Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the third episode of the Star Wars trilogy, Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith promises an authentic Jedi experience. The third-person action game follows Anakin Skywalker and Obi-Wan Kenobi as they fight enemies, learn new skills, and pull off combo moves. In multiplayerBased on the third episode of the Star Wars trilogy, Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith promises an authentic Jedi experience. The third-person action game follows Anakin Skywalker and Obi-Wan Kenobi as they fight enemies, learn new skills, and pull off combo moves. In multiplayer duels, you can fight against Darth Vader and other challenging enemies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 44
  2. Negative: 8 out of 44
  1. I enjoyed every minute I was playing Episode III, even when I was dying at the light saber battle with General Grevious or Mace Windu for the 17th time.
  2. 80
    The graphics are crisp and well defined, with everything remaining faithful to the source material. John Williams' scoring is simply some of the best orchestral work ever, and all of the signature Star Wars sound effects remain as amazing and unique as ever.
  3. 75
    The final singleplayer bonus mission that you unlock is actually quite rewarding for fans of the older movies.
  4. 66
    Good as a tool for reliving the movie but not for experiencing it in the first place.
  5. 60
    Revenge of the Sith certainly isn't the disaster the Phantom Menace game is, but it lacks memorable moments, and has a few too many damning flaws to recommend a purchase.
  6. Flawed gameplay that borders on monotonous is this game's menace. While the lightsaber fighting scheme is actually fairly deep, especially when you mix in grapple attacks, force tricks and counterattacks on top of counterattacks, I rarely used most of these goodies.
  7. Quite simply, Revengeā€¦ is the worst kind of Star Wars game - one that looks good enough to appeal to impulsive fans, but ultimately fails to deliver by being a horribly derivative, stale and linear example of the genre it so lazily falls into. [July 2005, p.114]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 8 out of 39
  1. JacobO.
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    This game is the best. How could anyone give it a bad rateing. It has clips from the movie and 2 altenate endings.
  2. SexyLando
    May 5, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome! It is the Ultimate Jedi ACTION experience with an emphasis on the ACTION! I recommend to anyone that loves a good This game is awesome! It is the Ultimate Jedi ACTION experience with an emphasis on the ACTION! I recommend to anyone that loves a good action game or LOTR gaems. Kudos Collective/LEC! Expand
  3. RaZBawden
    May 7, 2005
    10
    I am giving this game a 10 for two main reasons. 1) if you ever want to know what its like to be a jedi and fight with a lightsaber, this is I am giving this game a 10 for two main reasons. 1) if you ever want to know what its like to be a jedi and fight with a lightsaber, this is the game. 2) The game is realatively short (about 8 hours) however, it is one of the most replayable games I have ever played. You can actually unlock a battle arena where you play as Yoda!! I can't see where IGN is coming from?!? I sounds good and looks good. The combos are difficult to perform, but that is what makes the game fun and challenging. I recommend it to anybody who like Star Wars. Finally Lucas Arts gets it right. Expand
  4. ChuckT.
    May 6, 2005
    9
    Very close to the Lord of the rings game in terms of the infrastructure. The good news, you are playing the movie. The bad news, it's a Very close to the Lord of the rings game in terms of the infrastructure. The good news, you are playing the movie. The bad news, it's a spoiler - there will be no surprises by the time you get to the theater. Graphics, game play, action and overall coolness get A+'s. Expand
  5. IliyasH.
    May 9, 2005
    9
    i don't know what the IGN guy is smoking but he obviously isn't qualified to review games. Only the mentally impaired or Treki i don't know what the IGN guy is smoking but he obviously isn't qualified to review games. Only the mentally impaired or Treki Fanatics would pass up this game. ROTS is loads of fun with incredible graphics and sound. A definite must buy. Expand
  6. Justin
    May 6, 2005
    8
    Excellent Star Wars game, one of the best I've ever played. Jedi combat is amazing, and the controls finally let you feel like your Excellent Star Wars game, one of the best I've ever played. Jedi combat is amazing, and the controls finally let you feel like your actually dueling with lightsabers. But its way too short! Only 5-8 hours of gameplay. Expand
  7. JasonS.
    May 24, 2005
    1
    This game BLOWS, BLOWS, BLOWS. Everything IGN said is completely on the ball - and then some. Even the versus stuff is pathetic. if you like This game BLOWS, BLOWS, BLOWS. Everything IGN said is completely on the ball - and then some. Even the versus stuff is pathetic. if you like being hit repeatedly with no way of getting out of attack range, then try playing against the computer with it controlling Greivous. Frustrating beyond belief. Anyone who has played the Jedi Outcast games will be throwing their controllers at the screen - now those games had true "Jedi action." Expand

See all 39 User Reviews