SSX 3 Xbox

Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Cheat Code Central
    100
    It offers something for everyone and while it is harder, the game grows with the player.
  2. The difficulty curve is perfect. Can't win a particular race? No problem. Take a practice run to look for shortcuts or shell out some prize money to upgrade your character, and you'll be right back on the road to snowboarding superstardom.
  3. 100
    It’s the kind of game that can be played indefinitely and a player’s performance will continually improve. The tasks ahead look daunting at first, but the depth of the game quickly becomes a player’s best friend as each new play session introduces new surprises.
  4. It's just so massively detailed, so thoroughly improved and so gloriously playable that we have to recommend it. We haven't even touched on the multiplayer aspect, which we'll be doing in our PS2 Online review very soon, but to be honest it wouldn't have to be good - the rest of the game is enough on its own.
  5. Game Informer
    95
    The beauty of SSX is that I don't have to do the race events if I don't want to. In this game, you choose where you have your fun; and fun you shall have. [Nov 2003, p.158]
  6. The snow effects are unrivaled, the framerate is consistently high and the colors are vibrant. Add to that great animations (particularly during tricks) and an intense sense of speed, and you wind up with one of those rare games that can be as much fun to watch as to play.
  7. 100
    This third game in the snowboarding series features a complete overhaul, dropping the whole race-circuit idea and taking a more open-ended, Grand Theft Auto–like approach to snowboard competition.
  8. games(TM)
    70
    Given the constraints of the sport, SSX 3 does a great job of keeping the game as open as possible. If nothing else, the SSX series represents something of a benchmark for snowboarding games, a trend that continues with this instalment. No one title of this generation can claim obvious superiority. [Dec 2003, p.102]
  9. The game's new, open-ended structure, excellent audio, enhanced trick system, and improved graphics combine to make this a superlative sequel to a series that's always had high standards.
  10. 95
    Possibly the finest snowboarding game ever, SSX 3 offers an insane amount number of challenges, near-limitless replay value, and tight gameplay from start to finish.
  11. If you've got "Tricky," you'll find more of the same without the clarity of the level design and structure - but if you're new to the series and just want some fast action, you'll probably love everything there is about it, so enjoy!
  12. One of the tightest games out there... there’s nothing that stands out as a negative, and everything else is a glaring positive. The abundance of ‘stuff to do’ keeps the gameplay fresh and makes 100% completion a task for the gods.
  13. From the huge open mountain to the convincing radio station to the numerous events, this is one cool experience.
  14. A worthy sequel that takes the series in a new direction of an open-ended structure while improving upon the sheer fun of the over-the-top trick-heavy gameplay.
  15. Whether it's speed or stunts, manic or mellow, big air or backcountry, SSX 3 does it all, and it does it all with style.
  16. 94
    The best snowboarding game I ever played. It's arcade-centric, trick heavy, and on the third peak, it's brutal, but in the end, nothing comes close to SSX 3.
  17. It combines superb graphics with deep gameplay to bring gamers a great gaming experience. It’s not often that a game gets every aspect of the game right.
  18. Official Xbox Magazine
    91
    We had some minor issues with course design; there are simply too many "holes" in the geometry - places where your boarder can get stuck and has no reset... That said, you can learn 'em and avoid 'em. [Dec 2003, p.140]
  19. Play Magazine
    91
    It's a game that's just incredible fun, mixing in all sorts of gaming ideas with the thrill of the real sport, painting a final touch of extreme excess and color for scintillating effect. [Nov 2003, p.86]
  20. Playboy
    100
    While other snowboarding games run out of steam mid-shred, the SSX series continues to gain momentum. [Dec 2003, p.44]
  21. The visuals in this game are simply amazing. The levels and backgrounds look sharp and are filled with shades of blue. The sun demonstrates realistic reflectivity, it can shine in your eyes and even create shadows.
  22. If you enjoyed "SSX Tricky," you will love SSX 3--it's as simple as that. Even if you hated "Tricky," you still might dig this sequel.
  23. This game has exceeded my expectations far beyond my belief.
  24. There's no denying that Amped is a far more accurate depiction of snowboarding as a sport, but if it's fun you want you can't go far wrong with this.
  25. Xbox Nation Magazine
    90
    A smooth framerate, flawless camera, and spot-on control makes the experience nothing short of sublime, and the game a near-perfect mix of exacting artistry and technical wizardry - not unlike snowboarding itself. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.91]
  26. Embark on the ride of your life as you prepare to careen down SSX3's three peaks with your favorite characters, including four new riders. It's you versus the mountain in this extreme snowboarding challenge.
  27. 100
    While many courses here are modeled from past runs, most are barely recognizable, at best. They're like the ugly kid from high school who turns out to be a model ten years later.

Awards & Rankings

#40 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jul 23, 2017
    10
    The best sports game ever made and one of the greatest video games of all time.

    Everything about this game is perfect. This was made during
    The best sports game ever made and one of the greatest video games of all time.

    Everything about this game is perfect. This was made during the "Golden Age of EA" from 2002-2007 and it clearly shows. EA may be a corporate cash cow now but back in the early 2000s, they were the game changers. This is one of my childhood classics.

    The graphics are perfect. The mountain weather and environment effects are outstanding and so beautiful to look at. This got an oscar nomination for special visual effects in interactive entertainment as a result. The soundtrack is one of the greatest licensed soundtracks of all time aside from GTA: Vice City which came out a year before. I love the soundtrack. I get so many childhood flashbacks from playing the game and the soundtrack. It means so much to me.

    The gameplay is what made the game so beloved by many gamers as it was so ahead of its time and still holds up to this day. So much exploration for collectibles and doing BIG challenges on the 3 peaks whenever you wanted. You could buy a lot of stuff in the shop like posters, videos, toys, attire, cards, special tricks, buy and unlock the classic characters from the previous games and upgrade yourself to become SSX champion. It led to so much time being wasted on this game everyday of my life when I was growing up.

    No technical problems in the game at all. The controls were tight and responsive. The moves looked awesome and they were cool to pull off.

    The opening is perfect. It gives you a taste of what's to come when you play. I LOVE the narration to this day. It sucks you in and it makes you want to recite it every time you start up your Xbox.

    A 10 out of 10. It's unquestionable. The best sports game ever. it deserves the recognition it gets.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    The nostalgia level is too high. I loved this game as a child and this review makes me want to play it again. One of the best sports games ofThe nostalgia level is too high. I loved this game as a child and this review makes me want to play it again. One of the best sports games of the XBOX generation. Full Review »
  3. TonyT.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    An amazing and addictive game.