Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith Xbox

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 54
  2. Negative: 8 out of 54
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielM
    May 10, 2005
    4
    I go with the IGN review - game is just as they describe it (i.e. pants). Jedi Academy is a much much better light sabre experience - the player is in total control of the sabre movements, no restricted camera angles. Sure, graphics may not be 100% but the game play is way better (if you want to be a Jedi, play that game , not this). That's why I had high hopes for the game and I am I go with the IGN review - game is just as they describe it (i.e. pants). Jedi Academy is a much much better light sabre experience - the player is in total control of the sabre movements, no restricted camera angles. Sure, graphics may not be 100% but the game play is way better (if you want to be a Jedi, play that game , not this). That's why I had high hopes for the game and I am afraid the game fails on those critical points. Expand
  2. EricS.
    May 10, 2005
    3
    I won't deny that it's addictive hacking apart battle droids, clone troopers and fellow force users for a few hours. But in the end, "Episode III" is a shallow and repetitive experience. In fact, figting bad AI constitutes pretty much the whole game and there really isn't all that much variety in the foes you face. They can all be defeated by tapping the y and x buttons I won't deny that it's addictive hacking apart battle droids, clone troopers and fellow force users for a few hours. But in the end, "Episode III" is a shallow and repetitive experience. In fact, figting bad AI constitutes pretty much the whole game and there really isn't all that much variety in the foes you face. They can all be defeated by tapping the y and x buttons repeatedly. Combos are hardly necassary even on hard difficulty, making it so almost no skill is involved. The in-game graphics are decent at best, but those in the cut scenes look shoddy and unfinished. It looks like they were still in developement, but Lucas Arts was determined to have the game out by a deadline. Episode III's presentation suffers from this, just like KOTOR II. The story was told badly, the voice acting was pathetic (especially Anakin) and the dialogue was by far the worst in any Star Wars game I've played. Worst of all, I was able to beat the game all in one sitting. Once again, a game's difficulty is ruined by the desire to appeal to "everyone". I would have expected at least 5 to 10 more hours of game play. The "ultimate Jedi action experience" proves to be just another bad movie game. If you are a big Star Wars fan like me, resist the temptation to buy this game, and just rent it. Lucas Arts needs to be shown that customers won't pay for lousy products such as this. Expand
  3. JasonS.
    May 24, 2005
    1
    This game BLOWS, BLOWS, BLOWS. Everything IGN said is completely on the ball - and then some. Even the versus stuff is pathetic. if you like being hit repeatedly with no way of getting out of attack range, then try playing against the computer with it controlling Greivous. Frustrating beyond belief. Anyone who has played the Jedi Outcast games will be throwing their controllers at the This game BLOWS, BLOWS, BLOWS. Everything IGN said is completely on the ball - and then some. Even the versus stuff is pathetic. if you like being hit repeatedly with no way of getting out of attack range, then try playing against the computer with it controlling Greivous. Frustrating beyond belief. Anyone who has played the Jedi Outcast games will be throwing their controllers at the screen - now those games had true "Jedi action." Collapse
  4. R.T.
    Jun 27, 2005
    4
    This game is completely linear and sucks in execution. The voiceovers are horrible, and graphics are mediocre. The gameplay doesn't suck as much. Here's the breakdown: Graphics: 30 It doesn't use the power of the X-BOX but the character models are detailed. Sound: 50 The voiceovers are horrible but some force powers and lightsaber effects are forgiveable. Gameplay: 60 In This game is completely linear and sucks in execution. The voiceovers are horrible, and graphics are mediocre. The gameplay doesn't suck as much. Here's the breakdown: Graphics: 30 It doesn't use the power of the X-BOX but the character models are detailed. Sound: 50 The voiceovers are horrible but some force powers and lightsaber effects are forgiveable. Gameplay: 60 In some areas it's completely broken though it's mostly responsive. Longevity: 40 Even with the versus mode and co-op implemented, it'll quickly get boring but the lightsaber fights are worth the rental. Overall (not an average): 40 Come on, all of you Star Wars fans deserve better than this crap. It satisfies in some areas like unlocking Darth Vader. Don't buy it, rent it if you feel curious. Expand
  5. CaptainDoom
    Jul 21, 2005
    1
    This game BLOWS! its a total wad. I guess if your a child that just wants to hit buttons and dont care about CTS then you could be mildly entertained. It would be somewhat tolerable but the save points are so far in few between that you end up repeating the nonsense over an over again. Why bother. its a waste of time. Play KOTOR.
  6. Swage
    Jul 8, 2005
    2
    I fired up the game after renting it ( i own kotr 1&2,and jedi knight academy, battlefront, republic commando. I have completed all these titles. Episode 3 down right sucks. I played it for about 15 minutes and said "what the hell was lucas arts thinking." The game play sucks and does not utilize the xbox enviroment. When compared to kotr ( knights of the old republic and jedi accademy I fired up the game after renting it ( i own kotr 1&2,and jedi knight academy, battlefront, republic commando. I have completed all these titles. Episode 3 down right sucks. I played it for about 15 minutes and said "what the hell was lucas arts thinking." The game play sucks and does not utilize the xbox enviroment. When compared to kotr ( knights of the old republic and jedi accademy this game can not compete. Basically i fealt as if I was playing a glorified version of zelda. I hate the actual movie clips in the games. I prefer animations. Glad i did not buy this game... And Lucas arts stop rushing games kotr's 2 plot was a mess. Dont buy Episode 3 unless you like wasting your time and money. Expand
  7. SamuelJ.
    Jun 15, 2005
    4
    Why is it that the brother man always has to hidden in the game. Oh, he's "unlockable". So that mean he is locked up? Why can't the brother man ever be free, not too mention a poor graphical, lame gameplay excuse for garbage. If I ever get may hands the creators of this bad joke, I will strike them down with great vengeance and furious anger.
  8. GeneralS.
    Aug 22, 2005
    3
    Could this game be any more boring! Battlefront is still the beat star wars game ive played. The only bits i really enjoyed were the movie clips.I well wasted my money buying that crap so i sold it a few days ago.If theres gonna be a jedi game u should be talking part in the huge battles wasting droids, that would be soooooo much fun!!!!

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 44
  2. Negative: 8 out of 44
  1. 80
    Never before has the Jedi experience been this visceral and accessible at the same time, and Revenge of the Sith has something for hardcore fans and curious onlookers alike. The Force is strong with this one.
  2. AceGamez
    80
    Smooth animation, a fantastic soundtrack and plenty of variety in the use of combat and force powers make this a game that's engaging and fun to play through.
  3. 70
    The ultimate Jedi action experience? It just might be.