SpongeBob SquarePants: Battle for Bikini Bottom Xbox

SpongeBob SquarePants: Battle for Bikini Bottom Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In an effort to cause the kind of global mayhem he has always dreamed of, the evil Plankton has set in motion his most diabolical plot ever to take over the world. The fate of Bikini Bottom has been put in the hands (or small tentacles) of three unsuspecting heroes. Put your platform skillsIn an effort to cause the kind of global mayhem he has always dreamed of, the evil Plankton has set in motion his most diabolical plot ever to take over the world. The fate of Bikini Bottom has been put in the hands (or small tentacles) of three unsuspecting heroes. Put your platform skills to the test as SpongeBob, Patrick, or Sandy Cheeks, with an array of insane new maneuvers and power-ups at your disposal. Explore a huge 3D world, encounter familiar friends, and finally put an end to Plankton's evil scheme. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Cheat Code Central
    80
    The developers are taking the license seriously and have produced a game that feels more like an episode of the series than the typical cash-grab game with popular characters thrown on it.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine
    80
    The facts remain: it's nicely crafted, fittingly visualized, and undeniably entertaining at times. [Jan 2004, p.74]
  3. GMR Magazine
    80
    Like Bob himself, this game holds its water and is, in fact, remarkably fun. [Jan 2004, p.86]
  4. 73
    I'm constantly amazed by the how much THQ and Heavy Iron got right -- this truly is like playing through an episode.
  5. The visual style, the sounds, and the jokes are straight out of the show, and all come together to create a fun and enjoyable game.
  6. 50
    It's all not as bad as it could have been, but nothing you can't get from dozens of other games...as average as they come.
  7. Xbox Nation Magazine
    50
    Heavy Iron may not have been especially creative here, but at least it's stealing from the right places. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.100]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. JohnK.
    Jan 13, 2004
    10
    This is truly a fun game, no matter your age! Don't let the mixed reviews fool you-- this game is good. If you liked games like Mario This is truly a fun game, no matter your age! Don't let the mixed reviews fool you-- this game is good. If you liked games like Mario Brothers, Sonic the Hedgehog, etc...(back in the day of course), then you will enjoy this game. Lots of fun colorful environments to explore, and it won't drive you crazy trying to figure everything out. Don't get me wrong, the game is plenty challenging, but you can usually figure out what you need to do relatively quicky. In any event, I highly recommend this game! Great for kids and adults alike, especially if you enjoy the cartoon's humor (which you will see throughout the game)! Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2017
    10
    I bought this game for rule 34 but instead i learned how to spongeglide past kids in goo lagoon and do the entirety of kelp forest backwardsI bought this game for rule 34 but instead i learned how to spongeglide past kids in goo lagoon and do the entirety of kelp forest backwards thank shift 10/10 Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2017
    10
    Hey how ya doin', let me tell you about this game. Truly a masterpiece. Took me quite a while to get the hang of cruise boosting, but once IHey how ya doin', let me tell you about this game. Truly a masterpiece. Took me quite a while to get the hang of cruise boosting, but once I got it down I was completely enthralled. The first time I actually did it I was all like Whoa, I'm quick. Nothing gives me quite the rush like hitting a perfect oil skip in the beginning of Dream, or flawlessly executing the hammer skip on my first try. Don't even get me started on the reverse cruise boost. This game is truly a work of art, 10/10 would skip the final boss again. Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2016
    9
    Battle for Bikini Bottom was my favourite game growing up. It is undeniably awesome. It has great gameplay, a decent story, an interesting andBattle for Bikini Bottom was my favourite game growing up. It is undeniably awesome. It has great gameplay, a decent story, an interesting and explorable world, lots to do, cool enemies and bosses, and so much more. One of the few games I have beat 100%. It took me forever but I finally got all 100 golden spatulas! Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    This is without a doubt one of my most favorite video games I have ever played! The game is challenging, adventurous, and pretty long, all ofThis is without a doubt one of my most favorite video games I have ever played! The game is challenging, adventurous, and pretty long, all of which I like. Now many people might think it's a kid game because it is a spongebob game, but let me tell you, this is truly a game for all ages. In terms of pure enjoyment, this may be my #1 spot. Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2017
    9
    It's the SpongeBob SquarePants equivalent to big-time favorable games like Super Mario 64 and Banjo-Kazooie and feels like you're watching aIt's the SpongeBob SquarePants equivalent to big-time favorable games like Super Mario 64 and Banjo-Kazooie and feels like you're watching a combined total of five episodes of SpongeBob SquarePants from its pre-movie era. Give this game a chance and you'll love it right away. Expand
  7. NickG.
    Jan 2, 2004
    6
    This game is fun, and challenging, but at times, too challenging.

See all 12 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#54 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
#28 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003