xbox with just enough of the old and the addition of something new keeping it fresh and original even for a character that's been around so long.
  12. 75
    It's way too easy to dash off a cliff into an instant death, which seems totally out of place these days.
  13. The concept of the team play, and using different leaders and formations for different situations is find, but maybe a little overdone.
  14. Another issue is with control. It's not as bad as the camera; but the trouble is, it often works in tandem with the camera. This can make for some very strange play. Outside of that, it's quite loose, and takes some getting used to.
  15. 72
    Clocks in at a short 14 levels that can be finished in a couple hours the first time through. Playing through as other teams provides some variation, but with no actual change in the level design.
  16. Though it still exhibits many of the camera and control issues that vexed Sonic's previous forays into 3D, it's truer to its 2D roots than any other 3D Sonic game before it.
  17. The game's graphics aren't on par with today's console offerings -- sure the worlds are colorful and large, but perhaps the developers at Japan's Sonic Team studios had to sacrifice visuals for speed.
  18. 70
    Sonic Heroes isn't a drastic change from the Adventure games, and happens to suffer from most of the same problems. That said, the extra nostalgia factor and team play system do make it that little bit better.
  19. Old-school Sonic speed plus a few new twists makes for a decent if not earth-shattering return to the realm of the blue hedgehog.
  20. Gamers who haven't exactly stuck by Sonic's blurry blue side over the years will have to work a little harder to get to the fun, spastic heart of Sonic Heroes, but those who know what to expect in terms of mechanics and sheer kinetic insanity will feel right at home.
  21. As with the previous two 3D Sonic outings, Sonic Heroes is a solid platformer that could've been a lot better if the developers had spent more time balancing the levels and tweaking the unbelievably frustrating camera. [Feb 2004, p.108]
  22. Lacks the constant speed of a Sonic title, and when you are given that speed, it often leads to your death or you easily getting hurt by things you were given no time to react to.
  23. The techincal aspects of Sonic Heroes are handled well, with the exception of the camera and voice work. In fact, the camera is worse than "Mario 64's" (and that's saying a lot) and the voice acting is downright repulsive. [Apr 2004, p.9]
  24. The concept is well and good, and works well – except for the fact that you still must slow down to use Knuckles and Tails (or the equivalent member in one of the three other teams in the game). These are the moments that the game truly lags, and once again the shoddy camera has come back to once again make the game a pain.
  25. The camera is crap, the scale is awkward, the story and characters are basic and cringe-worthy, the combat is tedious, the platforming and puzzling is too basic, and I was well bored of it by the time I conquered the final level with the first of the four Teams, which wasn't even that long after I first grabbed it out of the shrink-wrap.
  26. Although it may be his trademark, the emphasis on speed in Sonic Heroes is exaggerated to the point of annoyance and you just need to push up to tear through sections of some levels, leaving collecting rings is more to do with luck than judgement and it's hard to feel totally in control, but there are plenty of puzzles en route that do take a little more thought.
  27. 55
    Long stretches of each stage can be severely frustrating and annoying, but when they're not, it's still pretty fun -- and getting "in the zone" to complete an especially hard part in one try is always satisfying.
  28. Rarely does dying feel like the player's fault and, in typical "Sonic Adventure" fashion, the best bits are when you find that the majority of control has been taken away from you, and you're flung around the world at escape velocity. [Mar 2004, p.105]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    I first played this game on my Xbox original last night and I must say, It's all a bit "meh". Controlls are fantastic, and one of the bestI first played this game on my Xbox original last night and I must say, It's all a bit "meh". Controlls are fantastic, and one of the best control schemes for a 3D sonic. But this is where the few bad things that ruin the experience come in. You save up something like a hundred gold rings for a team blast, and when you press the white button to activate it, you just get some really trippy animation and a few rings. So pointless are the best two words to describe that function, and the whole game is just one big beginner's death trap. Is there any explanation for these frustrating as hell platforming sections whatsoever except for one of your team mates saying which character would be best for the job? No. These few things just ruin the whole gaming experience for me. Not bad, but certainly not great. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2014
    8
    Sonic Heroes was the first Sonic game that got in my childhood, so it gives my nostalgia.
    Gameplay: 8/10
    The gameplay is so gimmicky, yet so
    Sonic Heroes was the first Sonic game that got in my childhood, so it gives my nostalgia.
    Gameplay: 8/10
    The gameplay is so gimmicky, yet so inspired. Playing 3 characters at once, and total control of switching characters? Doesn't that sound like fun?
    Graphics: 7/10
    The graphics are defiantly an improvement over Sonic Adventure, which had a glitch where characters's mouths would still be moving after finishing a sentence
    Heartwarmth: 11/10
    Not only is it nostalgic, it also gives out a heartwarming message about teamwork and trust
    Train wreaking: 5/10
    I mean like slippery stuff. Especially Omega and Vector's combat, and Hang Castle made me want to throw up due to it turning upside down.
    Overall, it's a very good game with a heartwarming message about teamwork
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2014
    7
    At heart a brilliant game, with a usually solid difficulty curve. Replaying the game 4 times never really bothered me, as with all the hiddenAt heart a brilliant game, with a usually solid difficulty curve. Replaying the game 4 times never really bothered me, as with all the hidden extras in levels, there is a lot of replay value, and only two of the team story lines are actually identical, Team Rose being a shorter tutorial version (a great idea imo) and Chaotix a thoroughly enjoyable revamp of the standard story. Personally I didn't see the issue with replaying the story as it was a lot of fun. Sadly, occasional glitches and flaws in level design do cast a shadow on the experience, and frequently ruined the game for me, but are worth putting up with nonetheless. Full Review »