Spartan: Total Warrior Xbox

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
Buy On
  1. Play Magazine
    90
    Spartan Total Warrior doesn't remind me of anything before it, which is extremely rare. [Nov p.70]
  2. Spartan Total Warrior made great use of their voice actors.
  3. 90
    Mindless hack-and-whack style gameplay stays hot thanks to interesting objectives. Spartan is constantly throwing new gameplay elements at you.
  4. A high watermark for where epic hack'n'slash games should be at this stage of the Xbox's lifecycle.
  5. Official Xbox Magazine
    84
    Repetitive, sure, but when the combat is in big 'n' bold mode, it's fun and unique enough that you don't really care that you've just killed "guy with shield" # 4728. 'Tis an epic ode to chaos and confusion. [Dec 2005, p.102]
  6. While not the super-strategic romp some of you were expecting, Spartan: Total Warrior delivers the goods if you're looking for a solid chunk of challenging action from start to finish.
  7. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    82
    It's one of the most polished games I've played since "The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction." [Nov 2005, p.138]
  8. AceGamez
    80
    The combat is satisfying, the setting is grand and the amount of troops on screen is amazing - this is war on a scale rarely seen in games and it puts the likes of "Dynasty Warriors" to shame for its combination of sheer numbers and exceptional graphics, with an outstanding soundtrack that completes the atmosphere of this historical adventure.
  9. A different take on the action genre and it succeeds in bringing a chaotic, evolving level-by-level button-masher to glory in a very graphically compelling way.
  10. Sure, the story isn't that deep or developed that well. Yeah, the graphics are not stellar. True, the audio is pretty much a disappointment. But oh that engine. Spartan controls with ease.
  11. Visually the game is certainly impressive when you take into consideration the number of characters onscreen at one time - with only very infrequent episodes of slowdown - and the draw distance.
  12. Spartan is great fun, but we can't help but feel a little disappointed that the mighty Assembly's console debut isn't much more than a pretty-looking "Dynasty Warriors." [Official UK Xbox Magazine]
  13. 80
    It provides intoxicating gaming on a tremendously large scale rarely seen before in the hack and slash war genre.
  14. 80
    I would have personally loved to see co-op multiplayer. It didn't detract from the game, but co-op in a game like Spartan is always a nice little touch.
  15. With its simple gameplay and involving story, Spartan: Total Warrior is a perfect blend of strategy game and hack'n'slash romp.
  16. 79
    It's therefore unfortunate that the unrefined targeting system, cheap boss battles and generally unhelpful friendly AI make the experience a mixed bag of exhilarating and exasperating moments.
  17. Game Informer
    78
    The boss fights are frustrating to the point of idiocy, and are made worse by the annoying checkpoint system... It sure beats the hell out of another "Dynasty Warriors" retreat, though. [Oct 2005, p.119]
  18. It tends to shift between greatness and mediocrity with the frequency of your average rollercoaster ride, but the great parts are easily worth a look by anyone who enjoys beat-'em-ups.
  19. 75
    It isn't a deep game but should keep most gamers immersed while they play.
  20. We weren't particularly bothered that we had to wait while our health/power gauge increased slowly, but what we didn't like was the fact that Spartan couldn't protect himself at all when praying at the statues.
  21. 74
    An accomplished and well-crafted battle-axe wielding warrior of a game. Just don't expect anything classic, historically speaking.
  22. For the most part, Spartan: Total Warrior is a pretty good action effort. Unfortunately, the high production values and engaging gameplay of the Total War games are nowhere to be found here.
  23. Edge Magazine
    70
    It only betrays itself completely once – in a dismally conventional boss battle around halfway through – though at times Spartan threatens to become routine, it never does, thanks to its strong character, handsome looks and sheer, irrepressible verve. [Nov 2005, p.96]
  24. If you want a game that lets you partake in massive battles - with little degree of difficulty - then you'll enjoy Spartan's quest to rid the world of the evil Romans.
  25. games(TM)
    70
    If "God Of War" never happened, Spartan: Total Warrior would have been a great example of a simple, gratuitous action game. As it is, it's merely a good one. [Nov 2005, p.124]
  26. Though it can be an intense experience, Spartan does have a tendency to become quite repetitive at times. Having said that there is a solid combat system and enough variety that will please action fans.
  27. It doesn't really bring a lot of new ideas to the third-person action game genre but the period of history it depicts is interesting and the decision to incorporate mythological elements was a good one.
  28. 70
    Showcases a pleasant portion of gory violence and splashy red sprays, but the aloof camera can easily loses your character in the sea of suffering humanity, forcing you to rely on blind button mashing.
  29. If you are looking for an epic battle game that takes place in the ancient world, go get yourself a copy of "Rome Total War," if you want an awesome battle game where you are one soldier against many foes then go get yourself a copy of "God of War."
  30. It's got some fun gameplay elements and a cool setting, but it fails as a superb action game that a lot of people were definitely expecting it to be.
  31. 60
    At the base, the game is very likeable idea, controls brilliantly and does a lot of stuff right. But when the balance shifts from "I'm going to keep trying because I know I can get better" to "I'm going to keep trying to justify the $50 I just spent," then there's a problem.
  32. 60
    While the production values are pretty good, the gameplay is pretty shallow. If you're into action games, this is worth playing once.
  33. The story is beyond uninteresting and the gameplay's extremely boring, especially compared to its competition, Sony's "God of War."
  34. Dramatic battles against mythological monsters test your skills, but the occasional badly placed checkpoint can be frustrating.
  35. 50
    It's astounding, almost like a train wreck the player can see coming, but has no power to stop. These unarmed dullards in Warrior do not stay behind their defenders.
  36. Computer Games Magazine
    30
    Combined with the recent God of War, a pattern seems to be developing: the gifts Ares bestows come at the cost of a clad torso. [Dec p.88]

Awards & Rankings

#92 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
#12 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. RoyG.
    May 24, 2006
    9
    Best hack 'n slash game I've played to date on the xbox. Really absorbs you and the time just flies when yuo play it.
  2. Rick
    Feb 10, 2006
    8
    I think my score of 8 is reflective of the fact that hack n slash games are pretty mindless. Having said that this is the best one Ive played I think my score of 8 is reflective of the fact that hack n slash games are pretty mindless. Having said that this is the best one Ive played and I really enjoyed it which suprised me. Its just so easy to play and the Boss Battles required some pattern detecting to beat which made for an enjoyable game. Probably a hire only but there is some replay value as really getting 100% shouldnt be too frustrating second time around. Its not a fave but what it did it did well and the time past easily as there was some variety in missions. Became easy once I figured most times you could wait for an attack from anyone of the 100 or so assailants then counter with the sweep attack. Full Review »
  3. RazorA.
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    This game was exactly what i was looking for. A full war game. not guns. swords. awsome gore and blood. this game is amazing.